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Message from the Office of the Attorney General

The Office of the Attorney General has prepared this booklet to assist West Virginians in learning about state 
concealed handgun laws, the states which recognize West Virginia concealed handgun licenses, and state firearm 
laws generally.

The information provided in this handbook is current as of June 2014. As laws are subject to change, up-to-date 
information occurring after the publication date of this handbook is available on our website at 
www.wvago.gov.

Please remember that handgun laws are not governed solely by West Virginia law.  You must comply with any 
applicable federal, state, or local laws and regulations, not all of which are contained in this handbook.

If you have any questions regarding this handbook, or state firearm laws in general, please contact the Office of 
the Attorney General at (304) 558-2021.

License to Carry a Concealed Handgun

While a license is not required for a person to own a handgun, keep it in his or her home, place of business 
or other real property, a person who wishes to carry a concealed handgun must obtain a license (concealed 
handgun license or “CHL”).1

Under state law, “concealed” means hidden from ordinary observation so as to prevent disclosure or 
recognition, or carried on or about the person in such a manner that another person in the ordinary course of 
events would not be placed on notice that the weapon was being carried.

A CHL permits a person who otherwise obeys the applicable laws to carry a handgun in a concealed manner, 
but a CHL licensee is not  required to carry his or her  handgun in a concealed manner. Licenses to carry a 
concealed handgun may be obtained from the sheriff of the county in which the applicant is a resident.2

For purposes of CHLs, a handgun is considered on or about the person while the licensee is in a motor vehicle 
and the handgun is concealed in a storage area in or on the motor vehicle. W. Va. Code § 61-7-2(10).  A CHL 
permits the concealed carry of only a pistol or revolver.3

Carrying any concealed deadly weapon without a license  is  a  misdemeanor  punishable  by incarceration for 
up to one year and a fine of $100 to $1,000 for a first offense.  A second conviction is a felony punishable by 
incarceration for not less than one nor more than five years and a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than 
$5,000.4   W. Va. Code § 61-7-3.

__________________

1  No license is necessary to visibly carry a handgun in an unconcealed manner if the person may otherwise lawfully possess a firearm and obeys all applicable laws.
2  While a CHL is technically issued at the county level, it is valid statewide.
3  No other deadly weapons may be carried in a concealed manner pursuant to a CHL.
4  Federal law does create exemptions from state CHL laws for qualified active and retired law enforcement officers. Copies of those statutes, in effect as of the date of 
this booklet’s publication (June 2014), are contained herein.
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An applicant for a concealed handgun license must complete an application form.  The  fees associated with a 
license application are $75.00 payable to the sheriff’s office, and $25.00 to the West Virginia State Police for the 
criminal background check.5 It is important to note that state law requires the possession of one’s current license 
and a state-issued photo identification when carrying a concealed handgun.

The West Virginia State Police recognizes that any person who may lawfully possess a handgun may carry an 
unconcealed handgun. However, they recommend that if one does not  have  a concealed handgun permit, all 
weapons transported in a motor vehicle should be unloaded with the ammunition stored separately.  For more 
information, please refer to:

http://www.wvsp.gov/about/Pages/LegalDivisionFAQs.aspx

Finally, West Virginia law prohibits any person from possessing a loaded hunting firearm in or on any vehicle or 
conveyance, or its attachments, unless otherwise provided by law or regulation. W. Va. Code § 20-2-5(9).6

Requirements for Concealed Handgun Licenses

An applicant for a concealed handgun license must meet the following requirements:

• Must be 21 years of age or older and a bona fide resident of the county of application and if a foreign  
national, must be a legal alien. However, a person at least 18 years of age and employed in a job requiring 
the person to carry a concealed handgun as a condition of employment is also eligible so long as he or she 
continues in that employment;

• Must not be addicted to alcohol, a controlled substance or a drug, and must not be an unlawful user 
thereof;

• Must not have been convicted of a felony, unless the conviction has been expunged or set aside, or the 
applicant’s civil rights have been restored, or the applicant has been unconditionally pardoned for the 
offense;

• Must not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence, other than an offense set forth in W.Va. 
Code § 61-7-4(a)(7), in the five (5) years immediately preceding the application;

• Must not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined in 18 U.S.C. 
921(a)(33), or a misdemeanor offense with similar essential elements under either West Virginia law or the 
law of another jurisdiction, at any time;

• Must not be under indictment for a felony offense or currently serving a sentence of confinement, parole, 
probation or other court-ordered supervision imposed by a court of any jurisdiction, and must not be the 
subject of an emergency or temporary domestic violence protective order or the subject of a final domestic 
violence protective order entered by a court of any jurisdiction;

• Must not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent or have been involuntarily committed to a mental 
institution, unless the applicant can provide a court order reflecting that the applicant is no longer under 
such disability and the applicant’s right to possess or receive a firearm has been restored.

__________________

5  One may often obtain a laminated wallet size copy of the license through the sheriff’s office, the fees for which may vary. 
6  However, a concealed weapon licensee may carry a handgun in a concealed manner for self defense purposes while afield hunting, hiking, camping or in or on a 
motor vehicle. W. Va. Code § 20-2-6a.
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• Must not be otherwise prohibited by state or federal law from receiving, possessing, or transporting a 
firearm.

• Must have successfully completed a handgun training program meeting the requirements of W.Va. Code § 
61-7-4.7

The sheriff has 45 days from the date of application to act on the application, provided all required background 
checks have been completed.  W. Va. Code § 61-7-4(f).

Handgun Reciprocity

“Reciprocity” or “mutual recognition” occurs when two states mutually permit their respective citizens to 
travel to the other state and lawfully carry a concealed handgun. If West Virginia has “reciprocity” or “mutual 
recognition” with another state, it means a West Virginia CHL will be recognized as valid in that state, and that 
state’s CHLs will be recognized as valid in West Virginia.8 “Formal recognition” of West Virginia CHLs, on the 
other hand, means that another state will recognize a West Virginia CHL as valid in that state, but West Virginia 
cannot mutually recognize the other state’s permit due to lack of an agreement or lack of proper notification 
from that state’s Governor.

Pursuant to the provisions of West Virginia Code § 61-7-6a, the West Virginia Attorney General is responsible 
for negotiating with other states to determine whether a West Virginia resident may lawfully carry a concealed 
weapon in those states with a West Virginia CHL. The Attorney General may either enter into a written 
agreement with other states for purposes of obtaining reciprocity, or seek mutual recognition of CHLs with state 
governors through official notification.

As of the date of this booklet (June 2014), West Virginia has full handgun reciprocity or mutual recognition 
agreements with thirty-one (31) states, namely: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, 
Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New 
Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North  Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, 
South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia and Wyoming.9

State law currently prohibits the recognition of concealed handgun licenses from other states in the absence of 
either a written agreement between the states, or notification from another state’s Governor recognizing West 
Virginia CHLs. However, the laws of a number of states do allow for the recognition of West Virginia licenses 
in instances where mutual recognition does not exist.

Accordingly, West Virginians with a valid CHL may also legally carry in five (5) other states, subject to the 
limitations of each particular state’s laws: Indiana, Montana, Nevada, Vermont, and Wisconsin.10 It is worth 
noting that Vermont law does not restrict who may carry a firearm, and that Wisconsin only recognizes West 
Virginia concealed handgun licenses issued after June 8, 2012. 11

The Attorney General’s Office also lists information about handgun reciprocity on its website at
www.wvago.gov.
__________________
7  Requirement is waived in the case of a renewal applicant who has previously qualified.
8  A resident of a reciprocal or mutually recognized state, who is 21 years of age or older and who has in his or her possession a valid concealed handgun license or  
permit, may also carry concealed handguns in West Virginia. However, a West Virginia resident may not use another state’s CHL to carry a concealed weapon in West 
Virginia. W. Va. Code § 61-7-6a(a)(3).
9  While a valid reciprocity agreement with the State of New Mexico exists as of the date of this booklet (June 2014), continued reciprocity is pending review. Please 
see www.wvago.gov for up-to-date information on this and other reciprocity agreements prior to traveling to any reciprocal state.
10  Vermont does not currently require a CHL to carry.
11  Because recognition with these states is not mutual, CHLs from these states will not be recognized as valid in West Virginia. 
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WV Gun Reciprocity Map

The following states, highlighted in blue, honor West Virginia CHLs as of the publishing of this handbook (June 
2014).12

Honors West Virginia CHL
Alabama Georgia Michigan  North Mexico South Dakota 
Alaska Idaho Mississippi  North Carolina Tennessee  
Arizona Indiana Missouri  North Dakota Texas 
Arkansas Iowa Montana  Ohio   Utah 
Colorado Kansas Nebraska  Oklahoma  Vermont* 
Delaware Kentucky Nevada   Pennsylvania  Virginia 
Florida Louisiana New Hampshire South Carolina Wisconsin** 
         Wyoming

*Does not require CHL to carry **Only recognizes permits issued after June 8, 2012 

12 Subject to any specific limitations set forth in the “Handgun Reciprocity” section above.
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Interaction Between Various State and Federal Laws

NOTE – It is your responsibility to know the laws of the jurisdiction in which you are carrying a concealed 
handgun!

It is very important to remember that, when in another state, a West Virginia licensee is subject to the laws of 
that state relating to locations where firearms are restricted or limited. Always check with law enforcement 
in the state or states in which you will be traveling to ensure compliance with the various concealed handgun 
requirements. You may find links to contact information for the relevant law enforcement officials of other 
states on our web site at http://www.wvago.gov/.

When carrying a concealed handgun, licensees must have both a concealed handgun license or permit and state-
issued photo identification according to the laws of virtually every jurisdiction, including West Virginia.

A number of jurisdictions require licensees to inform law enforcement officials, during the course of a traffic 
stop, if they are carrying a concealed weapon. For more information about police recommendations regarding 
the transport of concealed and unconcealed weapons, please refer to:

http://www.wvsp.gov/about/Pages/LegalDivisionFAQs.aspx.

State and federal firearm laws are subject to change at least annually. To find the current state of the law, please 
check our website for up-to-date information on handgun reciprocity, mutual recognition, and other important 
legal developments at www.wvago.gov.

Locations in West Virginia Where Firearms are Restricted or Forbidden

Firearms, concealed or otherwise, are by law not allowed in the following locations in West Virginia:

1. Federal government properties or other places where firearms are prohibited by federal law. This includes 
areas of restricted access in airports.

2. Any property where firearms are prohibited by the owner, lessee or other person charged with the care, 
custody and control of the real property. W. Va. Code § 61-7-14.13

3. The State Capitol Complex.  W. Va. Code § 61-6-19(b).

4. Regional jails, detention facilities or State Division of Corrections facilities.  W. Va. Code § 61-5-8(c).

5. County courthouses or any facility housing a court of this state. W. Va. Code § 61-7-11a(g).

6. Any primary or secondary school building, grounds or property, at any school sponsored function or on 
any school bus or conveyance.  W. Va. Code § 61-7-11a.

7. Any building or area limited by municipal code.

__________________
13  While it is not a crime, when armed, to enter property where firearms are prohibited by the owner, lessee or other person charged with care, custody and control 
thereof, refusal to relinquish the weapon or refusal to leave the premises upon request while in possession of a firearm or other deadly weapon is a misdemeanor pun-
ishable by up to $1,000 and/or up to six months in jail. There is no requirement in the law that such property be posted as a “no gun” area. The provisions of this section 
only apply to property where firearms are not otherwise prohibited by law.
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The West Virginia Legislature recently amended state code to provide for the uniform regulation of firearms, 
ammunition, and firearm accessories throughout West Virginia. As a result, municipalities may not “limit the 
right of any person to purchase, possess, transfer, own, carry, transport, sell, or store” any firearm or firearm 
ammunition. However, municipalities may enact and enforce ordinances that prohibit or regulate the carrying or 
possessing of firearms in accordance with W.Va. Code § 8-12-5a.
  

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Is a license required to carry a concealed handgun in West Virginia?

A: Yes. Generally, other than on your own premises, any person who intends to carry a concealed handgun must 
obtain a license to do so. The only types of weapons that may be carried concealed with a CHL are pistols and 
revolvers. W. Va. Code § 61-7-4(a).

The only persons statutorily exempt from state concealed handgun licensing requirements are set forth in W.Va. 
Code § 61-7-6. Those exemptions include persons carrying deadly weapons on their own premises; persons 
carrying unloaded firearms to and from the place of purchase or place of repair; persons lawfully hunting 
traveling to and from a hunting site; certain members of qualifying target-shooting clubs carrying unloaded 
weapons to and from the place of target practice; law enforcement officers; on-duty correctional officers; 
on-duty members of the Armed Forces or National Guard; certain federal law enforcement officers; on-duty 
Hatfield-McCoy rangers; and any person holding a valid CHL from a reciprocal state.

Q: Where can I apply for a concealed handgun license?

A: At the office of the sheriff in your county of residence. A list of sheriff’s offices is in this handbook.

Q: How long is a concealed handgun license valid?

A: Five years from the date of issuance, unless revoked prior to that. Licenses are valid throughout the state 
during the five-year period.

Q: What do I do if my concealed handgun license has expired?

A: You must apply to the sheriff for renewal of your license and pay the applicable fees. Provided all licensure 
requirements are met, the sheriff will issue you a new license.  The training course requirements are waived for 
renewal applicants who previously qualified. 

Q: What if my license is revoked?

A: Your license will be revoked if you violate or become unable to meet any of the licensing application 
requirements. You must immediately surrender your license to the issuing sheriff when you become ineligible 
for continued licensure.

Q: What should I do if my license is lost or destroyed?

A: You may obtain a duplicate or substitute license for a fee of $5.00 by filing a notarized statement with the 
issuing sheriff indicating that your license has been lost or destroyed.
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Q: How much does a license cost?

A: You pay $75.00 to the sheriff at the time you apply. If your application is approved, you pay an additional 
$25.00 prior to issuance of the license for the State Police background check.

Q: What are the training requirements to obtain a license?

A: Before filing your CHL application, you must present evidence that you have successfully completed one of 
the following training courses: 1) Any National Rifle Association (“NRA”) handgun safety or training course; 2) 
Any handgun safety or training course available to the public through an official law enforcement organization 
or an educational institution; 3) Any handgun safety or training course conducted by an instructor certified by 
the State or by the NRA; 4) Any handgun safety or training course conducted by the U.S. military, reserves, or 
National Guard.

An applicant must present a photocopy of a certificate of course completion, an affidavit from the instructor, or 
some other document which verifies successful training course completion in order to obtain a license. Typically, 
county sheriffs require an applicant to have participated in “live fire” as part of any such training courses.

Q. I am a West Virginia resident with a valid non-resident CHL from another state. May I use this permit 
alone to carry a concealed weapon in West Virginia?

A. No. Pursuant to W. Va. Code § 61-7-6a(a)(3), out-of-state permits or licenses are not recognized as valid if 
the holder of the permit is a resident of the State of West Virginia.

Q. I acquired a CHL in my county of residence, but then I moved to another county in West Virginia. Do 
I need to obtain a new permit from the sheriff in my new county of residence?

A. No. W. Va. Code 61-7-4(l) provides that a CHL will remain valid for the remainder of the five (5) years if a 
person moves to another county within the State. However, within twenty (20) days of moving, the licensee must 
provide written notification of his or her old and new addresses to the sheriff in the new county of residence.

Q. Do I lose my right to carry an unconcealed handgun (or “open carry”) when I apply for and receive a 
CHL?

A. No. Article III, Section 22 of the West Virginia Constitution states: “A person has the right to keep and bear 
arms for the defense of self, family, home and state, and for lawful hunting and recreational use.” This has been 
interpreted to create the right to openly carry a firearm. This right is not lost when you obtain a CHL. Rather, a 
CHL allows you to carry a handgun in a concealed manner, which would otherwise be a violation of the law.

Q. Do West Virginia CHLs qualify as an alternative to a National Instant Criminal Background Check 
System (NICS) check under the Brady law, 18 U.S.C. Section 922(t)?

A. Yes. West Virginia CHLs issued on or after June 4, 2014, qualify as an alternative to a NICS Background 
Check under the Brady Law. To find additional information about how to update your West Virginia CHL to 
qualify, please visit the “Gun Reciprocity” section of our website.

Q. Is there a way to transfer my out-of-state CHL if I move to West Virginia from a reciprocal state?

A. No. Out-of-state CHLs are not transferable upon becoming a West Virginia resident. Any resident desiring to 
carry concealed in West Virginia must obtain a West Virginia CHL through the process described in this booklet.
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Relevant Provisions of West Virginia Law as of June 2014

Provided for your reference below are notable firearm provisions and restrictions in the West Virginia Code, as 
amended through the 2014 Legislative Session. It is important to note that this handbook does not include all of 
the laws of West Virginia as they relate to the regulation of firearms.  If you have a particular question or issue, 
please contact your local law enforcement office. A list of county sheriffs' offices is contained at the end of this 
handbook for your reference.

W.Va. Constitution, Article III, Section 22.

A person has the right to keep and bear arms for the defense of self, family, home and state, and for lawful 
hunting and recreational use.

§8-12-5a. Limitations upon municipalities’ power to restrict the purchase, possession, transfer, ownership, 
carrying, transport, sale and storage of certain weapons and ammunition.

(a) Except as provided by the provisions of this section and the provisions of section five of this article, 
neither a municipality nor the governing body of any municipality may, by ordinance or otherwise, limit the 
right of any person to purchase, possess, transfer, own, carry, transport, sell or store any revolver, pistol, rifle or 
shotgun or any ammunition or ammunition components to be used therewith nor to so regulate the keeping of 
gunpowder so as to directly or indirectly prohibit the ownership of the ammunition in any manner inconsistent 
with or in conflict with state law.
(b) For the purposes of this section:
(1) “Municipally owned or operated building” means any building that is used for the business of the 
municipality, such as a courthouse, city hall, convention center, administrative building or other similar 
municipal building used for a municipal purpose permitted by state law: Provided, That “municipally owned or 
operated building” does not include a building owned by a municipality that is leased to a private entity where 
the municipality primarily serves as a property owner receiving rental payments.
(2) “Municipally owned recreation facility” means any municipal swimming pool, recreation center, sports 
facility, facility housing an after-school program or other similar facility where children are regularly present.
(c)(1) A municipality may enact and enforce an ordinance or ordinances that prohibit or regulate the carrying 
or possessing of a firearm in municipally owned or operated buildings.
(2)  A municipality may enact and enforce an ordinance or ordinances that prohibit a person from carrying 
or possessing a firearm openly or that is not lawfully concealed in a municipally owned recreation facility: 
Provided, That a municipality may not prohibit a person with a valid concealed handgun permit from carrying 
an otherwise lawfully possessed firearm into a municipally owned recreation facility and securely storing the 
firearm out of view and access to others during their time at the municipally owned recreation facility.
(3) A person may keep an otherwise lawfully possessed firearm in a motor vehicle in municipal public 
parking facilities if the vehicle is locked and the firearm is out of view.
(4) A municipality may not prohibit or regulate the carrying or possessing of a firearm on municipally 
owned or operated property other than municipally owned or operated buildings and municipally owned 
recreation facilities pursuant to subdivisions (1) and (2) of this section: Provided, That a municipality may 
prohibit persons who do not have a valid concealed handgun license from carrying or possessing a firearm on 
municipally owned or operated property.
(d) It shall be an absolute defense to an action for an alleged violation of an ordinance authorized by this 
section prohibiting or regulating the possession of a firearm that the person: (1) Upon being requested to do so, 
left the premises with the firearm or temporarily relinquished the firearm in response to being informed that his 
or her possession of the firearm was contrary to municipal ordinance; and (2) but for the municipal ordinance 
the person was lawfully in possession of the firearm.
(e) Any municipality that enacts an ordinance regulating or prohibiting the carrying or possessing of a 
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firearm pursuant to subsection (c) of this section shall prominently post a clear statement at each entrance to all 
applicable municipally owned or operated buildings or municipally owned recreation facilities setting forth the 
terms of the regulation or prohibition.
(f) Redress for an alleged violation of this section may be sought through the provisions of chapter fifty-
three of this code, which may include the awarding of reasonable attorneys fees and costs.
(g) Upon the effective date of this section, section fourteen, article seven, chapter sixty-one of this code is 
inapplicable to municipalities. For the purposes of that section, municipalities may not be considered a person 
charged with the care, custody and control of real property.
(h) This section does not:
(1) Impair the authority of any municipality, or the governing body thereof, to enact any ordinance or 
resolution respecting the power to arrest, convict and punish any individual under the provisions of subdivision 
(16), section five of this article or from enforcing any such ordinance or resolution;
(2) Authorize municipalities to restrict the carrying or possessing of firearms, which are otherwise lawfully 
possessed, on public streets and sidewalks of the municipality: Provided, That whenever pedestrian or vehicular 
traffic is prohibited in an area of a municipality for the purpose of a temporary event of limited duration, not to 
exceed fourteen days, which is authorized by a municipality, a municipality may prohibit persons who do not 
have a valid concealed handgun license from possessing a firearm in the area where the event is held; or
(3) Limit the authority of a municipality to restrict the commercial use of real estate in designated areas 
through planning or zoning ordinances.

§ 15-5-19a. Possession of firearms during a declared state of emergency.

(a) No person acting on behalf or under the authority of the state or a political subdivision of the state may 
do any of the following during any federal or state declared state of emergency:
(1) Prohibit or restrict the otherwise lawful possession, use, carrying, transfer, transportation, storage or 
display of a firearm or ammunition;
(2) Seize, confiscate, or authorize the seizure or confiscation of any otherwise lawfully- possessed firearm or 
ammunition unless:
(A) The person acting on behalf of or under the authority of the state or political subdivision is:
(i) Defending himself or another from an assault; or,
(ii) Arresting a person in actual possession of a firearm or ammunition for a violation of law; or,
(B) The firearm or ammunition is being seized or confiscated as evidence of a crime; or,
(3) Require registration of any firearm or ammunition.
(b) The prohibitions of subsection (a)(1) do not prohibit the state or an authorized state or local authority 
from ordering and enforcing an evacuation or general closure of businesses in the affected area during a 
declared state of emergency.
(c) Any individual aggrieved by a violation of this section may seek relief in an action at law or  in  equity  
for  redress  against  any  person  who  subjects  such  individual,  or  causes  such individual to be subjected, to 
an action prohibited by this section.
(d) In addition to any other remedy at law or in equity, an individual aggrieved by the seizure or confiscation 
of a firearm or ammunition in violation of this section may bring an action for the return of such firearm or 
ammunition in the circuit court of the county in which that individual resides or in which such firearm or 
ammunition is located.
(e) In any action or proceeding to enforce this section, the court shall award a  prevailing plaintiff costs and 
reasonable attorney fees.

§ 15-10-5. Federal officers' peace-keeping authority.

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, any person who is employed by the United 
States government as a federal law-enforcement officer and is listed in subsection
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(b) of this section, has the same authority to enforce the laws of this state, except state or local traffic laws 
or parking ordinances, as that authority granted to state or local law-enforcement
officers, if one or more of the following circumstances exist:
(1) The federal law-enforcement officer is requested to provide temporary assistance by the
head of a state or local law-enforcement agency or the designee of the head of the agency and that  request  is  
within  the  state  or  local  law-enforcement  agency's  scope  of  authority  and jurisdiction and is in writing: 
Provided, That the request does not need to be in writing if an emergency situation exists involving the 
imminent risk of loss of life or serious bodily injury;
(2) The federal law-enforcement officer is requested by a state or local law-enforcement officer to provide 
the officer temporary assistance when the state or local law-enforcement
officer is acting within the scope of the officer's authority and jurisdiction and where exigent circumstances 
exist; or
(3) A  felony  is  committed  in  the  federal  law-enforcement  officer's  presence  or  under circumstances 
indicating a felony has just occurred.
(b) This section applies to the following persons who are employed as full-time federal law- enforcement 
officers by the United States government and who are authorized to carry firearms
while performing their duties:
(1) Federal Bureau of Investigation special agents;
(2) Drug Enforcement Administration special agents;
(3) United States Marshal's Service marshals and deputy marshals;
(4) United States postal service inspectors;
(5) Internal revenue service special agents;
(6) United States secret service special agents;
(7) Bureau of alcohol, tobacco, and firearms special agents;
(8) Police officers employed pursuant to 40 U.S.C. §§ 318 and 490 at the federal bureau of investigation's 
criminal justice information services division facility located within this state;
(9) Law-enforcement commissioned rangers of the national park service;
(10) Department of Veterans Affairs Police and Department of Veterans Affairs  special investigators;
(11) Office of Inspector General special agents; and
(12) Federal Air Marshals with the Federal Air Marshal Service.
(c) Any person acting under the authority granted pursuant to this section:
(1) Has the same authority and is subject to the same exemptions and exceptions to this code as a state or 
local law-enforcement officer;
(2) Is not an officer, employee, or agent of any state or local law-enforcement agency;
(3) May not initiate or conduct an independent investigation into an alleged violation of any provision of 
this code except to the extent necessary to preserve evidence or testimony at risk of loss immediately following 
an occurrence described in subdivision (3), subsection (a) of this section;
(4) Is subject to 28 U.S.C. § 1346, the Federal Tort Claims Act; and
(5) Has the same immunities from liability as a state or local law-enforcement officer.

§ 18-2-8a. Hunter safety orientation program.

(a) The Legislature finds that:
(1) Firearms  and  hunting  are  important  parts  of  West  Virginia's  history,  culture  and economy;
(2) Unfortunately, the use of firearms while hunting or at any other time can be dangerous when the firearms 
are not handled in a careful and safe manner; and
(3) Therefore, the opportunity of participating in a hunter safety orientation program should be offered to 
students in certain grades.
(b) The State Board of Education shall, with the advice of the State Superintendent of Schools and the 
Director of the Division of Natural Resources, promulgate a rule in accordance with the provisions of article 
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three-b, chapter twenty-nine-a of this code for the implementation of a hunter safety orientation program for use 
in the public schools of this state. The rule shall include at least the following provisions:
(1) The hunter safety orientation program may be offered to students in any of the grade levels sixth through 
twelfth grades over a two-week period during the school year as part of physical education classes, or as part of 
the general curriculum offered to students in any of these grade levels, or at the end of the school day;
(2) The hunter safety orientation program is voluntary to students and any student may choose not to 
participate in the program. If a student chooses not to participate in the program, he or she shall participate in 
another education activity;
(3) The hunter safety orientation program shall include instruction relating to:
(A) The protection of lives and property against loss or damage as a result of the improper use of firearms; 
and
(B) The proper use of firearms in hunting, sport competition and the care and safety of firearms in the home;
(4) The hunter safety orientation program may use materials prepared by any national nonprofit membership 
organization which has as one of its purposes the training of people in marksmanship and the safe handling and 
use of firearms; and
(5) The hunter safety orientation program shall be conducted by an instructor certified by the Division of 
Natural Resources or who has other training necessary to conduct the program as determined by the state board.
(c) The county superintendent may implement  the  hunter  safety  orientation  program in accordance with 
the rule required by this section in each school in the county that includes any of grades six through twelve at 
which, in the sole judgment of the superintendent, sufficient student interest in program enrollment justifies the 
program offering and an appropriately certified instructor is available.
(d) The Division of Natural Resources shall issue a certificate of training, required by section thirty-a, article 
two, chapter twenty of this code, to any student who completes the hunter safety orientation program.

§ 20-2-6a. Carrying a concealed handgun.

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, a person licensed to carry a concealed 
weapon pursuant to the provisions of section four, article seven, chapter sixty-one of this code who is not 
prohibited at the time from possessing a firearm pursuant to the provisions of section seven, article seven, 
chapter sixty-one of this code or by any applicable federal law may carry a handgun in a concealed manner for 
self-defense purposes while field hunting, hiking, camping or in or on a motor vehicle.
(b) The provisions of this section shall not exempt any person from obtaining any hunting or fishing license 
or stamp required by the division of natural resources.

§ 20-2-30a. Certificate of training; falsifying, altering, forging, counterfeiting or uttering training 
certificate; penalties.

(a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this article, no hunting license or stamp may be issued to 
any person who was born on or after the first day of January, one thousand nine hundred seventy-five, unless 
the person submits to the person authorized to issue hunting licenses a certificate of training as provided in 
this section or proof of completion of any course which promotes as a major objective safety in the handling 
of firearms and of bow and arrows and which course is approved by the hunter education association or the 
Director, or provides a State of West Virginia resident or nonresident hunting license from the previous hunting 
season that displays a certification of training, or attests that a hunter training course has been completed when 
purchasing a license or stamp online.
(b) The Director shall establish a course in the safe handling of firearms and of bows and arrows, such as the 
course approved by the hunter education association. This course shall be given at least once per year in each 
county in this state and shall be taught by instructors certified by the Director. In establishing and conducting 
this course, the Director may cooperate with any reputable association or organization which promotes as a 
major objective safety in the handling of firearms and of bows and arrows: Provided, That any person holding 
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a Class A-L or AB-L lifetime resident license obtained prior to his or her fifteenth birthday shall be required to 
obtain a certificate of training as provided in this section before hunting or trapping pursuant to said license. 
This course of instruction shall be offered without charge, except for materials or ammunition consumed. Upon 
satisfactory completion of the course, each person instructed in the course shall be issued a certificate of training 
for the purposes of complying with the requirements of subsection (a) of this section. The certificate shall be in 
the form prescribed by the Director and shall be valid for hunting license application purposes.
(c)(1)  Upon satisfactory completion of this course, any person whose hunting license has been revoked for a 
violation of the provisions of this chapter may petition the Director for a reduction of his or her revocation time. 
However, under no circumstances may the time be reduced to less than one year.
(2)       Successful completion of this course shall be required to consider the reinstatement of a hunting license 
of any person whose license has been revoked due to a conviction for negligent shooting of a human being or of 
livestock under the provisions of section fifty-seven of this article, and who petitions the Director for an early 
reinstatement of his or her hunting privileges. Such a petitioner shall also comply with the other requirements 
for consideration of reinstatement contained in section thirty-eight of this article.
(d) It is unlawful for any person to falsify, alter, forge, counterfeit or utter a certificate of training. Any 
person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, 
shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars nor more than one thousand dollars, or confined in jail for a 
period not to exceed one year, or both fined and imprisoned.
(e) Nothing herein contained shall mandate that any county school district in the state be responsible for 
implementing hunter safety education programs.

§20-2-37. Display of license, etc., by persons in possession of hunting, fishing, etc., paraphernalia.

(a) Any person having in his or her possession in or near the fields or woods, or about the streams of this 
state, any wildlife, hunting dog or other hunting, fishing or trapping paraphernalia, implements or devices 
suitable for taking wildlife under circumstances indicating he or she has been hunting, trapping, fishing or 
otherwise taking wildlife, shall, upon demand of any officer authorized to enforce this chapter:
(1) State his or her correct name and address;
(2) Exhibit for inspection all license and documents or other lawful authorization for hunting, fishing, 
trapping or otherwise taking wildlife required to be carried pursuant to this chapter; and 
(3) Exhibit for inspection all such wildlife, paraphernalia, implements or devices which he or she has in his 
or her possession.
(b) Mere possession of a firearm does not, in and of itself, indicate that a person has been hunting, fishing, 
trapping or taking wildlife, but may be considered along with other evidence in a determination as to whether a 
person has been hunting, fishing, trapping or otherwise taking wildlife.
(c) Nothing in this section may be construed as authorizing searches that violate article three, section six 
of the West Virginia Constitution or the Fourth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, nor may 
anything in this section be construed as effecting a waiver of these Constitutional provisions.

§20-2-58. Shooting across road or near building or crowd; penalty.

(a) In addition to any other prohibitions which may exist by law, it shall be unlawful for any person to shoot 
or discharge any firearms:
(1) Across or in any public road in this state, at any time;
(2) Within five hundred feet of any school or church; or
(3) Within five hundred feet of any dwelling house: Provided, That a person who is a resident of a dwelling 
house, and his or her authorized guest, may shoot or discharge a firearm in a lawful manner within five hundred 
feet of the dwelling house where the person lives, if the firearm is being discharged with the express or implied 
knowledge and consent of all residents of that dwelling house, and no other dwelling houses are located within 
five hundred feet of where the firearm is discharged; or
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(4) On or near any park or other place where persons gather for purposes of pleasure.
(b) Any person violating this section is guilty of a misdemeanor  and,  upon  conviction thereof, shall be 
fined not less than fifty dollars nor more than $500 or confined in jail for not more than one hundred days, or 
both fined and confined.
(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, any person operating a gun repair 
shop, licensed to do business in the State of West Virginia and duly licensed under applicable federal statutes, 
may be exempted from the prohibition established by this section and section twelve, article seven, chapter 
sixty-one of this code for the purpose of test firing a firearm. The director of the Division of Natural Resources 
shall prescribe such rules as may be necessary to carry out the purposes of the exemption under this section 
and section twelve, article seven, chapter sixty-one and shall ensure that any person residing in any dwelling 
home within five hundred feet of such gun repair shop be given an opportunity to protest the granting of such 
exemption.

§ 48-27-502. Mandatory provisions in protective order. (Domestic Violence)

(a) A protective order must order the respondent to refrain from abusing, harassing, stalking, threatening or 
otherwise intimidating the petitioner or the minor children, or engaging in other conduct that would place the 
petitioner or the minor children in reasonable fear of bodily injury.
(b) The protective order must  prohibit  the  respondent  from  possessing  any  firearm  or ammunition.
(c) The  protective  order  must  inform  the  respondent  that  he  or  she  is  prohibited  from possessing 
any firearm or ammunition and that possession of a firearm or ammunition while subject to the court's protective 
order is a criminal offense under state and federal law, notwithstanding the fact that the respondent might 
otherwise have a right to possess a firearm.
(d) The protective order must inform the respondent that the order is in full force in every county of this 
state.
(e) The protective order must contain on its face the following statement, printed  in bold-faced type or in 
capital letters:
"VIOLATION  OF  THIS  ORDER  MAY  BE  PUNISHED  BY  CONFINEMENT  IN  A REGIONAL JAIL 
FOR AS LONG AS ONE YEAR AND BY A FINE OF AS MUCH AS $2,000".

§ 61-3B-3. Trespass on property other than structure or conveyance.

(a) It is an unlawful trespass for any person to knowingly, and without being authorized, licensed or invited, 
to enter or remain on any property, other than a structure or conveyance, as to which notice against entering or 
remaining is either given by actual communication to such person or by posting, fencing or cultivation.
(b) First offense conviction. -- Upon a first trespassing conviction pursuant to subsection (a): The person is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500.
(c) Second offense conviction. -- Upon a second trespassing conviction pursuant to subsection (a): The 
person is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000.
(d) Third offense conviction. -- Upon a third and subsequent trespassing conviction pursuant to subsection (a): 
The person is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $1,500.
(e) If the offender defies an order to leave, personally communicated to him by the owner, tenant or agent 
of such owner or tenant, or if the offender opens any door, fence or gate, and thereby exposes animals, crops 
or other property to waste, destruction or freedom, or causes any damage to property by such trespassing on 
property other than a structure or conveyance, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, 
shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500 or imprisoned in the county jail for a period not to exceed 
six months, or both such fine and imprisonment.
(c) If the offender is armed with a firearm or other dangerous weapon with the unlawful and felonious intent 
to do bodily injury to a human being during his commission of the offense of trespass on property other than 
a structure or conveyance, such offender shall, notwithstanding section one, article seven, chapter sixty-one of 
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this code, be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in the county jail for a 
term not to exceed six months, or fined not more than $100, or both such fine and imprisonment.
(d) Notwithstanding and in addition to any other penalties provided by law, any person who performs or 
causes damage to property in the course of a willful trespass shall be liable to the property owner in the amount 
of twice the amount of such damage. However, this article shall not apply in a labor dispute.

§ 61-7-2. Definitions.

As used in this article, unless the context otherwise requires:
(1) “Blackjack” means a short bludgeon consisting, at the striking end, of an encased piece of lead or some 
other heavy substance and, at the handle end, a strap or springy shaft which increases the force of impact when 
a person or object is struck. The term “blackjack” shall include, but not be limited to, a billy, billy club, sand 
club, sandbag or slapjack.
(2) “Gravity knife” means any knife that has a blade released from the handle by the force of gravity or the 
application of centrifugal force and when so released is locked in place by means of a button, spring, lever or 
other locking or catching device.
(3) “Knife” means an instrument, intended to be used or readily adaptable to be used as a weapon, 
consisting of a sharp-edged or sharp-pointed blade, usually made of steel, attached to a handle which is capable 
of inflicting cutting, stabbing or tearing wounds. The term “knife” shall include, but not be limited to, any 
dagger, dirk, poniard or stiletto, with a blade over three and one-half inches in length, any switchblade knife or 
gravity knife and any other instrument capable of inflicting cutting, stabbing or tearing wounds. A pocket knife 
with a blade three and one-half inches or less in length, a hunting or fishing knife carried for hunting, fishing, 
sports or other recreational uses or a knife designed for use as a tool or household implement shall not be 
included within the term “knife” as defined herein unless such knife is knowingly used or intended to be used to 
produce serious bodily injury or death.
(4) “Switchblade knife” means any knife having a spring-operated blade which opens automatically upon 
pressure being applied to a button, catch or other releasing device in its handle.
(5) “Nunchuka” means a flailing instrument consisting of two or more rigid parts, connected by a chain, 
cable, rope or other nonrigid, flexible or springy material, constructed in such a manner as to allow the rigid 
parts to swing freely so that one rigid part may be used as a handle and the other rigid part may be used as the 
striking end.
(6) “Metallic or false knuckles” means a set of finger rings attached to a transverse piece to be worn over 
the front of the hand for use as a weapon and constructed in such a manner that, when striking another person 
with the fist or closed hand, considerable physical damage may be inflicted upon the person struck. The terms 
“metallic or false knuckles” shall include any such instrument without reference to the metal or other substance 
or substances from which the metallic or false knuckles are made.
(7) “Pistol” means a short firearm having a chamber which is  integral  with  the  barrel, designed to be 
aimed and fired by the use of a single hand.
(8) “Revolver” means a short firearm having a cylinder of several chambers that are brought successively 
into line with the barrel to be discharged, designed to be aimed and fired by the use of a single hand.
(9) “Deadly weapon” means an instrument which is designed to be used to produce serious bodily injury 
or death or is readily adaptable to such use. The term “deadly weapon” shall include, but not be limited to, the 
instruments defined in subdivisions (1) through (8), inclusive, of this section or other deadly weapons of like 
kind or character which may be easily concealed on or about the person. For the purposes of section one-a, 
article five, chapter eighteen-a of this code and section eleven-a, article seven of this chapter, in addition to the 
definition of “knife” set forth in subdivision (3) of this section, the term “deadly weapon” also includes any 
instrument included within the definition of “knife” with a blade of three and one-half inches or less in length. 
Additionally, for the purposes of section one-a, article five, chapter eighteen-a of this code and section eleven-a, 
article seven of this chapter, the term “deadly weapon” includes explosive, chemical, biological and radiological 
materials. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the term “deadly weapon” does not include any 
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item or material owned by the school or county board, intended for curricular use, and used by the student at the 
time of the alleged offense solely for curricular purposes.
(10) “Concealed” means hidden from ordinary observation so as to prevent disclosure or recognition. A 
deadly weapon is concealed when it is carried on or about the person in such a manner that another person in the 
ordinary course of events would not be placed on notice that the deadly weapon was being carried. For purposes 
of concealed handgun licensees, a licensee shall be deemed to be carrying on or about his or her person while in 
or on a motor vehicle if the firearm is located in a storage area in or on the motor vehicle.
(11) “Firearm” means any weapon which will expel a projectile by action of an explosion.
(12) “Controlled substance” has the same meaning as is ascribed to that term in subsection (d), section one 
hundred one, article one, chapter sixty-a of this code.
(13) “Drug” has the same meaning as is ascribed to that term in subsection (1), section one hundred one, 
article one, chapter sixty-a of this code.

§61-7-4.  License to carry deadly weapons; how obtained.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (h) of this section, any person desiring to obtain a state license to 
carry a concealed deadly weapon shall apply to the sheriff of his or her county for the license, and pay to the 
sheriff, at the time of application, a fee of $75, of which $15 of that amount shall be deposited in the Courthouse 
Facilities Improvement Fund created by section six, article twenty-six, chapter twenty-nine of this code. 
Concealed weapons permits may only be issued for pistols or revolvers. Each applicant shall file with the sheriff 
a complete application, as prepared by the Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police, in writing, duly 
verified, which sets forth only the following licensing requirements:
(1) The applicant’s full name, date of birth, Social Security number, a description of the applicant’s physical 
features, the applicant’s place of birth, the applicant’s country of citizenship and, if the applicant is not a United 
States citizen, any alien or admission number issued by the United States Bureau of Immigration and Customs 
enforcement, and any basis, if applicable, for an exception to the prohibitions of 18 U. S. C. § 922(g)(5)(B);
(2) That, on the date the application is made, the applicant is a bona fide resident of this state and of the 
county in which the application is made and has a valid driver’s license or other state-issued photo identification 
showing the residence;
(3) That the applicant is twenty-one years of age or older: Provided, That any individual who is less than 
twenty-one years of age and possesses a properly issued concealed weapons license as of the effective date of 
this article shall be licensed to maintain his or her concealed weapons license notwithstanding the provisions 
of this section requiring new applicants to be at least twenty-one years of age: Provided, however, That upon 
a showing of any applicant who is eighteen years of age or older that he or she is required to carry a concealed 
weapon as a condition for employment, and presents satisfactory proof to the sheriff thereof, then he or she shall 
be issued a license upon meeting all other conditions of this section. Upon discontinuance of employment that 
requires the concealed weapons license, if the individual issued the license is not yet twenty-one years of age, 
then the individual issued the license is no longer eligible and must return his or her license to the issuing sheriff;
(4) That the applicant is not addicted to alcohol, a controlled substance or a drug and is not an unlawful user 
thereof as evidenced by either of the following within the three years immediately prior to the application:
(A) Residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism or alcohol detoxification or drug treatment; or
(B) Two or more convictions for driving while under the influence or driving while impaired;
(5) That the applicant has not been convicted of a felony unless the conviction has been expunged or set 
aside or the applicant’s civil rights have been restored or the applicant has been unconditionally pardoned for 
the offense;
(6) That the applicant has not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence other than an offense set 
forth in subsection (7) of this section in the five years immediately preceding the application;
(7) That the applicant has not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined in 
18 U. S. C. § 921(a)(33), or a misdemeanor offense of assault or battery either under the provisions of section 
twenty-eight, article two of this chapter or the provisions of subsection (b) or (c), section nine, article two of this 
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chapter in which the victim was a current or former spouse, current or former sexual or intimate partner, person 
with whom the defendant cohabits or has cohabited, a parent or guardian, the defendant’s child or ward or a 
member of the defendant’s household at the time of the offense, or a misdemeanor offense with similar essential 
elements in a jurisdiction other than this state;
(8) That the applicant is not under indictment for a felony offense or is not currently serving a sentence of 
confinement, parole, probation or other court-ordered supervision imposed by a court of any jurisdiction or is 
the subject of an emergency or temporary domestic violence protective order or is the subject of a final domestic 
violence protective order entered by a court of any jurisdiction;
(9) That the applicant has not been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed to 
a mental institution. If the applicant has been adjudicated mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed 
the applicant must provide a court order reflecting that the applicant is no longer under such disability and the 
applicant’s right to possess or receive a firearm has been restored;
(10) That the applicant is not prohibited under the provisions of section seven of this article or federal law, 
including 18 U.S.C. § 922(q) or (n), from receiving, possessing or transporting a firearm;
(11) That the applicant has qualified under the minimum requirements set forth in subsection (d) of this 
section for handling and firing the weapon: Provided, That this requirement shall be waived in the case of a 
renewal applicant who has previously qualified; and
(12) That the applicant authorizes the sheriff of the county, or his or her designee, to conduct an investigation 
relative to the information contained in the application.
(b) For both initial and renewal applications, the sheriff shall conduct an investigation including a nationwide 
criminal background check consisting of inquiries of the National Instant Criminal Background Check System, 
the West Virginia criminal history record responses and the National Interstate Identification Index and shall 
review the information received in order to verify that the information required in subsection (a) of this section is 
true and correct. A license may not be issued unless the issuing sheriff has verified through the National Instant 
Criminal Background Check System that the information available to him or her does not indicate that receipt or 
possession of a firearm by the applicant would be in violation of the provisions of section seven of this article or 
federal law, including 18 U.S.C. § 922(g) or (n).
(c) Sixty dollars of the application fee and any fees for replacement of lost or stolen licenses received by the 
sheriff shall be deposited by the sheriff into a concealed weapons license administration fund. The fund shall be 
administered by the sheriff and shall take the form of an interest-bearing account with any interest earned to be 
compounded to the fund. Any funds deposited in this concealed weapon license administration fund are to be 
expended by the sheriff to pay the costs associated with issuing concealed weapons licenses. Any surplus in the 
fund on hand at the end of each fiscal year may be expended for other law-enforcement purposes or operating 
needs of the sheriff’s office, as the sheriff considers appropriate.
(d) All persons applying for a license must complete a training course in handling and firing a handgun. The 
successful completion of any of the following courses fulfills this training requirement:
(1) Any official National Rifle Association handgun safety or training course;
(2) Any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by an official 
law-enforcement organization, community college, junior college, college or private or public institution or 
organization or handgun training school utilizing instructors certified by the institution;
(3) Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by a handgun instructor certified as such by 
the state or by the National Rifle Association;
(4) Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by any branch of the United States Military, 
Reserve or National Guard or proof of other handgun qualification received while serving in any branch of the 
United States Military, Reserve or National Guard.
 A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes or an affidavit from the 
instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught the course or class attesting to the 
successful completion of the course or class by the applicant or a copy of any document which shows successful 
completion of the course or class is evidence of qualification under this section.
(e) All concealed weapons license applications must be notarized by a notary public duly licensed under 
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article four, chapter twenty-nine of this code. Falsification of any portion of the application constitutes false 
swearing and is punishable under the provisions of section two, article five, chapter sixty-one of this code.
(f) The sheriff shall issue a license unless he or she determines that the application is incomplete, that 
it contains statements that are materially false or incorrect or that applicant otherwise does not meet the 
requirements set forth in this section. The sheriff shall issue, reissue or deny the license within forty-five days 
after the application is filed if all required background checks authorized by this section are completed.
(g) Before any approved license is issued or is effective, the applicant shall pay to the sheriff a fee in the 
amount of $25 which the sheriff shall forward to the Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police within 
thirty days of receipt. The license is valid for five years throughout the state, unless sooner revoked.
(h) Each license shall contain the full name and address of the licensee and a space upon which the 
signature of the licensee shall be signed with pen and ink. The issuing sheriff shall sign and attach his or her 
seal to all license cards. The sheriff shall provide to each new licensee a duplicate license card, in size similar to 
other state identification cards and licenses, suitable for carrying in a wallet, and the license card is considered a 
license for the purposes of this section.
(i) The Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police shall prepare uniform applications for licenses and 
license cards showing that the license has been granted and shall do any other act required to be done to protect 
the state and see to the enforcement of this section.
(j) If an application is denied, the specific reasons for the denial shall be stated by the sheriff denying the 
application. Any person denied a license may file, in the circuit court of the county in which the application 
was made, a petition seeking review of the denial. The petition shall be filed within thirty days of the denial. 
The court shall then determine whether the applicant is entitled to the issuance of a license under the criteria set 
forth in this section. The applicant may be represented by counsel, but in no case is the court required to appoint 
counsel for an applicant. The final order of the court shall include the court’s findings of fact and conclusions 
of law. If the final order upholds the denial, the applicant may file an appeal in accordance with the Rules of 
Appellate Procedure of the Supreme Court of Appeals.
(k) If a license is lost or destroyed, the person to whom the license was issued may obtain a duplicate or 
substitute license for a fee of $5 by filing a notarized statement with the sheriff indicating that the license has 
been lost or destroyed.
(l) Whenever any person after applying for and receiving a concealed handgun license moves from the 
address named in the application to another county within the state, the license remains valid for the remainder 
of the five years: Provided, That the licensee within twenty days thereafter notifies the sheriff in the new county 
of residence in writing of the old and new addresses.
(m) The sheriff shall, immediately after the license is granted as aforesaid, furnish the Superintendent of 
the West Virginia State Police a certified copy of the approved application. The sheriff shall furnish to the 
Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police at any time so requested a certified list of all licenses issued 
in the county. The Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police shall maintain a registry of all persons who 
have been issued concealed weapons licenses.
(n) Except when subject to an exception under section six, article seven of this chapter, all licensees shall 
carry with them a state-issued photo identification card with the concealed weapons license whenever the 
licensee is carrying a concealed weapon. Any licensee who, in violation of this subsection, fails to have in his or 
her possession a state-issued photo identification card and a current concealed weapons license while carrying 
a concealed weapon is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $50 or 
more than $200 for each offense.
(o) The sheriff shall deny any application or revoke any existing license upon determination that any of the 
licensing application requirements established in this section have been violated by the licensee.
(p)  A person who is engaged in the receipt, review or in the issuance or revocation of a concealed 
weapon license does not incur any civil liability as the result of the lawful performance of his or her duties 
under this article.
(q) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, with respect to application by a former 
law-enforcement officer honorably retired from agencies governed by article fourteen, chapter seven of this 
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code; article fourteen, chapter eight of this code; article two, chapter fifteen of this code; and article seven, 
chapter twenty of this code, an honorably retired officer is exempt from payment of fees and costs as otherwise 
required by this section. All other application and background check requirements set forth in this shall be 
applicable to these applicants.
(r) Except as restricted or prohibited by the provisions of this article or as otherwise prohibited by law, the 
issuance of a concealed weapon permit issued in accordance with the provisions of this section authorizes the 
holder of the permit to carry a concealed pistol or revolver on the lands or waters of this state.

§61-7-6. Exceptions as to prohibitions against carrying concealed handguns; exemptions from licensing 
fees.

(a) The licensure provisions set forth in this article do not apply to:
(1) Any person:
(A) Carrying a deadly weapon upon his or her own premises;
(B) Carrying a firearm, unloaded, from the place of purchase to his or her home, residence or place of 
business or to a place of repair and back to his or her home, residence or place of business; or
(C) Possessing a firearm while hunting in a lawful manner or while traveling from his or her home, 
residence or place of business to a hunting site and returning to his or her home, residence or place of business;
(2) Any person who is a member of a properly organized target-shooting club authorized by law to obtain 
firearms by purchase or requisition from this state or from the United States for the purpose of target practice 
from carrying any pistol, as defined in this article, unloaded, from his or her home, residence or place of 
business to a place of target practice and from any place of target practice back to his or her home, residence or 
place of business, for using any such weapon at a place of target practice in training and improving his or her 
skill in the use of the weapons;
(3) Any  law-enforcement  officer  or  law-enforcement  official  as  defined  in  section  one, article twenty-
nine, chapter thirty of this code;
(4) Any employee of the West Virginia Division of Corrections duly appointed pursuant to the  provisions  
of  section  eleven-c,  article  one,  chapter  twenty-five  of  this  code  while  the employee is on duty;
(5) Any member of the armed forces of the United States or the militia of this state while the member is 
on duty;
(6) Any resident of another state who holds a valid permit or license to possess or carry a handgun issued by 
a state or a political subdivision subject to the provisions and limitations set forth in section six-a of this article;
(7) Any federal law-enforcement officer or federal  police  officer  authorized  to  carry  a weapon in the 
performance of the officer’s duty;
(8) Any Hatfield-McCoy Regional Recreation Authority Ranger while the ranger is on duty; and
(9) Any parole officer appointed pursuant to section fourteen, article twelve, chapter sixty-two of this code 
in the performance of their duties.
(b) On and after July 1, 2013, the following judicial officers and prosecutors and staff shall be exempted 
from paying any application fees or licensure fees required under this article. However, on and after that same 
date, they shall be required to make application and satisfy all licensure and handgun safety and training 
requirements set forth in section four of this article before carrying a concealed handgun in this state:
(1) Any justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia;
(2) Any circuit judge;
(3) Any retired justice or retired circuit judge designated senior status by the Supreme Court of Appeals of 
West Virginia;
(4) Any family court judge;
(5) Any magistrate;
(6) Any prosecuting attorney;
(7) Any assistant prosecuting attorney; or
(8) Any duly appointed investigator employed by a prosecuting attorney.
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§61-7-6a.  Reciprocity and recognition; out-of-state concealed handgun permits.

(a) A valid out-of-state permit or license to possess or carry a handgun is valid in this state for the carrying 
of a concealed handgun, if the following conditions are met:
(1) The permit or license holder is twenty-one years of age or older;
(2) The permit or license is in his or her immediate possession;
(3) The permit or license holder is not a resident of the State of West Virginia; and, 
(4) The Attorney General has been notified by the Governor of the other state that the other state allows 
residents of West Virginia who are licensed in West Virginia to carry a concealed handgun to carry a concealed 
handgun in that state or the Attorney General has entered into a written reciprocity agreement with the 
appropriate official of the other state whereby the state agrees to honor West Virginia concealed handgun 
licenses in return for same treatment in this state.
(b) A holder of a valid permit or license from another state who is authorized to carry a concealed handgun 
in this state pursuant to provisions of this section is subject to the same laws and restrictions with respect to 
carrying a concealed handgun as a resident of West Virginia who is so permitted and must carry the concealed 
handgun in compliance with the laws of this state.
(c) A license or permit from another state is not valid in this state if the holder is or becomes prohibited by 
law from possessing a firearm.
(d) The West Virginia Attorney General shall seek to obtain recognition of West Virginia concealed handgun 
licenses and enter into and execute reciprocity agreements on behalf of the State of West Virginia with states for 
the recognition of concealed handgun permits issued pursuant to this article.
(e) The West Virginia State Police shall maintain a registry of states with which the State of West Virginia 
has entered into reciprocity agreements or which recognize West Virginia concealed handgun licenses on the 
criminal information network and make the registry available to law-enforcement officers for investigative 
purposes.
(f) Every twelve months after the effective date of this section, the West Virginia Attorney General shall make 
written inquiry of the concealed handgun licensing or permitting authorities in each other state as to: (i) Whether 
a West Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun in their state based upon having a valid West Virginia 
concealed handgun permit; and (ii) whether a West Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun in that state 
based upon having a valid West Virginia concealed handgun permit, pursuant to the laws of that state or by the 
execution of a valid reciprocity agreement between the states.
(g) The West Virginia State Police shall make available to the public a list of states which have entered into 
reciprocity agreements with the State of West Virginia or that allow residents of West Virginia who are licensed 
in West Virginia to carry a concealed handgun to carry a concealed handgun in that state.

§61-7-7. Persons prohibited from possessing firearms; classifications; reinstatement of rights to possess; 
offenses; penalties.

(a) Except as provided in this section, no person shall possess a firearm, as such is defined in section two of 
this article, who:
(1) Has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year;
(2) Is habitually addicted to alcohol;
(3) Is an unlawful user of or habitually addicted to any controlled substance;
(4) Has been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or who has  been  involuntarily committed to a 
mental institution pursuant to the provisions of chapter twenty-seven of this code or in similar law of another 
jurisdiction: Provided, That once an individual has been adjudicated as a mental defective or involuntarily 
committed to a mental institution, he or she shall be duly notified that they are to immediately surrender any 
firearms in their ownership or possession: Provided, however, That the mental hygiene commissioner or 
circuit judge shall first make a determination of the appropriate public or private individual or entity to act as 

19

http://is.gd/ITOi2m
http://is.gd/Rn9OOm
http://is.gd/Rn9OOm


conservator for the surrendered property;
(5) Is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States;
(6) Has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions;
(7) Is subject to a domestic violence protective order that:
(A) Was issued after a hearing of which such person received actual notice and at which such person had an 
opportunity to participate;
(B) Restrains such person from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate partner of such person or 
child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in 
reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child; and 
(C) (i) Includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate 
partner or child; or (ii) By its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical 
force against such intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily injury; or
(8) Has been convicted of a misdemeanor offense of assault or battery either  under the provisions of 
section twenty-eight, article two of this chapter or the provisions of subsection (b) or (c), section nine of said 
article or a federal or state statute with the same essential elements in which the victim was a current or former 
spouse, current or former sexual or intimate partner, person with whom the defendant has a child in common, 
person with whom the defendant cohabits or has cohabited, a parent or guardian, the defendant’s child or ward 
or a member of the defendant’s household at the time of the offense or has been convicted in any court of any 
jurisdiction of a comparable misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
 Any person who violates the provisions of this subsection shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon 
conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or confined in the county jail for not 
less than ninety days nor more than one year, or both.
(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, any person:
(1) Who has been convicted in this state or any other jurisdiction of a felony crime of violence against the 
person of another or of a felony sexual offense; or
(2) Who has been convicted in this state or any other jurisdiction of a felony controlled substance offense 
involving a Schedule I controlled substance other than marijuana, a Schedule II or a Schedule III controlled 
substance as such are defined in sections two hundred four, two hundred five and two hundred six, article two, 
chapter sixty-a of this code and who possesses a firearm as such is defined in section two of this article shall 
be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in a state correctional facility for not more 
than five years or fined not more than $5,000, or both. The provisions of subsection (c) of this section shall not 
apply to persons convicted of offenses referred to in this subsection or to persons convicted of a violation of this 
subsection.
(c) Any person prohibited from possessing a firearm by the provisions of subsection (a) of this section may 
petition the circuit court of the county in which he or she resides to regain the ability to possess a firearm and 
if the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the person is competent and capable of exercising the 
responsibility concomitant with the possession of a firearm, the court may enter an order allowing the person to 
possess a firearm if such possession would not violate any federal law: Provided, That a person prohibited from 
possessing a firearm by the provisions of subdivision (4), subsection (a) of this section may petition to regain 
the ability to possess a firearm in accordance with the provisions of section five, article seven-a of this chapter.
(d) Any person who has been convicted of an offense which disqualifies him or her from possessing a 
firearm by virtue of a criminal conviction whose conviction was expunged or set aside or who subsequent 
thereto receives an unconditional pardon for said offense shall not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by 
the provisions of the section.

§ 61-7-8. Possession of deadly weapons by minors; prohibitions.

Notwithstanding any other provision of this article to the contrary, a person under the age of eighteen years who 
is not married or otherwise emancipated shall not possess or carry concealed or openly any deadly weapon: 
Provided, That a minor may possess a firearm upon premises owned by said minor or his family or on the 
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premises of another with the permission of his or her parent or guardian and in the case of property other than 
his or her own or that of his family, with the permission of the owner or lessee of such property: Provided, 
however, That nothing in this section shall prohibit a minor from possessing a firearm while hunting in a lawful 
manner or while traveling from a place where he or she may lawfully possess a deadly weapon, to a hunting 
site, and returning to a place where he or she may lawfully possess such weapon.
 A violation of this section by a person under the age of eighteen years shall subject the child to the 
jurisdiction of the circuit court under the provisions of article five, chapter forty-nine of this code, and such 
minor may be proceeded against in the same manner as if he or she had committed an act which if committed 
by an adult would be a crime, and may be adjudicated delinquent.

§  61-7-11.  Brandishing  deadly  weapons;  threatening  or  causing  breach  of  the  peace; criminal 
penalties.

It shall be unlawful for any person armed with a firearm or other deadly weapon, whether licensed to carry the 
same or not, to carry, brandish or use such weapon in a way or manner to cause, or threaten, a breach of the 
peace. Any person violating this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be 
fined not less than fifty nor more than one thousand dollars, or shall be confined in the county jail not less than 
ninety days nor more than one year, or both.

§ 61-7-11a. Possessing deadly weapons on premises of educational facilities; reports by school principals; 
suspension of driver’s license; possessing deadly weapons on premises housing courts of law and in offices 
of family law master.

(a) The Legislature hereby finds that the safety and welfare of the citizens of this state are inextricably 
dependent upon assurances of safety for children attending and persons employed by schools in this state and 
for persons employed by the judicial department of this state. It is for the purpose of providing assurances of 
safety that subsections (b), (g) and (h) of this section are enacted as a reasonable regulation of the manner in 
which citizens may exercise the rights accorded to them pursuant to section twenty-two, article three of the 
Constitution of the State of West Virginia.
(b) (1) It is unlawful for a person to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon on a school bus as defined in 
section one, article one, chapter seventeen-a of this code, or in or on a public or private primary or secondary 
education building, structure, facility or grounds including a vocational education building, structure, facility or 
grounds where secondary vocational education programs are conducted or at a school-sponsored function.
(2) This subsection does not apply to:
(A) A law-enforcement officer acting in his or her official capacity;
(B) A person specifically authorized by the board of education of the county or principal of the school where 
the property is located to conduct programs with valid educational purposes;
(C) A person who, as otherwise permitted by the provisions of this article,  possesses an unloaded firearm or 
deadly weapon in a motor vehicle or leaves an unloaded firearm or deadly weapon in a locked motor vehicle;
(D) Programs or raffles conducted with the approval of the county board of education or school which 
include the display of unloaded firearms;
(E) The official mascot of West Virginia University, commonly known as the Mountaineer, acting in his or 
her official capacity; or
(F) The official mascot of Parkersburg South High School, commonly known as the Patriot, acting in his or 
her official capacity.
(3) A person violating this subsection is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be imprisoned 
in a state correctional facility for a definite term of years of not less than two years nor more than ten years, or 
fined not more than $5,000, or both.
(c) It is the duty of the principal of each school subject to the authority of the State Board of Education 
to report a violation of subsection (b) of this section discovered by the principal to the State Superintendent 
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of Schools within seventy-two hours after the violation occurs. The State Board of Education shall keep and 
maintain these reports and may prescribe rules establishing policy and procedures for the making and delivery 
of the reports as required by this subsection. In addition, it is the duty of the principal of each school subject to 
the authority of the State Board of Education to report a violation of subsection (b) of this section discovered by 
the principal to the appropriate local office of the Division of Public Safety within seventy-two hours after the 
violation occurs.
(d) In addition to the methods of disposition provided by article five, chapter forty-nine of this code, a court 
which adjudicates a person who is fourteen years of age or older as delinquent for a violation of subsection 
(b) of this section may, in its discretion, order the Division of Motor Vehicles to suspend a driver's license or 
instruction permit issued to the person for a period of time as the court considers appropriate, not to extend 
beyond the person's nineteenth birthday. Where the person has not been issued a driver's license or instruction 
permit by this state, a court may order the Division of Motor Vehicles to deny the person's application for a 
license or permit for a period of time as the court considers appropriate, not to extend beyond the person's 
nineteenth birthday. A suspension ordered by the court pursuant to this subsection is effective upon the date of 
entry of the order. Where the court orders the suspension of a driver's license or instruction permit pursuant to 
this subsection, the court shall confiscate any driver's license or instruction permit in the adjudicated person's 
possession and forward to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
(e) (1) If a person eighteen years of age or older is convicted of violating subsection (b) of this section, 
and if the person does not act to appeal the conviction within the time periods described in subdivision (2) 
of this subsection, the person's license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this state shall be revoked in 
accordance with the provisions of this section.
(2) The clerk of the court in which the person is convicted as described in subdivision (1) of this subsection 
shall forward to the commissioner a transcript of the judgment of conviction. If the conviction is the judgment 
of a magistrate court, the magistrate court clerk shall forward the transcript when the person convicted has not 
requested an appeal within twenty days of the sentencing for the conviction. If the conviction is the judgment 
of a circuit court, the circuit clerk shall forward a transcript of the judgment of conviction when the person 
convicted has not filed a notice of intent to file a petition for appeal or writ of error within thirty days after the 
judgment was entered.
(3) If, upon examination of the transcript of the judgment of conviction, the commissioner determines that 
the person was convicted as described in subdivision (1) of this subsection, the commissioner shall make and 
enter an order revoking the person's license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this state for a period 
of one year or, in the event the person is a student enrolled in a secondary school, for a period of one year or 
until the person's twentieth birthday, whichever is the greater period. The order shall contain the reasons for 
the revocation and the revocation period. The order of suspension shall advise the person that because of the 
receipt of the court's transcript, a presumption exists that the person named in the order of suspension is the 
same person named in the transcript. The commissioner may grant an administrative hearing which substantially 
complies with the requirements of the provisions of section two, article five- a, chapter seventeen-c of this code 
upon a preliminary showing that a possibility exists that the person  named  in  the  notice  of  conviction  is  not  
the  same  person  whose  license  is  being suspended. The request for hearing shall be made within ten days 
after receipt of a copy of the order of suspension. The sole purpose of this hearing is for the person requesting 
the hearing to present evidence that he or she is not the person named in the notice. If the commissioner grants 
an administrative hearing, the commissioner shall stay the license suspension pending the commissioner's order 
resulting from the hearing.
(4) For the purposes of this subsection, a person is convicted when such person enters a plea of guilty or is 
found guilty by a court or jury.
(f) (1) It is unlawful for a parent, guardian or custodian of a person less than eighteen years of age who 
knows that the person is in violation of subsection (b) of this section or has reasonable cause to believe that the 
person's violation of subsection (b) is imminent, to fail to immediately report his or her knowledge or belief to 
the appropriate school or law-enforcement officials.
(2)       A person violating this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined 
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not more than $1,000, or shall be confined in jail not more than one year, or both.
(g) (1) It is unlawful for a person to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon on the premises of a court of 
law, including family courts.
(2) This subsection does not apply to:
(A) A law-enforcement officer acting in his or her official capacity; and
(B) A person exempted from the provisions of this subsection by order of record entered by a court with 
jurisdiction over the premises or offices.
(3) A person violating this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be 
fined not more than $1,000, or shall be confined in jail not more than one year, or both.
(h) (1) It is unlawful for a person to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon  on the premises of a court of 
law, including family courts, with the intent to commit a crime.
(2) A person violating this subsection is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be imprisoned 
in a state correctional facility for a definite term of years of not less than two years nor more than ten years, or 
fined not more than $5,000, or both.
(i) Nothing in this section may be construed to be in conflict with the provisions of federal law.

§ 61-7-12. Wanton endangerment involving a firearm.

Any person who wantonly performs any act with a firearm which creates a substantial risk of death or serious 
bodily injury to another shall be guilty of a felony, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in the 
penitentiary for a definite term of years of not less than one year nor more than five years, or, in the discretion of 
the court, confined in the county jail for not more than one year, or fined not less than two hundred fifty dollars 
nor more than two thousand five hundred dollars, or both.
For purposes of this section, the term "firearm" shall have the same meaning ascribed to such term as set forth in 
section two of this article.

§ 61-7-14. Right of certain persons to limit possession of firearms on premises.
 
Notwithstanding the provisions of this article, any owner, lessee or other person charged with the care, custody 
and control of real property may prohibit the carrying openly or concealing of any firearm or deadly weapon on 
property under his or her domain: Provided, That for purposes of this section "person" means an individual or 
any entity which may acquire title to real property.
Any person carrying or possessing a firearm or other deadly weapon on the property of another who refuses 
to temporarily relinquish possession of such firearm or other deadly weapon, upon being requested to do so, 
or to leave such premises, while in possession of such firearm or other deadly weapon, shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars or confined in the 
county jail not more than six months, or both: Provided, That the provisions of this section shall not apply to 
those persons set forth in subsections (3) through (6), section six of this code while such persons are acting in 
an official capacity: Provided, however, That under no circumstances may any person possess or carry or cause 
the possession or carrying of any firearm or other deadly weapon on the premises of any primary or secondary 
educational facility in this state unless such person is a law-enforcement officer or he or she has the express 
written permission of the county school superintendent.
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SELECTED PROVISIONS OF FEDERAL LAW

Included for your reference below are select federal firearm laws, updated as of the publication of this handbook 
(June 2014). The listed federal statutes are not exhaustive, but rather highlight important restrictions and/or 
provisions that currently exist at the federal level.

18 U.S.C. § 922. Unlawful Acts (Selected Excerpts)

[Relating to the sale or disposition of firearms or ammunition]

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to sell or otherwise dispose of any firearm or ammunition to any 
person knowing or having reasonable cause to believe that such person—
(1) is under indictment for, or has been convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a 
term exceeding one year;
(2) is a fugitive from justice;
(3) is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the 
Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802));
(4) has been adjudicated as a mental defective or has been  committed  to  any  mental institution;
(5) who, being an alien—
(A) is illegally or unlawfully in the United States; or (B) except as provided in subsection (y)(2), has been 
admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa (as that term is defined in section 101(a)(26) of the 
Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(26)));
(6) who [2] has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
(7) who, having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his citizenship;
(8) is subject to a court order that restrains such person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate 
partner of such person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place 
an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child, except that this paragraph shall 
only apply to a court order that—
(A) was issued after a hearing of which such person received actual notice, and at which such
person had the opportunity to participate; and (B)
(i) includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate 
partner or child; or
(ii) by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force against such 
intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily injury; or
(9) has been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.

This subsection shall not apply with respect to the sale or disposition of a firearm or ammunition to a licensed 
importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer, or licensed collector who pursuant to subsection (b) of section 
925 of this chapter is not precluded from dealing in firearms or ammunition, or to a person who has been 
granted relief from disabilities pursuant to subsection
(c) of section 925 of this chapter.

[Relating to the shipment or transportation of firearms or ammunition]

(g) It shall be unlawful for any person–
(1) who has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one 
year;
(2) who is a fugitive from justice;
(3) who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the 
Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802));
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(4) who has been adjudicated as a mental defective or who has been committed to a mental institution;
(5) who, being an alien --
(A) is illegally or unlawfully in the United States; or
(B) except as provided in subsection (y)(2), has been admitted to the United States under a
nonimmigrant  visa  (as  that  term  is  defined  in  section  101(a)(26)  of  the  Immigration  and Nationality Act 
(8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(26));
(6) who has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
(7) who, having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his citizenship;
(8) who is subject to a court order that --
(A) was issued after a hearing of which such person received actual notice, and at which such person had an 
opportunity to participate; 
(B) restrains such person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of such person or 
child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in 
reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child; and
(C)(i)  includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate 
partner or child; or
(ii)       by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force against such 
intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily injury; or
(9) who has been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, to ship or transport 
in interstate or foreign commerce, or possess in or affecting commerce, any firearm or ammunition; or to receive 
any firearm or ammunition which has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce.

18 U.S.C. § 926A. Interstate transportation of firearms

Notwithstanding any other provision of any law or any rule or regulation of a State or any political subdivision 
thereof, any person who is not otherwise prohibited by this chapter from transporting, shipping, or receiving 
a firearm shall be entitled to transport a firearm for any lawful purpose from any place where he may lawfully 
possess and carry such firearm to any other place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm 
if, during such transportation the firearm is unloaded, and neither the firearm nor any ammunition being 
transported is readily accessible or is directly accessible from the passenger compartment of such transporting 
vehicle: Provided, That in the case of a vehicle without a compartment separate from the driver's compartment 
the firearm or ammunition shall be contained in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console.

18 U.S.C. § 926B. Carrying of concealed firearms by qualified law enforcement officers

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of the law of any State or any political subdivision thereof, 
an individual who is a qualified law enforcement officer and who is carrying the identification required by 
subsection (d) may carry a concealed firearm that has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign 
commerce, subject to subsection (b).
(b) his section shall not be construed to supersede or limit the laws of any State that–
(1) permit private persons or entities to prohibit or restrict the possession of concealed firearms on their 
property; or
(2) prohibit or restrict the possession of firearms on any State or local government property, installation, 
building, base, or park.
(c) As used in this section, the term “qualified law enforcement officer” means an employee of a 
governmental agency who--
(1) is authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation, or prosecution of, 
or the incarceration of any person for, any violation of law, and has statutory powers of arrest;
(2) is authorized by the agency to carry a firearm;
(3) is  not  the  subject  of  any  disciplinary  action  by  the  agency  which  could  result  in suspension or 
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loss of police powers;
(4) meets  standards,  if  any,  established  by  the  agency  which  require  the  employee  to regularly 
qualify in the use of a firearm;
(5) is not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance; and
(6) is not prohibited by Federal law from receiving a firearm.
(d) The identification required by this subsection is the photographic identification issued by the 
governmental agency for which the individual is employed as a law enforcement officer.
(e) As used in this section, the term “firearm”--
(1) except as provided in this subsection, has the same meaning as in section 921 of this title;
(2) includes ammunition not expressly prohibited by Federal law or subject to the provisions
of the National Firearms Act; and (3) does not include--
(A) any machine gun (as defined in section 5845 of the National Firearms Act);
(B) any firearm silencer (as defined in section 921 of this title); and
(C) any destructive device (as defined in section 921 of this title).
(f) For the purposes of this section, a law enforcement officer  of  the  Amtrak  Police Department, a law 
enforcement officer of the Federal Reserve, or a law enforcement or police officer of the executive branch of the 
Federal Government qualifies as an employee of a governmental agency who is authorized by law to engage in 
or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation, or prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for, 
any violation of law, and has statutory powers of arrest.

18 U.S.C. § 926C. Carrying of concealed firearms by qualified retired law enforcement officers

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of the law of any State or any political subdivision thereof, an 
individual who is a qualified retired law enforcement officer and who is carrying the identification required 
by subsection (d) may carry a concealed firearm that has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign 
commerce, subject to subsection (b).
(b) This section shall not be construed to supersede or limit the laws of any State that--
(1) permit private persons or entities to prohibit or restrict the possession of concealed firearms on their 
property; or
(2) prohibit or restrict the possession of firearms on any State or local government property, installation, 
building, base, or park.
(c) As used in this section, the term “qualified retired law enforcement officer”  means an individual who--
(1) separated from service in good standing from service with a public agency as a law enforcement officer;
(2) before such separation, was authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, 
investigation, or prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for, any violation of law, and had statutory 
powers of arrest;
(3)(A) before such separation, served as a law enforcement officer for an aggregate of 10 years or more; or
(B)      separated from service with such agency, after completing any applicable probationary period of such 
service, due to a service-connected disability, as determined by such agency;
(4)       during the most recent 12-month period, has met, at the expense of the individual, the standards for 
qualification in firearms training for active law enforcement officers, as determined by the former agency of the 
individual, the State in which the individual resides or, if the State has not established such standards, either 
a law enforcement agency within the State in which the individual resides or the standards used by a certified 
firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within that 
State;
(5)(A) has not been officially found by a qualified medical professional employed by the agency to be 
unqualified for reasons relating to mental health and as a result of this finding will not be issued the 
photographic identification as described in subsection (d)(1); or
(B) has not entered into an agreement with the agency from which the individual is separating from service 
in which that individual acknowledges he or she is not qualified under this section for  reasons  relating  to  
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mental  health  and  for  those  reasons  will  not  receive  or  accept  the photographic identification as described 
in subsection (d)(1);
(6) is not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance; and
(7) is not prohibited by Federal law from receiving a firearm.
(d) The identification required by this subsection is--
(1) a photographic identification issued by the agency from which the individual separated from service as 
a law enforcement officer that indicates that the individual has, not less recently than one year before the date 
the individual is carrying the concealed firearm, been tested or otherwise found by the agency to meet the active 
duty standards for qualification in firearms training as established by the agency to carry a firearm of the same 
type as the concealed firearm; or
(2)(A) a photographic identification issued by the agency from which the individual separated from service as a 
law enforcement officer; and
(B) a certification issued by the State in which the individual resides or by a certified firearms instructor that 
is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within that State that indicates that 
the individual has, not less than 1 year before the date the individual is carrying the concealed firearm, been 
tested or otherwise found by the State or a certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms 
qualification test for active duty officers within that State to have met--
(I) the active duty standards for qualification in firearms training, as established by the State, to carry a 
firearm of the same type as the concealed firearm; or
(II) if the State has not established such standards, standards set by any law enforcement agency within that 
State to carry a firearm of the same type as the concealed firearm.
(e) As used in this section--
(1) the term “firearm”--
(A) except as provided in this paragraph, has the same meaning as in section 921 of this title;
(B) includes ammunition not expressly prohibited by Federal law or subject to the provisions of the National 
Firearms Act; and
(C) does not include--
(i) any machine gun (as defined in section 5845 of the National Firearms Act);
(ii) any firearm silencer (as defined in section 921 of this title); and
(iii) any destructive device (as defined in section 921 of this title); and
(2) the term “service with a public agency as a law enforcement officer” includes service as a law 
enforcement officer of the Amtrak Police Department, service as a law enforcement officer of the Federal 
Reserve, or service as a law enforcement or police officer of the executive branch of the Federal Government.
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West Virginia County Sheriffs’ Offices

John W. Hawkins 
Barbour County Sheriff 
8 North Main Street 
Philippi, WV 26416 
(304) 457-2881

Kenneth Lemaster, Jr. 
Berkeley County Sheriff 
802 Emmett Rousch Drive, Suite C 
Martinsburg, WV 25401 
(304) 267-7000

Randall White 
Boone County Sheriff 
200 State Street 
Madison, WV 25130 
(304) 369-7390

Eddie Williams 
Braxton County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 546 
Sutton, WV 26601 
(304) 765-2838

Charles W. Jackson 
Brooke County Sheriff 
300 Courthouse Square 
Wellsburg, WV 26070 
(304) 737-3660

Thomas W. McComas 
Cabell County Sheriff 
750 Fifth Avenue, Room 101 
Huntington, WV 25701 
(304) 526-8664

Carl D. Ballengee 
Calhoun County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 340 
Grantsville, WV 26147 
(304) 354-6333

Garrett Samples 
Clay County Sheriff 
P.O. Drawer 429 
Clay, WV 25043 
(304) 587-4260

Michael Headley 
Doddridge County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 219 
West Union, WV 26456 
(304) 873-1000

Steve W. Kessler 
Fayette County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 509 
Fayetteville, WV 25840 
(304) 574-4216

Larry D. Gerwig 
Gilmer County Sheriff 
10 Howard Street 
Glenville, WV 26351 
(304) 462-7441

Emory W. Feaster, Jr. 
Grant County Sheriff 
5 Highland Avenue 
Petersburg, WV 26847 
(304) 257-1818

Jan L. Cahill 
Greenbrier County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 347 
Lewisburg, WV 24901 
(304) 647-6678

John P. Alkire 
Hampshire County Sheriff 
66 North High Street, Room 2 
Romney, WV 26757 
(304) 822-3894

Ralph A. Fletcher 
Hancock County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 458 
New Cumberland, WV 26047 
(304) 564-3911

Bryan C. Ward 
Hardy County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 643 
Moorefield, WV 26836 
(304) 530-0222

Albert F. Marano 
Harrison County Sheriff 
301 West Main Street 
Clarksburg, WV 26301 
(304) 624-8550

Anthony J. Boggs 
Jackson County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 106 
Ripley, WV 25271 
(304) 373-2290

Peter H. Dougherty 
Jefferson County Sheriff 
102 Industrial Boulevard 
Kearneysville, WV 25430 
(304) 728-3205

John Rutherford 
Kanawha County Sheriff 
301 Virginia Street, East 
Charleston, WV 25301 
(304) 357-0216

Adam M. Gissy 
Lewis County Sheriff 
110 Center Avenue 
Weston, WV 26452 
(304) 269-8251

Ken Farley 
Lincoln County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 467 
Hamlin, WV 25523 
(304) 824-7999

S.M. Dingess Porter 
Logan County Sheriff 
300 Stratton Street, Room 209 
Logan, WV 25601 
(304) 792-8590

Joseph N. Carpenter 
Marion County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 1348 
Fairmont, WV 26555 
(304) 367-5300

Kevin Cecil 
Marshall County Sheriff 
601 6th Street 
Moundsville, WV 26041 
(304) 843-1500

Greg Powers 
Mason County Sheriff 
200 6th Street 
Point Pleasant, WV 25550 
(304) 675-3838

Martin West 
McDowell County Sheriff 
90 Wyoming Street, Suite 117 
Welch, WV 24801 
(304) 436-8541
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Don Meadows 
Mercer County Sheriff 
1501 Main Street, Suite 120 
Princeton, WV 24740 
(304) 487-8303

Jeremy Taylor 
Mineral County Sheriff 
150 Armstrong Street 
Keyser, WV 26726 
(304) 788-0341

James Smith 
Mingo County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 1270 
Williamson, WV 25661 
(304) 235-0300

Allen Kisner 
Monongalia County Sheriff 
155 Chancery Row 
Morgantown, WV 26505 
(304) 291-7260

Michael Gravely 
Monroe County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 350 
Union, WV 24983 
(304) 772-3018

Vincent E. Shambough 
Morgan County Sheriff 
111 Fairfax Street 
Berkeley Springs, WV 25411 
(304) 258-1067

David P. Hopkins 
Nicholas County Sheriff 
700 Main Street, Suite 3 
Summersville, WV 26651 
(304) 872-7880

Patrick Butler 
Ohio County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 188 
Wheeling, WV 26003 
(304) 234-3784

Donald L. Hedrick 
Pendleton County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 687 
Franklin, WV 26807 
(304) 358-2214

D. Wayne Wilson II 
Pleasants County Sheriff 
305 Barkwill Street 
St. Marys, WV 26170 
(304) 684-2285

David R. Jonese 
Pocahontas County Sheriff 
900A Tenth Avenue 
Marlinton, WV 24954 
(304) 799-4445

Daniel R. Loughrie 
Preston County Sheriff 
103 W. Main Street 
Kingwood, WV 26537 
(304) 329-1611

Steve L. Deweese 
Putnam County Sheriff 
3389 Winfield Road 
Winfield, WV 25213 
(304) 586-0256

Steve Tanner 
Raleigh County Sheriff 
215 Main Street 
Beckley, WV 25801 
(304) 255-9195

Mark T. Brady 
Randolph County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 1338 
Elkins, WV 26241 
(304) 636-2100

Brian Backus 
Ritchie County Sheriff 
109 North Street 
Harrisville, WV 26362 
(304) 643-2262

Mike A. Harper 
Roane County Sheriff 
200 Main Street 
Spencer, WV 25276 
(304) 927-2540

Garry E. Wheeler 
Summers County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 157 
Hinton, WV 25951 
(304) 466-7111

Terring W. Skinner 
Taylor County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 189 
Grafton, WV 26354 
(304) 265-3428

Brian K. Wilfong 
Tucker County Sheriff 
318 Second Street 
Parsons, WV 26287 
(304) 478-2321

Earl P. Kendle, Jr. 
Tyler County Sheriff 
121 Court Street 
Middlebourne, WV 26149 
(304) 758-4229

David Coffman 
Upshur County Sheriff 
38 W. Main Street Rm 103 
Buckhannon, WV 26201 
(304) 472-1185

Greg Farley 
Wayne County Sheriff 
700 Hendricks Street 
Wayne, WV 25570 
(304) 272-6378

David Bender 
Webster County Sheriff 
2 Court Square, Rm. G-3 
Webster Springs, WV 26288 
(304) 847-2006

John Brookover 
Wetzel County Sheriff 
Post Office Drawer D 
New Martinsville, WV 26155 
(304) 455-2430

D. Keith Wilson, Jr. 
Wirt County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 669 
Elizabeth, WV 26143 
(304) 275-4222

Ken Merritt 
Wood County Sheriff 
328 Second Street 
Parkersburg, WV 26101 
(304) 424-1834

Randall Aliff 
Wyoming County Sheriff 
Post Office Box 529 
Pineville, WV 24874 
(304) 732-8000
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