ISSUED JUNE 2014 WWW.WVago.gov

On TheMark:

A Guide to Concealed

Handgun Laws
In West Virginia

From the Office of the
West Virginia Attorney General



Message from the

Table of C
able of Lontents Office of the Attorney General

Message from the Ofhice of the Attorney General.................... 1 The Office of the Attorney General has prepared this booklet to
assist West Virginians in learning about state concealed handgun

License to Carry a Concealed Handgun ............ccccceceinian 2 laws and the other states which recognize your West Virginia
Obtaining a West Virginia license.
Concealed Handgun License.........ccccooiviiiiiiiiiiininininne. 3
As laws are subject to change, up-to-date information is available
Information About Handgun Reciprocity ........ccceceeevueniennene. 4 on our website at www.wvago.gov.
Locations Where Handguns Are Please remember that handgun laws are not governed solely by
Restricted or Forbidden.........ccovviiiiimiiiiiiiiieiieiieeeeeeeeeeeeeea, 6 o ) i
West Virginia law. You must comply with any applicable federal,
Relevant Provisions of State Law ........cccvveereuniunreererniennennns 7 state, or local laws and regulations, not all of which are
contained in this booklet.
Frequently Asked Questions..........ccceveveriienienenenieenienennenn. 10
List of County Sheriffs’ Offices........coceverenevirrenieninininenes 12 Concealed handgun licenses are issued by the sheriff's office in

each county. A list of those offices is contained herein.

1

WWW.wvago.gov WWW.wvago.gov



License to Carry
A Concealed Handgun

A person who wishes to carry a concealed handgun must obtain a license (a
concealed handgun license or “CHL”). A CHL is not required for a person to
own a handgun, keep it in his or her home, place of business or other real
property. Licenses to carry a concealed handgun may be obtained from the
sheriff of the county in which the applicant is a resident.

Carrying any concealed weapon, including handguns, without a license is a
misdemeanor punishable by incarceration for up to one year and a fine of $100
to $1,000 for a first offense. A second conviction is a felony punishable by
incarceration for not less than one nor more than five years and a fine of not less
than $1,000 nor more than $5,000. W. Va. Code § 61-7-3. Federal law creates
exemptions from state CHL laws for qualified active and retired law enforcement
officers. Copies of those statutes regarding firearm laws can be found on our
website at www.wvago.gov.

An applicant for a concealed handgun license must complete an application
form. The fees associated with a license application are $75.00 payable to the
sheriff’s office and $25.00 to the West Virginia State Police for the criminal
background check. One may often obtain a laminated wallet size copy of the
license through the sheriff’s office. Fees for this vary. State law requires a person to
possess his or her CHL and a state-issued photo identification when carrying a
concealed handgun. Although a CHL is issued by the county sheriff, it is a
statewide permit.

The sheriff has 45 days from the date of application to act on the application,
provided all required background checks have been completed.
W. Va. Code § 61-7-4(f).

Subject to all applicable laws, any person who may lawfully possess a handgun
may carry an unconcealed handgun. For more information about police
recommendations regarding transport of concealed and unconcealed weapons,
please refer to:

http:/fwww.wvsp.gov/about/Pages/Legal Division.aspx.

Finally, West Virginia law prohibits any person from possessing a loaded
hunting firearm in or on any vehicle or conveyance, or its attachments, unless
otherwise provided by law or regulation. However, a CHL licensee may carry
a handgun in a concealed manner for self defense purposes while field hunting,
hiking, camping or in or on a motor vehicle.
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Obtaining a West Virginia
Concealed Handgun License

An applicant for a concealed handgun license must meet the following
requirements:

. Must be 21 years of age or older and a resident of the county of application and if a
foreign national, must be a legal alien;

. Must not be addicted to alcohol, a controlled substance or a drug, and must not be
an unlawful user thereof;

. Must not have been convicted of a felony, unless the conviction has been expunged
or set aside, or the applicant’s civil rights have been restored, or the applicant has
been unconditionally pardoned for the offense;

. Must not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence, other than an
offense set forth in W. Va. Code § 61-7-4(a)(7), in the five years immediately
preceding the application;

. Must not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as
defined in 18 U.S.C. 921 (a)(33), or a misdemeanor offense with similar essential
elements under either West Virginia law or the law of another jurisdiction, at any
time;

. Must not be under indictment for a felony offense or currently serving a sentence of
confinement, parole, probation or other court-ordered supervision imposed by a
court of any jurisdiction, and must not be the subject of an emergency or temporary
domestic violence protective order or the subject of a final domestic violence
protective order entered by a court of any jurisdiction;

. Must not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent or have been involuntarily
committed to a mental institution, unless the applicant can provide a court order
reflecting that the applicant is no longer under such disability and the applicant’s
right to possess or receive a firearm has been restored.

. Must not be otherwise prohibited by state or federal law from receiving, possessing,
or transporting a firearm.

. Must have successfully completed a handgun training program meeting the

requirements of W. Va. Code § 61-7-4.

You may obtain a downloadable application for a West Virginia CHL by going to
the Attorney General’s website at www.wvago.gov and clicking on the “Gun

Reciprocity” link.
3

WWW.wvago.gov WWW.wvago.gov



Honors West Virginia CHL

Handgun Reciprocity

“Reciprocity” or “mutual recognition” occurs when two states mutually permit
their respective citizens to travel to the other state and lawfully carry a concealed
handgun. If West Virginia has “reciprocity” or “mutual recognition” with
another state, it means a West Virginia CHL will be recognized as valid in that
state, and that state’s CHLs will be recognized as valid in West Virginia.
“Formal recognition” of West Virginia CHLs, on the other hand, means that
another state will recognize a West Virginia CHL as valid in that state, but West
Virginia cannot mutually recognize the other state’s permit due to lack of an
agreement or lack of notification from that state’s Governor.

As of the date of this booklet, West Virginia has full handgun reciprocity or
mutual recognition agreements with thirty-one (31) states, namely: Alabama,
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, lowa,
Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New
Hampshire. New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia,
and Wyoming. The office continues to work with other states to reach additional
agreements.

Furthermore, West Virginians with a valid CHL may also legally carry in five

(5) other states, subject to the limitations of each particular state’s laws: Indiana,
Montana, Nevada, Vermont, and Wisconsin. It is worth noting Vermont law does
not restrict who may carry a firearm, and that Wisconsin only recognizes West
Virginia concealed handgun licenses issued after June 8, 2012.

Alabama Kentucky Ohio Because recognition with these five states is not mutual, CHLs from those states
Alaska Louisiana Oklahoma will not be recognized as valid in West Virginia.
Arizona Michigan Pennsylvania NOTE: It is very important to remember that, when in another state, a West
Arkansas Mississippi South Carolina Virginia licensee is subject to the laws of that state relating to locations where
Colorado Missouri South Dakota firearms are restricted or limited. Please check with law enforcement in the state
Delaware Montana Tennessee or states in which you will be traveling, links for which are included on our
) website at www.wvago.gov. It is your responsibility to know the
IG:londfl gebr ZSka rll;e’;;s laws of the jurisdiction in which you are carrying a concealed deadly weapon.
eorgla €vada t
Idaho New Hampshire Vermont*
Indiana New Mexico Virginia
Iowa North Carolina Wisconsin**
Kansas North Dakota Wyoming
*Does not require CHL to carry
**Only recognizes permits issued
4 after June 8, 2012 5
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Locations in West Virginia
Where Firearms are Restricted

Or Forbidden

Firearms, concealed or otherwise, are by law not allowed in the following
locations in West Virginia:

1. Federal government properties or other places where firearms are
prohibited by federal law. This includes areas of restricted access
in airports.

2. Any property where firearms are prohibited by the owner, lessee
or other person charged with the care, custody and control of the real

property.'
The State Capitol Complex.

4. Regional jails, detention facilities or State Division of Corrections
facilities.

County courthouses or any facility housing a court of this state.

6. Any primary or secondary school building, grounds or property, at any
school sponsored function or on any school bus or conveyance.

7. Any building or area limited by municipal code.

The West Virginia Legislature recently amended state code to provide for the
uniform regulation of firearms, ammunition, and firearm accessories throughout
West Virginia. As a result, municipalities may not “limit the right of any person
to purchase, possess, transfer, own, carry, transport, sell, or store” any firearm or
firearm ammunition. However, municipalities may enact and enforce ordinances
that prohibit or regulate the carrying or possessing of firearms in accordance with

W.Va. Code § 8-12-5a.

1 While it is not a crime, when armed, to enter property where firearms are prohibited by
the owner, lessee or other person charged with care, custody and control thereof, refusal to
relinquish the weapon or refusal to leave the premises upon request while in possession of
a firearm or other deadly weapon is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one thousand
dollars and/or up to six months in jail. There is no requirement in the law that such
property be posted as a “no gun” area. The provisions of this section only apply to
property where firearms are not otherwise prohibited by law.
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Relevant Provisions of State Law

W.Va. Constitution, Article ITI, Section 22.

A person has the right to keep and bear arms for the defense of self,
family, home and state, and for lawful hunting and recreational use.

W.Va. Code § 61-7-4. License to carry deadly weapons; how obtained

West Virginia Code Section 61-7-4 sets forth the requirements for obtaining a
CHL. To review all of the provisions set forth in 61-7-4, which were
amended during the 2014 Legislative Session, please view the Office of the
Attorney General’s handbook on state firearm laws, which can be found at
WWW.WVago.gov.

W.Va. Code § 61-7-6. Exceptions as to prohibitions against
carrying concealed handguns; exemptions from licensing fees.

(a) The licensure provisions set forth in this article do not apply to:
(1) Any person:
(A) Carrying a deadly weapon upon his or own premises;

(B) Carrying a firearm, unloaded, from the place of purchase to his or
her home, residence or place of business or to a place of repair and back to
his or her home, residence or place of business; or

(C) Possessing a firearm while hunting in a lawful manner or while
traveling from his or her home, residence or place of business to a hunting
site and returning to his or her home, residence or place of business;

(2) Any person who is a member of a properly organized target-shooting
club authorized by law to obtain firearms by purchase or requisition
from this state or from the United States for the purpose of target practice
from carrying any pistol, as defined in this article, unloaded, from his or her
home, residence or place of business to a place of target practice and from
any place of target practice back to his or her home, residence or place of
business, for using any such weapon at a place of target practice in training
and improving his or her skill in the use of the weapons;

(3) Any law-enforcement officer or law-enforcement official as defined
in section one, article twenty-nine, chapter thirty of this code;
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(4) Any employee of the West Virginia Division of Corrections
duly appointed pursuant to the provisions of section eleven-c, article
one, chapter twenty-five of this code while the employee is on duty;

(5) Any member of the armed forces of the United States or the
militia of this state while the member is on duty;

(6) Any resident of another state who holds a valid permit or license to
possess or carry a handgun issued by a state or a political subdivision subject
to the provisions and limitations set forth in section six-a of this article;

(7) Any federal law-enforcement officer or federal police officer
authorized to carry a weapon in the performance of the officer’s duty;

(8) Any Hatfield-McCoy regional Recreation Authority
Ranger while the ranger is on duty; and

(9) Any parole officer appointed pursuant to section fourteen, article
twelve, chapter sixty-two of this code in the performance of their duties.

(b) On and after July 1, 2013, the following judicial officers and
prosecutors and staff shall be exempted from paying any application fees or
licensure fees required under this article. However, on and after that same
date, they shall be required to make application and satisfy all licensure and
handgun safety and training requirements set forth in section four of this
article before carrying a concealed handgun in this state:

(1) Any justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia;
(2) Any circuit judge;

(3) Any retired justice or retired circuit judge designated senior status by

the Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia;
(4) Any family court judge;
(5) Any magistrate;
(6) Any prosecuting attorney;
(7) Any assistant prosecuting attorney; or

(8) Any duly appointed investigator employed by a prosecuting
attorney.

W.Va. Code § 61-7-6a. Reciprocity and recognition; out-of-
state concealed handgun permits.

(a) A valid out-of-state permit or license to possess or carry a handgun is
valid in this state for the carrying of a concealed handgun, if the following
conditions are met:
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(1) The permit or license holder is twenty-one years of age or older;
(2) The permit or license is in his or her immediate possession;

(3) The permit or license holder is not a resident of the State of West
Virginia; and

(4) The Attorney General has been notified by the Governor of the other
state that the other state allows residents of West Virginia who are licensed in
West Virginia to carry a concealed handgun to carry a concealed handgun in that
state or the Attorney General has entered into a written reciprocity agreement
with the appropriate official of the other state whereby the state agrees to honor
West Virginia concealed handgun licenses in return for same treatment in this
state.

(b) A holder of a valid permit or license from another state who is
authorized to carry a concealed handgun in this state pursuant to provisions or
this section is subject to the same laws and restrictions with respect to carrying a
concealed handgun as a resident of West Virginia who is so permitted and must
carry the concealed handgun in compliance with the laws of this state.

() A license or permit from another state is not valid in this state if the
holder is or becomes prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.

(d) The West Virginia Attorney General shall seek to obtain recognition of
West Virginia concealed handgun licenses and enter into and execute reciprocity
agreements on behalf of the State of West Virginia with states for the recognition
of concealed handgun permits issued pursuant to this article.

(e) 'The West Virginia State Police shall maintain a registry of states with
which the State of West Virginia has entered into reciprocity agreements or
which recognize West Virginia concealed handgun licenses on the criminal
information network and make the registry available to law-enforcement officers
for investigative purposes.

(f) Every twelve months after the effective date of this section, the West
Virginia Attorney General shall make written inquiry of the concealed handgun
licensing or permitting authorities in each other state as to: (i) Whether a West
Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun in their state based upon
having a valid West Virginia concealed handgun permit; and (ii) whether a West
Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun permit, pursuant to the laws of
that state or by the execution of a valid reciprocity agreement between the states.

(g) The West Virginia State Police shall make available to the public a list
of states which have entered into reciprocity agreements with the State of West
Virgina or that allow residents of West Virginia who are licensed in West Virginia
to carry a concealed handgun to carry a concealed handgun in that state.
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Frequently Asked Questions

>R

> 0 > 0

>R

Q:
A.
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Is a license required to carry a concealed handgun in West

Virginia? Q

s

Yes. Generally, other than on your own premises, any person who intends
to carry a concealed handgun must obtain a license to do so. The only
types of weapons which may be carried concealed with a CHL are pistols
and revolvers.

R

The only persons exempt from State licensing requirements are set forth
in W. Va. Code § 61-7-6, which is contained on pages 7-8 of this
booklet.

How long is a concealed handgun license valid?

>

Five years from the date of issuance, unless revoked prior to that.
Licenses are valid throughout the state during the five-year period.
What do I do if my concealed handgun license has expired?

You must apply to the sheriff for renewal of your license and pay the
applicable fees. Provided all licensure requirements are met, the sheriff
will issue you a new license. The training course requirements are waived
for renewal applicants who previously qualified.

What if my license is revoked?

Your license will be revoked if you violate or become unable to meet any
of the licensing application requirements. You must immediately
surrender your license to the issuing sheriff when you become ineligible

for continued licensure. Q:

What should I do if my license is lost or destroyed?

You may obtain a duplicate or substitute license for a fee of $5.00 by
filing a notarized statement with the issuing sheriff indicating that your
license has been lost or destroyed.

Where can I apply for a concealed handgun license?

At the office of the sheriff in your county of residence. A list of sheriffs’

offices is in this booklet.

How much does a license cost?

You pay $75.00 to the sheriff at the time you apply. If your application
is approved, you pay an additional $25.00 prior to issuance of the license

for the State Police background check.

What are the training requirements to obtain a license?

Before filing your CHL application, you must present evidence that

you have successfully completed one of the following training courses:

1) Any “NRA” (National Rifle Association) handgun safety or training
course; 2) Any handgun safety or training course available to the public
through an official law enforcement organization or an educational
institution; 3) Any handgun safety or training course conducted by an
instructor certified by the State or by the NRA; or 4) Any handgun safety
or training course conducted by the U.S. military, reserves, or National

Guard.

An applicant must present a photocopy of a certificate of course
completion, an affidavit from the instructor, or some other document
which verifies successful training course completion in order to obtain a
license. Typically, county sheriffs require an applicant to have participated

in “live fire” as part of any such training courses.

Do West Virginia CHLs qualify as an alternative to a National
Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) check
under the Brady law, 18 U.S.C. Section 922(t)?

Yes, West Virginia CHLs issued on or after June 4, 2014, quality as an
alternative to a NICS Background Check under the Brady Law. To find

additional information about how to update your West Virginia CHL to

qualify, please visit the “Gun Reciprocity” section of our website.
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West Virginia County Sheriffs’ Offices

John W. Hawkins
Barbour County Sheriff
8 North Main Street
Philippi, WV 26416
(304) 457-2881

Kenneth Lemaster, Jr.

Berkeley County Sheriff

802 Emmett Rousch Drive, Suite C
Martinsburg, WV 25401

(304) 267-7000

Randall White

Boone County Sheriff
200 State Street
Madison, WV 25130
(304) 369-7390

Don Meadows

Mercer County Sheriff

1501 Main Street, Suite 120
Princeton, WV 24740

(304) 487-8303

Jeremy Taylor

Mineral County Sheriff
150 Armstrong Street
Keyser, WV 26726
(304) 788-0341

James Smith

Mingo County Sheriff
Post Office Box 1270
Williamson, WV 25661
(304) 235-0300

Eddie Williams
Braxton County Sheriff
Post Office Box 546
Sutton, WV 26601
(304) 765-2838

Charles W. Jackson
Brooke County Sheriff
300 Courthouse Square
Wellsburg, WV 26070
(304) 737-3660

Thomas W. McComas
Cabell County Sheriff

750 Fifth Avenue, Room 101
Huntington, WV 25701
(304) 526-8664

Allen Kisner

Monongalia County Sheriff
155 Chancery Row
Morgantown, WV 26505
(304) 291-7260

Michael Gravely
Monroe County Sheriff
Post Office Box 350
Union, WV 24983
(304) 772-3018

Vincent E. Shambough
Morgan County Sheriff

111 Fairfax Street

Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
(304) 258-1067

David P. Hopkins
Nicholas County Sheriff
700 Main Street, Suite 3
Summersville, WV 26651
(304) 872-7880

Patrick Butler

Ohio County Sheriff
Post Office Box 188
Wheeling, WV 26003
(304) 234-3784

Donald L. Hedrick
Pendleton County Sheriff
Post Office Box 687
Franklin, WV 26807
(304) 358-2214

Carl D. Ballengee
Calhoun County Sheriff
Post Office Box 340
Grantsville, WV 26147
(304) 354-6333

Garrett Samples
Clay County Sheriff
P.O. Drawer 429
Clay, WV 25043
(304) 587-4260

Michael Headley
Doddridge County Sheriff
Post Office Box 219

West Union, WV 26456
(304) 873-1000

D. Wayne Wilson II
Pleasants County Sheriff
305 Barkwill Street

St. Marys, WV 26170
(304) 684-2285

David R. Jonese
Pocahontas County Sheriff
900A Tenth Avenue
Marlinton, WV 24954
(304) 799-4445

Daniel R. Loughrie
Preston County Sheriff
103 W. Main Street
Kingwood, WV 26537
(304) 329-1611

Steve W. Kessler

Larry D. Gerwig

Emory W. Feaster, Jr.

Steve L. Deweese
Putnam County Sheriff
3389 Winfield Road
Winfield, WV 25213
(304) 586-0256

Steve Tanner

Raleigh County Sheriff
215 Main Street
Beckley, WV 25801
(304) 255-9195

Mark T. Brady

Randolph County Sheriff
Post Office Box 1338
Elkins, WV 26241

(304) 636-2100

Fayette County Sheriff Gilmer County Sheriff Grant County Sheriff
Post Office Box 509 10 Howard Street 5 Highland Avenue
Fayetteville, WV 25840 Glenville, WV 26351 Petersburg, WV 26847
(304) 574-4216 (304) 462-7441 (304) 257-1818

Jan L. Cahill John P. Alkire Ralph A. Fletcher
Greenbrier County Sheriff Hampshire County Sheriff Hancock County Sheriff
Post Office Box 347 66 North High Street, Room 2 Post Office Box 458

Lewisburg, WV 24901
(304) 647-6678

Romney, WV 26757
(304) 822-3894

New Cumberland, WV 26047
(304) 564-3911

Bryan C. Ward

Hardy County Sheriff
Post Office Box 643
Moorefield, WV 26836
(304) 530-0222

Albert E Marano
Harrison County Sheriff
301 West Main Street
Clarksburg, WV 26301
(304) 624-8550

Anthony J. Boggs
Jackson County Sheriff
Post Office Box 106
Ripley, WV 25271
(304) 373-2290

Brian Backus

Ritchie County Sheriff
109 North Street
Harrisville, WV 26362
(304) 643-2262

Mike A. Harper
Roane County Sheriff
200 Main Street
Spencer, WV 25276
(304) 927-2540

Garry E. Wheeler
Summers County Sheriff
Post Office Box 157
Hinton, WV 25951
(304) 466-7111

Peter H. Dougherty
Jefferson County Sheriff
102 Industrial Boulevard
Kearneysville, WV 25430
(304) 728-3205

John Rutherford
Kanawha County Sheriff
301 Virginia Street, East
Charleston, WV 25301
(304) 357-0216

Adam M. Gissy
Lewis County Sheriff
110 Center Avenue
Weston, WV 26452
(304) 269-8251

Terring W. Skinner
Taylor County Sheriff
Post Office Box 189
Grafton, WV 26354
(304) 265-3428

Brian K. Wilfong
Tucker County Sheriff
318 Second Street
Parsons, WV 26287
(304) 478-2321

Earl P. Kendle, Jr.

Tyler County Sheriff

121 Court Street
Middlebourne, WV 26149
(304) 758-4229

David Coffman

Upshur County Sheriff

38 W. Main Street Rm 103
Buckhannon, WV 26201
(304) 472-1185

Greg Farley

Wayne County Sheriff
700 Hendricks Street
Wayne, WV 25570
(304) 272-6378

David Bender

Webster County Sheriff

2 Court Square, Rm. G-3
Webster Springs, WV 26288
(304) 847-2006

Ken Farley

Lincoln County Sheriff
Post Office Box 467
Hamlin, WV 25523
(304) 824-7999

S.M. Dingess Porter

Logan County Sheriff

300 Stratton Street, Room 209
Logan, WV 25601

(304) 792-8590

Joseph N. Carpenter
Marion County Sheriff
Post Office Box 1348
Fairmont, WV 26555
(304) 367-5300

John Brookover

Wetzel County Sheriff

Post Office Drawer D

New Martinsville, WV 26155
(304) 455-2430

D. Keith Wilson, Jr.
Wirt County Sheriff
Post Office Box 669
Elizabeth, WV 26143
(304) 275-4222

Ken Merritt

Wood County Sheriff
328 Second Street
Parkersburg, WV 26101
(304) 424-1834

Kevin Cecil

Marshall County Sheriff
601 6th Street
Moundsville, WV 26041
(304) 843-1500

12

WWW.wvago.gov WWW.wvago.gov

Greg Powers

Mason County Sheriff
200 6th Street

Point Pleasant, WV 25550
(304) 675-3838

Martin West

McDowell County Sheriff

90 Wyoming Street, Suite 117
Welch, WV 24801

(304) 436-8541

Randall Aliff

Wyoming County Sheriff
Post Office Box 529
Pineville, WV 24874
(304) 732-8000
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Office of the Attorney General
State Capitol Complex, Bldg. 1, Room E-26
Charleston, WV 25305
Phone: (304) 558-2021



