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MESSAGE FROM THE OFFICE OF THE  

WEST VIRGINIA ATTORNEY GENERAL 
The Office of the Attorney General has prepared this booklet to assist West Virginians in learning about state 
concealed handgun laws, the states which recognize West Virginia concealed handgun licenses, and state firearm 
laws generally. 

The information provided in this handbook is current as of July 2017. As laws are subject to change, up-to-date 
information occurring after the publication date of this handbook is available on our website at www.wvago.gov. 

Please remember that handgun laws are not governed solely by West Virginia law. You must comply with any 
applicable federal, state, or local laws and regulations, not all of which are contained in this handbook. 

If you have any questions regarding this handbook, or state firearm laws in general, please contact the Office of the 

Attorney General at (304) 558-2021. 

CONSTITUTIONAL CARRY AND CONCEALED HANDGUN 

LICENSES 
In West Virginia, persons 21 years of age or older, who are not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a 
firearm, and who are United States citizens or legal residents thereof are authorized by law to carry a concealed 
weapon within the state without first obtaining a concealed handgun license (“CHL”). This authorization applies to 
all such persons regardless of his or her state of residence. This is commonly known as “constitutional carry” which 
indicates a form of permitless or unrestricted concealed carry of a deadly weapon. See W.Va. Code § 61-7-7(c). 

Although West Virginia is a constitutional carry state, an optional CHL may still be obtained by those persons who 
are residents of West Virginia and desire the benefit of obtaining such license as will be more fully explained herein. 
See W.Va. Code § 61-7-4. 

While generally prohibited from carrying a concealed weapon without a license or other authorization, qualified 
non-prohibited persons who are least 18 years of age and less than 21 years of age may obtain a provisional CHL, 
which is a separate class of concealed handgun license providing persons of this age a lawful means to carry 
concealed handguns. See W.Va. Code § 61-7-4a. 

These different types of optional and provisional licenses are more fully explained herein. 

IMPORTANT NOTE: West Virginia’s constitutional carry law applies only to persons physically in the State of 
West Virginia. It does NOT authorize you to carry a concealed weapon in another state without a license. You 
MUST obey all weapons laws of other states to which you travel, including all laws regarding licensing and 
prohibited places. 
  

http://www.wvago.gov/
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OPTIONAL CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSES 

Non-prohibited persons 21 years or older are not required to obtain a CHL in order to legally carry a concealed 
weapon in West Virginia. However, CHLs may be obtained by those persons wishing to also obtain the benefits of 
holding a CHL, which include, but are not limited to:  carrying a concealed firearm when traveling to other states 
that honor or recognize a valid West Virginia license; storing a handgun in a locked vehicle on the Capitol Complex; 
and carrying a concealed handgun in limited circumstances on some primary and secondary school grounds (see 
page 8 for more details on the restrictions on school grounds). An optional CHL is issued only for the concealed 
carry of pistols or revolvers. 

To obtain an optional CHL, you must submit an application to your county sheriff’s office, pay all applicable fees, and 
present proof of handgun safety training that must include live fire. The sheriff must issue the CHL to any applicant 
who satisfies each of these qualifications, so long as the applicant is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing a 
firearm. West Virginia’s concealed carry laws have no impact on your right to openly carry an unconcealed weapon. 
The law simply recognizes that persons 21 years of age or older who may lawfully possess a firearm may carry a deadly 
weapon in a concealed manner without a CHL.  

PROVISIONAL CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSES 

Qualified West Virginia residents 18 to 21 years of age who wish to carry a concealed handgun must, unless 
otherwise authorized by law, apply for and obtain a provisional CHL before doing so. 

The provisional CHL is issued for the concealed carry of a pistol or revolver only, and it does not allow or authorize 
the concealed carry of any other type of deadly weapons. To obtain a provisional CHL, you must submit a 
completed application to your county sheriff’s office, pay all applicable fees, and present proof of handgun safety 
training that must include live fire. If you satisfy each of the application qualifications, the sheriff of your county 
must issue the provisional license. 

It is important to note that, unlike persons 21 years of age or older, a person under the age of 21 who carries any deadly 
weapon without the lawful authorization to do so is guilty of a misdemeanor that is punishable by incarceration for 
up to one year and a fine of $100 to $1,000 for a first offense. A second conviction is a felony punishable by 
incarceration for not less than one nor more than five years and a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000. 
See W.Va. Code §§ 61-7-3, 61-7-6. 

Persons between the ages of 18 and 21 years in lawful possession of a firearm are not prohibited from carrying an 
unconcealed firearm (“open carry”) without a provisional license as long as the person obeys all other applicable 
laws and restrictions. Federal law prohibits federally-licensed dealers from transferring a handgun or handgun 
ammunition to a person between the ages of 18 and 21 years. For guidance on how to lawfully acquire a handgun, 
please refer to: https://www.atf.gov/questions-and-answers/qa/may-individual-between-ages-18-and-21-years-
age-acquire-handgun-unlicensed.  

CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE APPLICATION FEES 
In addition to completing an application, applicants for both optional and provisional CHLs must pay all required fees. 
The fee for an optional license application is $75.00 payable to the sheriff’s office and $25.00 to the West Virginia State 
Police for the criminal background check. For provisional CHLs, the fee is reduced to $25.00 payable to the sheriff’s 
office and $15.00 to the West Virginia State Police. A duplicate card, suitable for carrying in a wallet, will be provided to 
serve as proof of licensure. Although a CHL is issued by the county sheriff, it is a statewide permit.  
See W.Va. Code §§ 61-7-4, 61-7-4a. 

  

https://www.atf.gov/questions-and-answers/qa/may-individual-between-ages-18-and-21-years-age-acquire-handgun-unlicensed
https://www.atf.gov/questions-and-answers/qa/may-individual-between-ages-18-and-21-years-age-acquire-handgun-unlicensed
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CHL RECIPROCITY AND RECOGNITION 
“Reciprocity” of CHLs occurs when two states enter a written agreement to mutually permit their respective 
citizens to travel to the other state and lawfully carry a concealed handgun. If West Virginia has a written reciprocity 
agreement with another state, it means a West Virginia CHL will be honored as valid in that state, and that state’s 
CHLs will be honored as valid in West Virginia pursuant to the terms of the written agreement. 

“Recognition” of West Virginia CHLs means that another state will recognize a West Virginia CHL as valid in that state 
without the necessity of a written reciprocity agreement. This recognition may or may not be mutual; meaning CHLs 
from some states may not be recognized in West Virginia despite that state’s recognition of a West Virginia CHL. For 
mutual recognition to occur, the West Virginia Attorney General must receive an official notification from the Governor 
of the other state that West Virginia CHLs are recognized in that state. See W.Va. Code § 61-7-6a. 

As of this writing, of the states which recognize a West Virginia CHL, 16 of those states also recognize a provisional 
CHL. However, please check our website at www.wvago.gov for further updates. This office is currently seeking a 
determination with each state as to whether a provisional CHL will be honored or recognized in those states. There are 
certain states that allow anyone who can legally possess a firearm to carry a concealed firearm without a CHL 
subject to the restrictions defined in the respective state’s law, as well as local restrictions, regardless of that person’s 
state of residence. This is commonly referred to as “permitless concealed carry” or “constitutional carry.” Currently, 
those states that have adopted this framework are Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New 
Hampshire, Vermont, and West Virginia. Some of these states also recognize West Virginia CHLs, which may 
provide benefits to the licensee that are not available to persons carrying without a license. Idaho, North Dakota 
and Wyoming have different forms of resident-only permitless concealed carry law which allows only residents of 
the respective states to carry a concealed weapon without first obtaining a license. Please check with the proper 
state’s authority for more information prior to any attempt to carry a concealed handgun without a license in those 
states.  You can obtain up-to-date information on reciprocity and recognition of your West Virginia CHL by visiting 
our website at www.wvago.gov under the “Gun Reciprocity” tab. 
 
NOTE: When in another state it is very important to remember that all West Virginia citizens are subject to the laws 
of that other state, including any restrictions related to locations where firearms are prohibited or limited. Please check 
with law enforcement in the state or states in which you will be traveling, links for which are included on our website 
at www.wvago.gov. It is your responsibility to know the laws of the jurisdiction in which you are carrying a concealed 
deadly weapon. 

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
No license or registration is required for a non-prohibited person to own a handgun or other firearm, or to keep it 
in their home, place of business or on other real property. Anyone who carries a handgun whether with or without a 
CHL, or whether openly or concealed, remains subject to all applicable laws and restrictions, examples of which are 
set forth in this booklet. It is your responsibility to familiarize yourself with areas where firearms are prohibited or 
restricted by law. 

Federal law creates exemptions from state CHL laws for qualified active and retired law enforcement officers. 
Copies of those statutes regarding firearm laws can be found on our website at www.wvago.gov. 

West Virginia law sets forth more strict and/or additional punishments for firearms violations and crimes 
committed with the use of a firearm. Any person who is prohibited from possessing a firearm and who carries a 
concealed firearm will be subject to a separate and additional felony offense. See W.Va. Code § 61-7-7(d) and (e). 
Further, and in addition to any and all other offenses provided for under the law, any person who uses or presents a 
firearm while engaged in the commission of a felony is guilty of a separate and distinct felony offense. See W.Va. 
Code § 61-7-15a. 

http://www.wvago.gov/
http://www.wvago.gov/
http://www.wvago.gov/
http://www.wvago.gov/
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REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A CONCEALED  

HANDGUN LICENSE 
An applicant for an optional CHL must be at least 21 years of age. An applicant for a provisional CHL must 
be at least 18 years of age and less than 21 years of age. In addition to the application fees, applicants will be 
required to submit a complete application in writing, duly verified, which sets forth the following licensing 
requirements: 

 The applicant’s full name, date of birth, Social Security number, a description of the applicant’s 
physical features, the applicant’s place of birth, the applicant’s country of citizenship and, if the 
applicant is not a United States citizen, any alien or admission number issued by the United States 
Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement, and any basis, if applicable, for an exception to 
the prohibitions of 18 U. S. C. 922(g)(5)(B); 

 That, on the date the application is made, the applicant is a bona fide United States citizen or legal 
resident thereof and resident of this state and of the county in which the application is made and has a 
valid driver’s license or other state-issued photo identification showing the residence; 

 
 That the applicant is not addicted to alcohol, a controlled substance or a drug and is not an unlawful 

user thereof as evidenced by either of the following within the three years immediately prior to the 
application: 
(A) Residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism or alcohol detoxification or drug 

treatment; or 
(B) Two or more convictions for driving while under the influence or driving while impaired. 

 That the applicant has not been convicted of a felony unless the conviction has been expunged or set 
aside or the applicant’s civil rights have been restored or the applicant has been unconditionally 
pardoned for the offense; 

 That the applicant has not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence other than an offense 
set forth in subdivision (a)(7) of either W.Va. Code § 61-7-4 or 61-7-4a in the five years immediately 
preceding the application; 

 That the applicant has not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined 
in 18 U. S. C. 921(a)(33), or a misdemeanor offense of assault or battery either under W.Va. Code     
§ 61-2-28 or § 61-2-9 (b) or (c) in which the victim was a current or former spouse, current or former 
sexual or intimate partner, person with whom the defendant cohabits or has cohabited, a parent or 
guardian, the defendant’s child or ward or a member of the defendant’s household at the time of the 
offense, or a misdemeanor offense with similar essential elements in a jurisdiction other than this 
state; 

 That the applicant is not under indictment for a felony offense or is not currently serving a sentence 
of confinement, parole, probation or other court-ordered supervision imposed by a court of any 
jurisdiction or is the subject of an emergency or temporary domestic violence protective order or is 
the subject of a final domestic violence protective order entered by a court of any jurisdiction; 

 That the applicant has not been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed to 
a mental institution. If the applicant has been adjudicated mentally incompetent or involuntarily 
committed the applicant must provide a court order reflecting that the applicant is no longer under such 
disability and the applicant’s right to possess or receive a firearm has been restored; 
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 That the applicant is not prohibited under the provisions of W.Va. Code § 61-7-7 or federal law, 
including 18 U. S. C. 922(g) or (n), from receiving, possessing or transporting a firearm; 

 That the applicant has qualified under the minimum requirements set forth in subsection (d) of either 
W.Va. Code § 617-4 or § 61-7-4a for handling and firing the weapon; and 

 That the applicant authorizes the sheriff of the county, or his or her designee, to conduct an 
investigation relative to the information contained in the application. 

The sheriff will have 45 days from the date of application to act on the application, provided all required 
background checks have been completed. See W.Va. Code §§ 61-7-4(f), 61-7-4a(f). 

You may obtain a downloadable application for a West Virginia CHL by going to the Attorney General’s 

website at www.wvago.gov and clicking on the “Gun Reciprocity” link. 

INTERACTION BETWEEN VARIOUS STATE AND FEDERAL LAWS 
NOTE – It is your responsibility to know the laws of the jurisdiction in which you are carrying a concealed 
handgun. 

It is very important to remember that, when in another state, a West Virginia licensee is subject to the laws 
of that state, including those laws that relate to the locations where firearms are restricted or limited. 
Always check with law enforcement in the state or states in which you will be traveling to ensure 
compliance with the various concealed handgun requirements. You may find links to contact information 
for the relevant law enforcement officials of other states on our website at www.wvago. gov. 

A number of jurisdictions require licensees to inform law enforcement officials, during the course of a 
traffic stop that they are carrying a concealed weapon. 

State and federal firearm laws are regularly subject to change. To find the current state of the law, please 

check our website for up-to-date information on handgun reciprocity, mutual recognition, and other 

important legal developments at www.wvago. gov. 

  

http://www.wva-go.gov/
http://www.wvago.gov/
http://www.wvago.gov/
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LOCATIONS IN WEST VIRGINIA WHERE FIREARMS  

ARE FORBIDDEN OR RESTRICTED 

Except as noted, firearms, concealed or otherwise, are forbidden or restricted by law in the following 
locations in West Virginia: 

1. Federal government properties or other places where firearms are prohibited by federal 
law. This includes areas of restricted access in airports. 

2. Any real property where firearms are prohibited by the owner, lessee, or other person 
charged with the care, custody, and control of the property. See W.Va. Code § 61-7-14.1  

3. The State Capitol Complex. See W.Va. Code § 61-6-19(b).2  
4. Regional jails, detention facilities, or State Division of Corrections facilities. See W.Va. Code § 61-5-

8(c). 
5. County courthouses or any facility housing a court of this state. See W.Va. Code § 61-7-11a 
6. A school bus or any public primary or secondary education building, structure, facility or grounds 

including a vocational education building, structure, facility or grounds where secondary vocational 
education programs are conducted or at a school-sponsored function, or in or on a private primary 
or secondary education building, structure or facility unless such private institution has adopted 
written policies allowing for possession of firearms. See W.Va. Code § 61-7-11a.3  

7. Any building or area limited by municipal code.4  

1 While it is not a crime to carry a firearm onto property where firearms are otherwise prohibited by the owner, lessee 
or other person charged with care, custody and control thereof, refusal to relinquish the weapon or refusal to leave the 
premises upon request while in possession of a firearm or other deadly weapon is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 
one thousand dollars and/or up to six months in jail. There is no requirement in the law that such property be posted 
as a “no gun” area. W.Va. Code § 61-7-14 only applies to property where firearms are not otherwise prohibited by 
law. 

2 A person who holds a valid, current concealed weapons permit issued by a sheriff of this state or the appropriate 
authority of another jurisdiction may keep a firearm in his or her motor vehicle upon the State Capitol Complex, so 
long as the vehicle is locked and the weapon is out of normal view. 

3 This provision does not apply to: a person who, as otherwise permitted by the provisions of W.Va. Code § 61-7-1 et 
seq., possesses an unloaded firearm in a motor vehicle or leaves an unloaded firearm in a locked motor vehicle; or a 
person, twenty-one years old or older, who has a valid CHL possessing a concealed handgun while in a motor vehicle 
in a parking lot, traffic circle or other area of vehicular ingress or egress to a public school, provided that when he or 
she is occupying the vehicle the person stores the handgun out of view from persons outside the vehicle, or when he 
or she is not occupying the vehicle the person stores the handgun out of view from persons outside the vehicle, the 
vehicle is locked, and the handgun is in a locked trunk, glove box or other interior compartment, or in a locked 
container securely fixed to the vehicle. 

4 Municipalities may have further handgun restrictions in municipal code. Before carrying a weapon in a West Virginia 
municipality, it is recommended that you inquire as to such laws with the appropriate city attorney’s office. 
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FIREARMS IN STATE PARKS and OTHER STATE AREAS 
In addition to certain firearms in hunting related situations, self-defensive firearms are permitted by law in 
all state parks, state forests, state wildlife management areas and state rail trails as set forth below: 

1. A person may carry a handgun for self-defense who is not prohibited from possessing firearms 

under state or federal law; 

2. A person may carry a rifle or shotgun for self-defense who is not prohibited from possessing firearms 

under state or federal law. However, rifles or shotguns carried in state park, state forest, or state 

wildlife management area recreational facilities and on marked trails within state park or state forest 

borders must be carried in a case. 

Some state parks or other state areas may be located on property owned by the U.S. Corps of Engineers. With 
very limited hunting exceptions, all firearms are prohibited on Corps of Engineers property. For more 
information as to whether a particular area is owned by the Corps of Engineers, please visit their website at 
https://www.recreation.gov. For more information on carrying firearms in state parks, please contact the 
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources or visit their website at http://www.wvstateparks.com. 

IMPORTANT NOTE: 

When carrying a firearm, you must do so not only in compliance with the laws regarding restrictions of 
where you can carry the firearm. You must also comply with criminal laws governing the lawful means of 
how to carry the firearm. For example, it is unlawful for any person armed with a firearm or other deadly 
weapon, whether lawfully carried or not, to carry, brandish or use such a weapon in a way or manner to 
cause or threaten a breach of the peace. See W.Va. Code § 61-7-11. Not all criminal laws related to firearms 
are contained in this booklet. It is your responsibility to familiarize yourself with the lawful means of 
carrying a firearm. 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
Q: Is a CHL required to carry a concealed handgun in West Virginia? 
A: No. CHLs are optional, so long as the person is at least 21 years of age or older, is not prohibited by law 

from possessing a firearm, and is a United States citizen or legal resident thereof. However, persons 
between 18 and 21 years of age must obtain a provisional CHL in order to lawfully carry a concealed 
handgun without some other lawful authorization. Additional exemptions from the state’s licensing 
requirements are set forth in W.Va. Code § 61-7-6. 

Q: Is there any benefit to obtaining an optional CHL if I am not required to do so? 
A: Yes, a valid optional West Virginia CHL will allow you to lawfully carry a handgun in any state which 

honors or recognizes West Virginia CHLs. A valid optional West Virginia CHL also qualifies as an 
alternative to the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) background check when 
purchasing a firearm. Finally, persons with a valid West Virginia CHLs are permitted to possess a 
concealed firearm in a locked motor vehicle on the Capitol Complex, in certain municipal areas where a 
CHL is required and on certain school grounds. See page 8 for further restrictions on these areas. 

Q: Will my provisional CHL be recognized by other states? 
A: As of this writing, 16 states recognize a provisional CHL. This office continues to seek a 

determination with other states as to whether a provisional CHL will be honored or recognized in 
those states. For up-to-date information as to current recognition, please visit 
http://www.wvago.gov. 

 

https://www.recreation.gov/
http://www.wvstateparks.com/
http://www.wvago.gov/
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Q: How long is a CHL valid? 
A: Optional CHLs are valid for 5 years from the date of issuance, unless revoked prior to that, and are 

valid throughout the state. Provisional CHLs are valid throughout the state until the licensee turns 
21 years of age unless sooner revoked. 

Q: Can my CHL be revoked? 
A: Yes. Your license will be revoked if you violate or otherwise become unable to meet any of the 

licensing application requirements. You must immediately surrender your license to the issuing 
sheriff when you become ineligible for continued licensure. 

Q: What should I do if my CHL is lost or destroyed? 
A: You may obtain a duplicate or substitute license for a fee of $5.00 by filing a notarized statement 

with the issuing sheriff indicating that your license has been lost or destroyed. 

Q: How much does a CHL cost? 
A: For an optional CHL for persons 21 years of age or older, the cost is $75.00 and is paid to the 

sheriff at the time you apply. If your application is approved, you must pay an additional $25.00 
prior to issuance of the license for the State Police background check. For provisional CHLs, those 
fees are reduced to $25.00 to the sheriff and $15.00 to the State Police. 

Q: What are the training requirements to obtain a CHL? 
A: To apply for an optional or provisional CHL, you must present evidence that you have successfully 

completed one of the following training courses: 
1) Any official NRA handgun safety or training course; 
2) Any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by an official 

law enforcement organization, community college, junior college, college or private or public 
institution or organization or handgun training school utilizing instructors certified by the 
institution; 

3) Any handgun safety or training course or class conducted by a handgun instructor certified by 
the State or by the NRA; or 

4) For optional CHLs only, any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by any branch of 
the United States military, reserve or National Guard or proof of other handgun qualification 
received while serving in any branch of the United States military, reserve or National Guard. For 
provisional CHLs, any proof of current or former service in the United States armed forces, 
reserves or National Guard. An applicant must present a photocopy of a certificate of course 
completion, an affidavit from the instructor, or some other document which verifies successful 
completion of the required training course in order to obtain a CHL. The document must 
include the instructor’s name, signature and NRA or state instructor identification number, if 
applicable. 

Q: Is live fire of a handgun required for completion of my training? 
A: Yes. In order to satisfy the handgun safety and training course requirement, proof of actual live 

firing of ammunition by the applicant is required. 

Q: Do West Virginia CHLs qualify as an alternative to a NICS check under the Brady Law, 18 U.S.C. 
Section 922(t)? 

A: Optional CHLs issued on or after June 4, 2014 qualify as an alternative to a NICS Background Check. 
Provisional CHLs will not qualify, and will be clearly marked that the provisional CHL is not NICS 
exempt. See W.Va. Code § 61-7-4a(h). 
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Q: What do I do when my optional CHL has expired? 
A: If you wish to renew your optional CHL, you may apply to the sheriff in your county of residence 

and pay the applicable fees. Provided that all licensure requirements are met, the sheriff will issue a 
new license. The training course requirements are waived for renewal applicants who previously 
qualified. 

Q: Where can I apply for a CHL? 
A: You may apply at the sheriff’s office in your county of residence. 

Q: I acquired a CHL in my county of residence, but then I moved to another county in West Virginia. 
Do I need to obtain a new permit from the sheriff in my new county of residence? 

A: W.Va. Code § 61-7-4(l) states whenever any person after applying for and receiving a concealed weapon 
license, moves from the address named in the application to another county within the state, the license 
remains valid for the remainder of the five years unless the sheriff of the new county has determined that 
the person is no longer eligible for a concealed weapon license under this article, and the sheriff shall 
issue a new license bearing the person’s new address and the original expiration date for a fee not to 
exceed $5.00: Provided, That the licensee, within twenty days thereafter, notifies the sheriff in the new 
county of residence in writing of the old and new addresses. 

RELEVANT PROVISIONS OF WEST VIRGINIA LAW AS OF  

JULY 2017 

Provided for your reference below are notable firearm provisions and restrictions in the West Virginia Code, 
as amended through the 2017 Legislative Session. It is important to note that this handbook does not 
include all of the laws of West Virginia relevant to the regulation of firearms. If you have a particular 
question or issue, please contact your local law enforcement office or prosecuting attorney. 

W.Va. Constitution, Article III, Section 22 

A person has the right to keep and bear arms for the defense of self, family, home and state, and for lawful 
hunting and recreational use.  

§8-12-5a. Limitations upon municipalities’ power to restrict the purchase, possession, transfer, 
ownership, carrying, transport, sale and storage of certain weapons and ammunition. 

(a) Except as provided by the provisions of this section and the provisions of section five of this article, 
neither a municipality nor the governing body of any municipality may, by ordinance or otherwise, limit 
the right of any person to purchase, possess, transfer, own, carry, transport, sell or store any revolver, 
pistol, rifle or shotgun or any ammunition or ammunition components to be used therewith nor to so 
regulate the keeping of gunpowder so as to directly or indirectly prohibit the ownership of the 
ammunition in any manner inconsistent with or in conflict with state law. 

(b) For the purposes of this section: 
(1) "Municipally owned or operated building" means any building that is used for the business of the 

municipality, such as a courthouse, city hall, convention center, administrative building or other 
similar municipal building used for a municipal purpose permitted by state law: Provided, That 
"municipally owned or operated building" does not include a building owned by a municipality 
that is leased to a private entity where the municipality primarily serves as a property owner 
receiving rental payments. 

(2) “Municipally owned recreation facility” means any municipal swimming pool, recreation center, 
sports facility, facility housing an after-school program or other similar facility where children are 
regularly present. 
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(c) (1) A municipality may enact and enforce an ordinance or ordinances that prohibit or regulate the 
carrying or possessing of a firearm in municipally owned or operated buildings. 

(2) A municipality may enact and enforce an ordinance or ordinances that prohibit a person from 
carrying or possessing a firearm openly or that is not lawfully concealed in a municipally owned 
recreation facility: Provided, That a municipality may not prohibit a person with a valid concealed 
handgun permit from carrying an otherwise lawfully possessed firearm into a municipally owned 
recreation facility and securely storing the firearm out of view and access to others during their time at 
the municipally owned recreation facility. 

(3) A person may keep an otherwise lawfully possessed firearm in a motor vehicle in municipal 
public parking facilities if the vehicle is locked and the firearm is out of view. 

(4) A municipality may not prohibit or regulate the carrying or possessing of a firearm on 
municipally owned or operated property other than municipally owned or operated buildings and 
municipally owned recreation facilities pursuant to subdivisions (1) and (2) of this section: Provided, 
That a municipality may prohibit persons who do not have a valid concealed handgun license from 
carrying or possessing a firearm on municipally owned or operated property. 

(d) It shall be an absolute defense to an action for an alleged violation of an ordinance authorized by this 
section prohibiting or regulating the possession of a firearm that the person: (1) Upon being requested to 
do so, left the premises with the firearm or temporarily relinquished the firearm in response to being 
informed that his or her possession of the firearm was contrary to municipal ordinance; and (2) but 
for the municipal ordinance the person was lawfully in possession of the firearm. 

(e) Any municipality that enacts an ordinance regulating or prohibiting the carrying or possessing of a firearm 
pursuant to subsection (c) of this section shall prominently post a clear statement at each entrance to all 
applicable municipally owned or operated buildings or municipally owned recreation facilities setting 
forth the terms of the regulation or prohibition. 

(f) Redress for an alleged violation of this section may be sought through the provisions of chapter fifty-
three of this code, which may include the awarding of reasonable attorneys fees and costs. 

(g) Upon the effective date of this section, section fourteen, article seven, chapter sixty-one of this code is 
inapplicable to municipalities. For the purposes of that section, municipalities may not be considered a 
person charged with the care, custody and control of real property. 

(h) This section does not: 
(1) Impair the authority of any municipality, or the governing body thereof, to enact any ordinance or 

resolution respecting the power to arrest, convict and punish any individual under the provisions of 
subdivision (16), section five of this article or from enforcing any such ordinance or resolution; 

(2) Authorize municipalities to restrict the carrying or possessing of firearms, which are otherwise 
lawfully 
possessed, on public streets and sidewalks of the municipality: Provided, That whenever pedestrian or 
vehicular traffic is prohibited in an area of a municipality for the purpose of a temporary event of 
limited duration, not to exceed fourteen days, which is authorized by a municipality, a municipality may 
prohibit persons who do not have a valid concealed handgun license from possessing a firearm in 
the area where the event is held; or (3) Limit the authority of a municipality to restrict the 
commercial use of real estate in designated areas through planning or zoning ordinances. 

§15-5-19a. Possession of firearms during a declared state of emergency. 

(a) No person acting on behalf or under the authority of the state or a political subdivision of the state may do 
any of the following during any federal or state declared state of emergency: 
(1) Prohibit or restrict the otherwise lawful possession, use, carrying, transfer, transportation, storage or 

display of a firearm or ammunition; 
(2) Seize, confiscate, or authorize the seizure or confiscation of any otherwise lawfully-possessed firearm or 

ammunition unless: 

(A) The person acting on behalf of or under the authority of the state or political subdivision is: 
(i) Defending himself or another from an assault; or, 

(2) Arresting a person in actual possession of a firearm or ammunition for a violation of law; or, 
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(B) The firearm or ammunition is being seized or confiscated as evidence of a crime; or, 
(3) Require registration of any firearm or ammunition. 

(b) The prohibitions of subsection (a)(1) do not prohibit the state or an authorized state or local authority from ordering 
and enforcing an evacuation or general closure of businesses in the affected area during a declared state of 
emergency. 

(c) Any individual aggrieved by a violation of this section may seek relief in an action at law or in equity for 
redress against any person who subjects such individual, or causes such individual to be subjected, to an 
action prohibited by this section. 

(d) In addition to any other remedy at law or in equity, an individual aggrieved by the seizure or confiscation of a 
firearm or ammunition in violation of this section may bring an action for the return of such firearm or 
ammunition in the circuit court of the county in which that individual resides or in which such firearm or 
ammunition is located. 

(e) In any action or proceeding to enforce this section, the court shall award a prevailing plaintiff costs and 
reasonable attorney fees. 

§15-10-5. Federal officers’ peace-keeping authority. 

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, any person who is employed by the United States gov-
ernment as a federal law-enforcement officer and is listed in subsection (b) of this section, has the same authority 
to enforce the laws of this state, except state or local traffic laws or parking ordinances, as that authority granted to 
state or local law-enforcement officers, if one or more of the following circumstances exist: 
(1) The federal law-enforcement officer is requested to provide temporary assistance by the head of a state or 

local law-enforcement agency or the designee of the head of the agency and that request is within the state or 
local law-enforcement agency’s scope of authority and jurisdiction and is in writing: Provided, That the request 
does not need to be in writing if an emergency situation exists involving the imminent risk of loss of life or 
serious bodily injury; 

(2) The federal law-enforcement officer is requested by a state or local law-enforcement officer to 
provide the officer temporary assistance when the state or local law-enforcement officer is acting within 
the scope of the officer’s authority and jurisdiction and where exigent circumstances exist; or 

(3) A felony is committed in the federal law-enforcement officer’s presence or under circumstances 

indicating a felony has just occurred. 

(b) This section applies to the following persons who are employed as full-time federal law-enforcement officers 
by the United States government and who are authorized to carry firearms while performing their duties: 
(1) Federal Bureau of Investigation special agents; 
(2) Drug Enforcement Administration special agents; 
(3) United States Marshal’s Service marshals and deputy marshals; 
(4) United States postal service inspectors; 
(5) Internal revenue service special agents; 
(6) United States secret service special agents; 
(7) Bureau of alcohol, tobacco, and firearms special agents; 
(8) Police officers employed pursuant to 40 U.S.C. §§318 and 490 at the federal bureau of investigation’s criminal  

justice information services division facility located within this state; 
(9) Law enforcement commissioned rangers of the national park service; 
(10) Department of Veterans Affairs Police and Department of Veterans Affairs special investigators; 
(11) Office of Inspector General special agents; and 
(12) Federal Air Marshals with the Federal Air Marshal Service. 

(c) Any person acting under the authority granted pursuant to this section: 
(1) Has the same authority and is subject to the same exemptions and exceptions to this code as a 

state or local law-enforcement officer; 

(2) Is not an officer, employee, or agent of any state or local law-enforcement agency; 
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(3) May not initiate or conduct an independent investigation into an alleged violation of any 
provision of this code except to the extent necessary to preserve evidence or testimony at risk of 
loss immediately following an occurrence described in subdivision (3), subsection (a) of this 
section; 

(4) Is subject to 28 U.S.C. §1346, the Federal Tort Claims Act; and 
(5) Has the same immunities from liability as a state or local law-enforcement officer. 

§18-2-8a. Hunter safety orientation program. 

(a) The Legislature finds that: 
(6) Firearms and hunting are important parts of West Virginia’s history, culture and economy; 
(7) Unfortunately, the use of firearms while hunting or at any other time can be dangerous when the 

firearms are not handled in a careful and safe manner; and 
(8) Therefore, the opportunity of participating in a hunter safety orientation program should be 

offered to students in certain grades. 
(b) The State Board of Education shall, with the advice of the State Superintendent of Schools and the 

Director of the Division of Natural Resources, promulgate a rule in accordance with the provisions of 
article three-b, chapter twenty-nine-a of this code for the implementation of a hunter safety 
orientation program for use in the public schools of this state. The rule shall include at least the 
following provisions: 

(1) The hunter safety orientation program may be offered to students in any of the grade levels sixth 
through twelfth grades over a two-week period during the school year as part of physical 
education classes, or as part of the general curriculum offered to students in any of these grade 
levels, or at the end of the school day; 

(2) The hunter safety orientation program is voluntary to students and any student may choose not to 
participate in the program. If a student chooses not to participate in the program, he or she shall 
participate in another education activity; 

(3) The hunter safety orientation program shall include instruction relating to: 
(A) The protection of lives and property against loss or damage as a result of the improper 

use of firearms; and 
(B) The proper use of firearms in hunting, sport competition and the care and safety of 

firearms in the home; 
(4) The hunter safety orientation program may use materials prepared by any national nonprofit 

membership organization which has as one of its purposes the training of people in 
marksmanship and the safe handling and use of firearms; and 

(5) The hunter safety orientation program shall be conducted by an instructor certified by the 
Division of Natural Resources or who has other training necessary to conduct the program as 
determined by the state board. 

(c) The county superintendent may implement the hunter safety orientation program in accordance with the 
rule required by this section in each school in the county that includes any of grades six through twelve at 
which, in the sole judgement of the superintendent, sufficient student interest in program enrollment 
justifies the program offering and an appropriately certified instructor is available. 

(d) The Division of Natural Resources shall issue a certificate of training, required by section thirty-a, article two, 
chapter twenty of this code, to any student who completes the hunter safety orientation program. 

§20-2-5. Unlawful methods of hunting and fishing and other unlawful acts. [Relevant provisions only] 

 Except as authorized by the director or by law, it is unlawful at any time for any person to: 

(9) Carry an uncased or loaded firearm in the woods of this state or in state parks, state forests, state 
wildlife management areas or state rail trails with the following permissible exceptions: 
(A) A person in possession of a valid license or permit during open firearms hunting season for 

wild animals and nonmigratory wild birds where hunting is lawful; 
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(B) A person hunting or taking unprotected species of wild animals, wild birds and migratory wild 
birds during the open season, in the open fields, open water and open marshes of the state 
where hunting is lawful; 

(C) A person carrying a firearm pursuant to sections six and six-a of this article; 
(D) A person carrying a handgun for self-defense who is not prohibited from possessing firearms under 

state or federal law; or 
(E) A person carrying a rifle or shotgun for self-defense who is not prohibited from possessing firearms 

under state or federal law: Provided, That this exception does not apply to an uncased rifle or 
shotgun carried in state park, state forest, or state wildlife management area recreational facilities and 
on marked trails within state park or state forest borders. 

(10) Have in his or her possession a crossbow with a nocked bolt, or a rifle or shotgun with cartridges that 
have not been removed or a magazine that has not been detached, in or on any vehicle or conveyance, or 
its attachments. For the purposes of this section, a rifle or shotgun whose magazine readily detaches is 
considered unloaded if the magazine is detached and no cartridges remain in the rifle or shotgun itself. 
Except that between five o’clock post meridian of day one and seven o’clock ante meridian, Eastern 
Standard Time, of the following day, any unloaded firearm or crossbow may be carried only when in a case 
or taken apart and securely wrapped. During the period from July 1 to September 30, inclusive, of each 
year, the requirements relative to carrying unloaded firearms are permissible only from eight-thirty o’clock 
post meridian to five o’clock ante meridian, Eastern Standard Time: Provided, That the time periods for 
carrying unloaded and uncased firearms are extended for one hour after the post meridian times and one 
hour before the ante meridian times established in this subdivision, if a person is transporting or 
transferring the firearms to or from a hunting site, campsite, home or other abode[.] 

§ 20-2-30a. Certificate of training; falsifying, altering, forging, counterfeiting or uttering training 
certificate; penalties. 

(a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this article, no hunting license or stamp may be issued to any person who 
was born on or after the first day of January, one thousand nine hundred seventy-five, unless the person submits to 
the person authorized to issue hunting licenses a certificate of training as provided in this section or proof of 
completion of any course which promotes as a major objective safety in the handling of firearms and of bow and 
arrows and which course is approved by the hunter education association or the Director, or provides a State of 
West Virginia resident or nonresident hunting license from the previous hunting season that displays a certification 
of training, or attests that a hunter training course has been completed when purchasing a license or stamp online. 

(b) The Director shall establish a course in the safe handling of firearms and of bows and arrows, such as the 
course approved by the hunter education association. This course shall be given at least once per year in 
each county in this state and shall be taught by instructors certified by the Director. In establishing and 
conducting this course, the Director may cooperate with any reputable association or organization which 
promotes as a major objective safety in the handling of firearms and of bows and arrows: Provided, That 
any person holding a Class A-L or AB-L lifetime resident 13license obtained prior to his or her fifteenth 
birthday shall be required to obtain a certificate of training as provided in this section before hunting or 
trapping pursuant to said license. This course of instruction shall be offered without charge, except for 
materials or ammunition consumed. Upon satisfactory completion of the course, each person instructed 
in the course shall be issued a certificate of training for the purposes of complying with the requirements 
of subsection (a) of this section. The certificate shall be in the form prescribed by the Director and shall 
be valid for hunting license application purposes. 

(c) (1) Upon satisfactory completion of this course, any person whose hunting license has been 
revoked for a violation of the provisions of this chapter may petition the Director for a 
reduction of his or her revocation time. However, under no circumstances may the time be 
reduced to less than one year. 
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(2) Successful completion of this course shall be required to consider the reinstatement of a hunting 
license of any person whose license has been revoked due to a conviction for negligent shooting 
of a human being or of livestock under the provisions of section fifty-seven of this article, and 
who petitions the Director for an early reinstatement of his or her hunting privileges. Such a 
petitioner shall also comply with the other requirements for consideration of reinstatement 
contained in section thirty-eight of this article. 

(c) It is unlawful for any person to falsify, alter, forge, counterfeit or utter a certificate of training. Any 
person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon 
conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars nor more than one thousand 
dollars, or confined in jail for a period not to exceed one year, or both fined and imprisoned. 

(d) Nothing herein contained shall mandate that any county school district in the state be responsible 
for implementing hunter safety education programs. 

§20-2-58. Shooting across road or near building or crowd; penalty. 

(a) In addition to any other prohibitions which may exist by law, it shall be unlawful for any person to 
shoot or discharge any firearms: 

(1) Across or in any public road in this state, at any time; 
(2) Within five hundred feet of any school or church; or 
(3) Within five hundred feet of any dwelling house: Provided, That a person who is a resident of a 

dwelling house, and his or her authorized guest, may shoot or discharge a firearm in a lawful 
manner within five hundred feet of the dwelling house where the person lives, if the firearm is 
being discharged with the express or implied knowledge and consent of all residents of that 
dwelling house, and no other dwelling houses are located within five hundred feet of where the 
firearm is discharged; or 

(4) In any state, county or municipal park in areas of which the discharge of firearms is prohibited. 
(b) Any person violating this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined 
not less than 

$50 nor more than $500 or confined in jail for not more than one hundred days, or both fined and 
confined. 

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, any person operating a gun repair shop, 
licensed to do business in the State of West Virginia and duly licensed under applicable federal statutes, 
may be exempted from the prohibition established by this section and section twelve, article seven, 
chapter sixty-one of this code for the purpose of test firing a firearm. The director of the Division of 
Natural Resources shall prescribe such rules as may be necessary to carry out the purposes of the 
exemption under this section and section twelve, article seven, chapter sixty-one and shall ensure that any 
person residing in any dwelling home within five hundred feet of such gun repair shop be given an 
opportunity to protest the granting of such exemption. 

(d) The provisions of this section are not applicable to indoor shooting ranges the owner or operator of 
which holds all necessary and required licenses and the shooting range is in compliance with all 
applicable state, county, municipal laws, rules or ordinances regulating the design and operation of 
such facilities. 

§ 48-27-502. Mandatory provisions in protective order. (Domestic Violence) 

(a) A protective order must order the respondent to refrain from abusing, harassing, stalking, threatening or 
otherwise intimidating the petitioner or the minor children, or engaging in other conduct that would 
place the petitioner or the minor children in reasonable fear of bodily injury. The protective order 
must prohibit the respondent from possessing any firearm or ammunition. 

(b) The protective order must inform the respondent that he or she is prohibited from possessing any 
firearm or ammunition and that possession of a firearm or ammunition while subject to the court’s 
protective order is a criminal offense under state and federal law, notwithstanding the fact that the 
respondent might otherwise have a right to possess a firearm. 
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(c) The protective order must inform the respondent that the order is in full force in every county of this 
state. 

(d) The protective order must contain on its face the following statement, printed in bold-faced type or 
in capital letters: “VIOLATION OF THIS ORDER MAY BE PUNISHED BY CONFINEMENT 
IN A REGIONAL JAIL FOR AS LONG AS ONE YEAR AND BY A FINE OF AS MUCH AS 
$2,000”. 

§61-3B-3. Trespass on property other than structure or conveyance. 

(a) It is an unlawful trespass for any person to knowingly, and without being authorized, licensed or invited, to 
enter or remain on any property, other than a structure or conveyance, as to which notice against entering or 
remaining is either given by actual communication to such person or by posting, fencing or cultivation. 

(b) First offense conviction. — Upon a first trespassing conviction pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, 
the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500. 

(c) Second offense conviction. — Upon a second trespassing conviction pursuant to subsection (a) of this 
section, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000. 

(d) Third offense conviction. — Upon a third and subsequent trespassing conviction pursuant to subsection (a) of 
this section, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $1,500. 

(e) If the offender defies an order to leave, personally communicated to him or her by the owner, tenant or agent of 
such owner or tenant, or if the offender opens any door, fence or gate, and thereby exposes animals, crops or 
other property to waste, destruction or freedom, or causes any damage to property by such trespassing on 
property other than a structure or conveyance, he or she is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall 
be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500, confined in jail for not more than six months, or both fined and 
confined. 

(f) If the offender is armed with a firearm or other dangerous weapon with the unlawful and felonious intent to do 
bodily injury to a human being during his or her commission of the offense of trespass on property other than a 
structure or conveyance, such offender, notwithstanding section one, article seven, chapter sixty-one of this code, 
is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be confined in jail for not more than six months, fined not 
more than $100, or both confined and fined. 

(g) Notwithstanding and in addition to any other penalties provided by law, any person who performs or causes 
damage to property in the course of a willful trespass shall be liable to the property owner in the amount of twice 
the amount of such damage. However, this article shall not apply in a labor dispute. 

§ 61-7-2. Definitions. 

As used in this article, unless the context otherwise requires: 

(1) “Blackjack” means a short bludgeon consisting, at the striking end, of an encased piece of lead or some other heavy 
substance and, at the handle end, a strap or springy shaft which increases the force of impact when a person or 
object is struck. The term “blackjack” shall include, but not be limited to, a billy, billy club, sand club, sandbag or 
slapjack. 

(2) “Gravity knife” means any knife that has a blade released from the handle by the force of gravity or the 
application of centrifugal force and when so released is locked in place by means of a button, spring, lever 
or other locking or catching device. 

(3) “Knife” means an instrument, intended to be used or readily adaptable to be used as a weapon, consisting of a 
sharp-edged or sharp-pointed blade, usually made of steel, attached to a handle which is capable of inflicting 
cutting, stabbing or tearing wounds. The term “knife” shall include, but not be limited to, any dagger, dirk, 
poniard or stiletto, with a blade over three and one- half inches in length, any switchblade knife or gravity knife 
and any other instrument capable of inflicting cutting, stabbing or tearing wounds. A pocket knife with a blade 
three and one-half inches or less in length, a hunting or fishing knife carried for hunting, fishing, sports or other 
recreational uses or a knife designed for use as a tool or household implement shall not be included within the 
term “knife” as defined herein unless such knife is knowingly used or intended to be used to produce serious 
bodily injury or death. 
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(4) “Switchblade knife” means any knife having a spring- operated blade which opens automatically upon pressure 
being applied to a button, catch or other releasing device in its handle. 

(5) “Nunchuka” means a flailing instrument consisting of two or more rigid parts, connected by a chain, cable, rope 
or other nonrigid, flexible or springy material, constructed in such a manner as to allow the rigid parts to swing 
freely so that one rigid part may be used as a handle and the other rigid part may be used as the striking end. 

(6) “Metallic or false knuckles” means a set of finger rings attached to a transverse piece to be worn over the front of 
the hand for use as a weapon and constructed in such a manner that, when striking another person with the fist 
or closed hand, considerable physical damage may be inflicted upon the person struck. The terms “metallic or 
false knuckles” shall include any such instrument without reference to the metal or other substance or substances 
from which the metallic or false knuckles are made. 

(7) “Pistol” means a short firearm having a chamber which is integral with the barrel, designed to be aimed and 
fired by the use of a single hand. 

(8) “Revolver” means a short firearm having a cylinder of several chambers that are brought successively into 
line with the barrel to be discharged, designed to be aimed and fired by the use of a single hand. 

(9) “Deadly weapon” means an instrument which is designed to be used to produce serious bodily injury or death or 
is readily adaptable to such use. The term “deadly weapon” shall include, but not be limited to, the instruments 
defined in subdivisions (1) through (8), inclusive, of this section or other deadly weapons of like kind or character 
which may be easily concealed on or about the person. For the purposes of section one-a, article five, chapter 
eighteen-a of this code and section eleven-a, article seven of this chapter, in addition to the definition of “knife” 
set forth in subdivision (3) of this section, the term “deadly weapon” also includes any instrument included 
within the definition of “knife” with a blade of three and one-half inches or less in length. Additionally, for the 
purposes of section one-a, article five, chapter eighteen-a of this code and section eleven-a, article seven of this 
chapter, the term “deadly weapon” includes explosive, chemical, biological and radiological materials. 
Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the term “deadly weapon” does not include any item or 
material owned by the school or county board, intended for curricular use, and used by the student at the time of 
the alleged offense solely for curricular purposes. 

(10) “Concealed” means hidden from ordinary observation so as to prevent disclosure or recognition. A deadly 
weapon is concealed when it is carried on or about the person in such a manner that another person in the 
ordinary course of events would not be placed on notice that the deadly weapon was being carried. For purposes 
of concealed handgun licensees, a licensee shall be deemed to be carrying on or about his or her person while in 
or on a motor vehicle if the firearm is located in a storage area in or on the motor vehicle. 

(11) “Firearm” means any weapon which will expel a projectile by action of an explosion. 
(12) “Controlled substance” has the same meaning as is ascribed to that term in subsection (d), section one 

hundred one, article one, chapter sixty-a of this code. 
(13) “Drug” has the same meaning as is ascribed to that term in subsection (1), section one hundred one, article 

one, chapter sixty-a of this code. 

§61-7-3. Carrying a deadly weapon without provisional license or other authorization by persons under 
twenty-one years of age; penalties. 

(a) Any person under twenty-one years of age and not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms under section 
seven of this article who carries a concealed deadly weapon, without a state license or other lawful authorization 
established under the provisions of this code, is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be 
fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 and may be imprisoned in jail for not more than twelve months 
for the first offense; but upon conviction of a second or subsequent offense, he or she is guilty of a felony and, 
upon conviction thereof, shall be imprisoned in t a state correctional facility not less than one nor more than five 
years and fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000. 

(b) The prosecuting attorney in all cases shall ascertain whether or not the charge made by the grand jury is a first 
offense or is a second or subsequent offense and, if it is a second or subsequent offense, it shall be so stated in the 
indictment returned, and the prosecuting attorney shall introduce the record evidence before the trial court of such 
second or subsequent offense and may not be permitted to use discretion in introducing evidence to prove the 
same on the trial. 
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§61-7-4. License to carry deadly weapons; how obtained. 

(a)   Except as provided in subsection (h) of this section, any person desiring to obtain a state license to carry a 
concealed deadly weapon shall apply to the sheriff of his or her county for the license, and pay to the sheriff, at 
the time of application, a fee of $75, of which $15 of that amount shall be deposited in the Courthouse Facilities 
Improvement Fund created by section six, article twenty-six, chapter twenty-nine of this code. Concealed 
weapons license may only be issued for pistols and revolvers. Each applicant shall file with the sheriff a complete 
application, as prepared by the Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police, in writing, duly verified, which 
sets forth only the following licensing requirements: 

(1) The applicant’s full name, date of birth, Social Security number, a description of the applicant’s physical 
features, the applicant’s place of birth, the applicant’s country of citizenship and, if the applicant is not a 
United States citizen, any alien or admission number issued by the United States Bureau of Immigration 
and Customs Enforcement, and any basis, if applicable, for an exception to the prohibitions of 18 U. S. C. 
922(g) (5)(B); 

(2) That, on the date the application is made, the applicant is a bona fide United States citizen or legal 
resident thereof and resident of this state and of the county in which the application is made and has a 
valid driver’s license or other state-issued photo identification showing the residence; 

(3) That the applicant is twenty-one years of age or older; 
(4) That the applicant is not addicted to alcohol, a controlled substance or a drug and is not an unlawful user 

thereof as evidenced by either of the following within the three years immediately prior to the application: 
(A) Residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism or alcohol detoxification or drug treatment; or 
(B) Two or more convictions for driving while under the influence or driving while impaired; 

(5) That the applicant has not been convicted of a felony unless the conviction has been expunged or set 
aside or the applicant’s civil rights have been restored or the applicant has been unconditionally pardoned 
for the offense; 

(6) That the applicant has not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence other than an offense set 
forth in subdivision (7) of this section in the five years immediately preceding the application; 

(7) That the applicant has not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined in 18 U. S. 
C. ‘921(a)(33), or a misdemeanor offense of assault or battery either under section twenty-eight, article two of 
this chapter or subsection (b) or (c), section nine, article two of this chapter in which the victim was a current 
or former spouse, current or former sexual or intimate partner, person with whom the defendant cohabits or 
has cohabited, a parent or guardian, the defendant’s child or ward or a member of the defendant’s house hold 
at the time of the offense, or a misdemeanor offense with similar essential elements in a jurisdiction other than 
this state; 

(8) That the applicant is not under indictment for a felony offense or is not currently serving a sentence of 
confinement, parole, probation or other court-ordered supervision imposed by a court of any jurisdiction 
or is the subject of an emergency or temporary domestic violence protective order or is the subject of a 
final domestic violence protective order entered by a court of any jurisdiction; 

(9) That the applicant has not been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed to a mental 
institution. If the applicant has been adjudicated mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed the applicant 
must provide a court order reflecting that the applicant is no longer under such disability and the applicant’s 
right to possess or receive a firearm has been restored; 

(10) That the applicant is not prohibited under the provisions of section seven of this article or federal law, including 
18 U. S. C. 922(g) or (n), from receiving, possessing or transporting a firearm; That the applicant has qualified 
under the minimum requirements set forth in subsection (d) of this section for handling and firing the 
weapon: Provided, That this requirement shall be waived in the case of a renewal applicant who has 
previously qualified; and 

(11) That the applicant authorizes the sheriff of the county, or his or her designee, to conduct an investigation 
relative to the information contained in the application. 
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(b) For both initial and renewal applications, the sheriff shall conduct an investigation including a nationwide criminal 
background check consisting of inquiries of the National Instant Criminal Background Check System, the 
West Virginia criminal history record responses and the National Interstate Identification Index and shall 
review the information received in order to verify that the information required in subsection (a) of this section 
is true and correct. A license may not be issued unless the issuing sheriff has verified through the National 
Instant Criminal Background Check System that the information available to him or her does not indicate that 
receipt or possession of a firearm by the applicant would be in violation of the provisions of section seven of 
this article or federal law, including 18 U. S. C. 922(g) or (n). 

 (c) Sixty dollars of the application fee and any fees for replacement of lost or stolen licenses received by the sheriff 
shall be deposited by the sheriff into a concealed weapons license administration fund. The fund shall be 
administered by the sheriff and shall take the form of an interest-bearing account with any interest earned to be 
compounded to the fund. Any funds deposited in this concealed weapon license administration fund are to be 
expended by the sheriff to pay the costs associated with issuing concealed weapons licenses. Any surplus in the 
fund on hand at the end of each fiscal year may be expended for other law-enforcement purposes or operating 
needs of the sheriff’s office, as the sheriff considers appropriate. 

 (d) All persons applying for a license must complete a training course in handling and firing a handgun, which 
includes the actual live firing of ammunition by the applicant. The successful completion of any of the 
following courses fulfills this training requirement: Provided, that the completed course includes the actual 
live firing of ammunition by the applicant: 

(1) Any official National Rifle Association handgun safety or training course; 
(2) Any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by an official law-

enforcement organization, community college, junior college, college or private or public institution or 
organization or handgun training school utilizing instructors certified by the institution; 

(3) Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by a handgun instructor certified as such by 
the state or by the National Rifle Association; 

(4) Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by any branch of the United States military, 
reserve or National Guard or proof of other handgun qualification received while serving in any branch of 
the United States military, reserve or National Guard. A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of 
the courses or classes or an affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted 
or taught the course or class attesting to the successful completion of the course or class by the applicant or 
a copy of any document which shows successful completion of the course or class is evidence of 
qualification under this section and shall include the instructor’s name, signature and NRA or state 
instructor identification number, if applicable. 

 (e)        All concealed weapons license applications must be notarized by a notary public duly licensed under 
article four, chapter twenty-nine of this code. Falsification of any portion of the application constitutes false 
swearing and is punishable under section two, article five, chapter sixty-one of this code. 

 (f) The sheriff shall issue a license unless he or she determines that the application is incomplete, that it 
contains statements that are materially false or incorrect or that applicant otherwise does not meet the 
requirements set forth in this section. The sheriff shall issue, reissue or deny the license within forty-five 
days after the application is filed if all required background checks authorized by this section are completed. 

 (g) Before any approved license is issued or is effective, the applicant shall pay to the sheriff a fee in the 
amount of $25 which the sheriff shall forward to the Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police 
within thirty days of receipt. The license is valid for five years throughout the state, unless sooner 
revoked. 

 (h) Each license shall contain the full name and address of the licensee and a space upon which the 
signature of the licensee shall be signed with pen and ink. The issuing sheriff shall sign and attach his or 
her seal to all license cards. The sheriff shall provide to each new licensee a duplicate license card, in 
size similar to other state identification cards and licenses, suitable for carrying in a wallet, and the license 
card is considered a license for the purposes of this section. All duplicate license cards issued on or after July 
1, 2017, shall be uniform across all fifty-five counties in size, appearance and information and shall 
feature a photograph of the licensee. 
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(i)  The Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police, in cooperation with the West Virginia Sheriffs’ 
Bureau of Professional Standards, shall prepare uniform applications for licenses and license cards 
showing that the license has been granted and shall do any other act required to be done to protect the 
state and see to the enforcement of this section. 

 (j)   If an application is denied, the specific reasons for the denial shall be stated by the sheriff denying the 
application. Any person denied a license may file, in the circuit court of the county in which the application 
was made, a petition seeking review of the denial. The petition shall be filed within thirty days of the denial. 
The court shall then determine whether the applicant is entitled to the issuance of a license under the criteria 
set forth in this section. The applicant may be represented by counsel, but in no case is the court required to 
appoint counsel for an applicant. The final order of the court shall include the court’s findings of fact and 
conclusions of law. If the final order upholds the denial, the applicant may file an appeal in accordance with 
the Rules of Appellate Procedure of the Supreme Court of Appeals. If the findings of fact and conclusions 
of law of the court fail to uphold the denial, the applicant may be entitled to reasonable costs and 
attorney’s fees, payable by the sheriff’s office which issued the denial. 

 (k)  If a license is lost or destroyed, the person to whom the license was issued may obtain a duplicate or 
substitute license for a fee of $5 by filing a notarized statement with the sheriff indicating that the license has 
been lost or destroyed. 

 (l)  Whenever any person after applying for and receiving a concealed weapon license moves from the address 
named in the application to another county within the state, the license remains valid for the remainder of 
the five years unless the sheriff of the new county has determined that the person is no longer eligible for a 
concealed weapon license under this article, and the sheriff shall issue a new license bearing the person’s 
new address and the original expiration date for a fee not to exceed $5: Provided, That the licensee, within 
twenty days thereafter, notifies the sheriff in the new county of residence in writing of the old and new 
addresses. 

 (m) The sheriff shall, immediately after the license is granted as aforesaid, furnish the Superintendent of the 
West Virginia State Police a certified copy of the approved application. The sheriff shall furnish to the 

Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police at any time so requested a certified list of all licenses 
issued in the county. The Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police shall maintain a registry of all 
persons who have been issued concealed weapons licenses. 

 (n)  The sheriff shall deny any application or revoke any existing license upon determination that any of the 
licensing application requirements established in this section have been violated by the licensee. 

 (o)  A person who is engaged in the receipt, review or in the issuance or revocation of a concealed weapon 
license does not incur any civil liability as the result of the lawful performance of his or her duties under 
this article. 

 (p)        Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, with respect to application by a former law-enforcement 
officer honorably retired from agencies governed by article fourteen, chapter seven of this code; article 
fourteen, chapter eight of this code; article two, chapter fifteen of this code; and article seven, chapter 
twenty of this code, an honorably retired officer is exempt from payment of fees and costs as otherwise 
required by this section. All other application and background check requirements set forth in this 
section are applicable to these applicants. 

 (q)  Information collected under this section, including applications, supporting documents, permits, 
renewals or any other information that would identify an applicant for or holder of a concealed weapon 
license, is confidential: Provided: That this information may be disclosed to a law-enforcement agency 
or officer: (i) To determine the validity of a license; (ii) to assist in a criminal investigation or 
prosecution; or (iii) for other lawful law-enforcement purposes. A person who violates this subsection is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $50 or more than 
$200 for each offense. 

 (r)  A person who pays fees for training or application pursuant to this article after the effective date of this 
section is entitled to a tax credit equal to the amount actually paid for training not to exceed $50: 
Provided, That if such training was provided for free or for less than $50, then such tax credit may be 
applied to the fees associated with the initial application. 



 

22 

 

 (s)    Except as restricted or prohibited by the provisions of this article or as otherwise prohibited by law, the 
issuance of a concealed weapon license issued in accordance with the provisions of this section authorizes 
the holder of the license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver on the lands or waters of this state. 

§61-7-4a. Provisional license to carry deadly weapons; how obtained. 

(a) Any person who is at least eighteen years of age and less than twenty-one years of age who desires to obtain a state 
license to carry a concealed deadly weapon shall apply to the sheriff of his or her county for a provisional license, 
and pay to the sheriff, at the time of application, a fee of $25, of which $5 of that amount shall be deposited in 
the Courthouse Facilities Improvement Fund created by section six, article twenty-six, chapter twenty-nine of 
this code. Provisional licenses may only be issued for pistols or revolvers. Each applicant shall file with the sheriff 
a complete application, as prepared by the Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police, in writing, duly 
verified, which sets forth only the following licensing requirements: 
(1) The applicant’s full name, date of birth, Social Security number, a description of the applicant’s physical 

features, the applicant’s place of birth, the applicant’s country of citizenship and, if the applicant is not 
a United States citizen, any alien or admission number issued by the United States Bureau of 
Immigration and Customs Enforcement, and any basis, if applicable, for an exception to the 
prohibitions of 18 U. S. C. §922(g) (5)(B); 

(2) That, on the date the application is made, the applicant is a bona fide resident of this state and of the 
county in which the application is made and has a valid driver’s license or other state-issued photo 
identification showing the residence; 

(3) That the applicant is at least eighteen years of age and less than twenty-one years of age; 
(4) That the applicant is not addicted to alcohol, a controlled substance or a drug and is not an unlawful user 

thereof as evidenced by either of the following within the three years immediately prior to the application: 
(A) Residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism or alcohol detoxification or drug treatment; or 
(B)    Two or more convictions for driving while under the influence or driving while impaired; 

(5) That the applicant has not been convicted of a felony unless the conviction has been expunged or set 
aside, or the applicant’s civil rights have been restored or the applicant has been unconditionally 
pardoned for the offense; 

(6) That the applicant has not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence other than an offense 
set forth in subdivision (7) of this section within five years immediately preceding the application; 

(7) That the applicant has not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined in 18 U. 
S. C. §921(a)(33), or a misdemeanor offense of assault or battery under either section twenty-eight, article 
two of this chapter or subsection (b) or (c), section nine, article two of this chapter in which the victim was a 
current or former spouse, current or former sexual or intimate partner, person with whom the defendant 
cohabits or has cohabited, a parent or guardian, the defendant’s child or ward or a member of the 
defendant’s household at the time of the offense, or a misdemeanor offense with similar essential elements 
in a jurisdiction other than this state; 

(8) That the applicant is not under indictment for a felony offense or is not currently serving a sentence of 
confinement, parole, probation or other court-ordered supervision imposed by a court of any 
jurisdiction, or is the subject of an emergency or temporary domestic violence protective order or is the 
subject of a final domestic violence protective order entered by a court of any jurisdiction; 

(9) That the applicant has not been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed to a 
mental institution. If the applicant has been adjudicated mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed, 
the applicant must provide a court order reflecting that the applicant is no longer under such disability and 
the applicant’s right to possess or receive a firearm has been restored; 

(10) That the applicant is not prohibited under section seven of this article or federal law, including 18 U. S. 
C. §922(g) or (n), from receiving, possessing or transporting a firearm; 

(11) That the applicant has qualified under the minimum requirements set forth in subsection (d) of this 
section for handling and firing the weapon; 

(12) That the applicant authorizes the sheriff of the county, or his or her designee, to conduct an 
investigation relative to the information contained in the application. 
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(b) For provisional license applications, the sheriff shall conduct an investigation including a nationwide criminal 
background check consisting of inquiries of the National Instant Criminal Background Check System, the 
West Virginia criminal history record responses and the National Interstate Identification Index, and shall 
review the information received in order to verify that the information required in subsection (a) of this 
section is true and correct. A provisional license may not be issued unless the issuing sheriff has verified 
through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System that the information available does not 
indicate that receipt of or possession of a firearm by the applicant would be in violation of the provisions of 
section seven of this article or federal law, including 18 U. S. C. §922(g) or (n). 

(c) Twenty dollars of the application fee and any fees for replacement of lost or stolen provisional licenses 
received by the sheriff shall be deposited by the sheriff into a concealed weapons license administration 
fund. The fund shall be administered by the sheriff and shall take the form of an interest-bearing account 
with any interest earned to be compounded to the fund. Any funds deposited in said fund are to be 
expended by the sheriff to pay the costs associated with issuing concealed weapons provisional licenses. Any 
surplus in the fund on hand at the end of each fiscal year may be expended for other law-enforcement 
purposes or operating needs of the sheriff’s office, as the sheriff considers appropriate. 

(d) All persons applying for a provisional license must complete a training course in handling and firing a 
handgun, which includes the actual live firing of ammunition by the applicant. The successful completion of 
any of the following courses fulfills this training requirement: Provided, that the completed course included 
the actual live firing of ammunition by the applicant: 

(1) Any official National Rifle Association handgun safety or training course; 
(2) Any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by an 

official law-enforcement organization, community college, junior college, college, or private 
or public institution, or organization or handgun training school utilizing instructors 
certified by the institution; 

(3) Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by a handgun instructor certified 
as such by the state or by the National Rifle Association; 

(4) Any proof of current or former service in the United States armed forces, armed forces 
reserves or National Guard. A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the 
courses or classes or an affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group 
that conducted or taught the course or class attesting to the successful completion of the 
course or class by the applicant, or a copy of any document which shows successful 
completion of the course or class, is evidence of qualification under this section. 
Certificates, affidavits or other documents submitted to show completion of a course or 
class shall include instructor information and proof of instructor certification, including, if 
applicable, the instructor’s NRA instructor certification number. 

(e) All provisional license applications must be notarized by a notary public duly licensed under article four, 
chapter twenty-nine of this code. Falsification of any portion of the application constitutes false swearing 
and is punishable under section two, article five of this chapter. 

(f) The sheriff shall issue a provisional license unless the sheriff determines that the application is incomplete, 
that it contains statements that are materially false or incorrect or that applicant otherwise does not meet the 
requirements set forth in this section. The sheriff shall issue, reissue or deny the license within forty-five 
days after the application is filed once all required background checks authorized by this section are 
completed. 

(g) Before any approved license is issued or is effective, the applicant shall pay to the sheriff a fee in the amount 
of $15 which the sheriff shall forward to the Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police within thirty 
days of receipt. The provisional license is valid until the licensee turns twenty-one years of age, unless 
sooner revoked. 
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(h) Each provisional license shall contain the full name and address of the licensee and a space upon which the 
signature of the licensee shall be signed with pen and ink. The issuing sheriff shall sign and attach his or her 
seal to all provisional license cards. The sheriff shall provide to each new licensee a duplicate license card, in 
size similar to other state identification cards and licenses, suitable for carrying in a wallet, and the license card 
is considered a license for the purposes of this section. Duplicate license cards issued shall be uniform across 
all fifty-five counties in size, appearance and information and must feature a photograph of the licensee. The 
provisional license shall be readily distinguishable from a license issued pursuant to section four of this article 
and shall state: “NOT NICS EXEMPT. This license confers the same rights and privileges to carry a 
concealed pistol or revolver on the lands or waters of this state as a license issued pursuant to section four, 
article seven, chapter sixty-one of this code, except that this license does not satisfy the requirements of 18 U. 
S. C. §922(t)(3). A NICS check must be performed prior to purchase of a firearm from a federally licensed 
firearm dealer.” 

(i) The Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police, in coordination with the West Virginia Sheriffs’ Bureau 
of Professional Standards, shall prepare uniform applications for provisional licenses and license cards 
showing that the license has been granted and shall perform any other act required to protect the state and to 
enforce of section. 

(j) If an application is denied, the specific reasons for the denial shall be stated by the sheriff denying the 
application. Any person denied a provisional license may file, in the circuit court of the county in which the 
application was made, a petition seeking review of the denial. The petition shall be filed within thirty days of 
the denial. The court shall then determine whether the applicant is entitled to the issuance of a provisional 
license under the criteria set forth in this section. The applicant may be represented by counsel, but in no case 
is the court required to appoint counsel for an applicant. The final order of the court shall include the court’s 
findings of fact and conclusions of law. If the final order upholds the denial, the applicant may file an appeal 
in accordance with the Rules of Appellate Procedure of the Supreme Court of Appeals. If the findings of 
fact and conclusions of law of the court fail to uphold the denial, the applicant may be entitled to reasonable 
costs and attorney’s fees, payable by the sheriff’s office which issued the denial. 

(k) If a provisional license is lost or destroyed, the person to whom the license was issued may obtain a duplicate 
or substitute license for a fee of $5 by filing a notarized statement with the sheriff indicating that the license 
has been lost or destroyed. 

(l) Whenever any person after applying for and receiving a provisional concealed weapon license moves from 
the address named in the application to another county within the state, the license remains valid until the 
licensee turns twenty-one years of age unless the sheriff of the new county has determined that the person is 
no longer eligible for a provisional concealed weapon license under this article, and the sheriff shall issue a 
new provisional license bearing the person’s new address and the original expiration date for a fee not to 
exceed $5: Provided, That the licensee within twenty days thereafter notifies the sheriff in the new county of 
residence in writing of the old and new addresses. 

(m) The sheriff shall, immediately after the provisional license is granted, furnish the Superintendent of the West 
Virginia State Police a certified copy of the approved application. The sheriff shall furnish to the 
Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police, at any time so requested, a certified list of all provisional 
licenses issued in the county. The Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police shall maintain a registry 
of all persons who have been issued provisional concealed weapon licenses. 

(n) The sheriff shall deny any application or revoke any existing provisional license upon determination that any 
of the licensing application requirements established in this section have been violated by the licensee. 

(o) A person who is engaged in the receipt, review or in the issuance or revocation of a concealed weapon 
provisional license does not incur any civil liability as the result of the lawful performance of his or her 
duties under this article. 

(p) Information collected under this section, including applications, supporting documents, permits, renewals, or 
any other information that would identify an applicant for or holder of a concealed weapon provisional 
license, is confidential: Provided. That this information may be disclosed to a law enforcement agency or 
officer: (i) to determine the validity of a provisional license; (ii) to assist in a criminal investigation or 
prosecution; or (iii) for other lawful law-enforcement purposes. A person who violates this subsection is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $50 or more than $200 
for each offense. 
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(q) Except as restricted or prohibited by the provisions of this article or as otherwise prohibited by law, the 
issuance of a provisional concealed weapon license issued in accordance with the provisions of this section 
authorizes the holder of the license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver on the lands or waters of this 
state. 
 

§61-7-6. Exceptions as to prohibitions against carrying concealed handguns for persons at least eighteen 
years of age and fewer than twenty-one years of age; exemptions from licensing fees. 

(a) The provisions in section three of this article do not apply to any person at least eighteen years of 
age and fewer than twenty-one years of age who is: 

(1) Carrying a deadly weapon upon his or her own premises; 
(2) Carrying a firearm, unloaded, from the place of purchase to his or her home, residence or 

place of business or to a place of repair and back to his or her home, residence or place of 
business; or 

(3) Possessing a firearm while hunting in a lawful manner or while traveling from his or her home, 
residence or place of business to a hunting site and returning to his or her home, residence or 
place of business; 

(4) A member of a properly organized target-shooting club authorized by law to obtain firearms by 
purchase or requisition from this state or from the United States for the purpose of target practice 
from carrying any pistol, as defined in this article, unloaded, from his or her home, residence or 
place of business to a place of target practice and from any place of target practice back to his or 
her home, residence or place of business, for using any such weapon at a place of target practice 
in training and improving his or her skill in the use of the weapons; 

(5) A law-enforcement officer or law-enforcement official or chief executive as defined in 
section one, article twenty-nine, chapter thirty of this code; 

(6) An employee of the West Virginia Division of Corrections duly appointed pursuant to 
section eleven-c, article one, chapter twenty-five of this code while the employee is on duty; 

(7) A member of the United States armed forces, reserve or National Guard; 
(8) A resident of another state who holds a valid permit or license to possess or carry a handgun issued 

by a state or a political subdivision subject to the provisions and limitations set forth in section six-a 
of this article; 

(9) A federal law-enforcement officer or federal police officer authorized to carry a weapon in 
the performance of the officer’s duty; and 

(10) A parole officer appointed pursuant to section fourteen, article twelve, chapter sixty-two of 
this code in the performance of his or her duties. 

(b) The following judicial officers and prosecutors and staff are exempt from paying any application 
fees or licensure fees required under this article. However, they shall make application and satisfy all 
licensure and handgun safety and training requirements to obtain a license as set forth in section 
four of this article: 

(1) Any justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia; 
(2) Any circuit judge; 
(3) Any retired justice or retired circuit judge designated senior status by the Supreme Court of 

Appeals of West Virginia; 
(4) Any family court judge; 
(5) Any magistrate; 
(6) Any prosecuting attorney; 
(7) Any assistant prosecuting attorney; or 
(8) Any duly appointed investigator employed by a prosecuting attorney. 
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§61-7-6a. Reciprocity and recognition; out-of-state concealed handgun permits. 

(a) A valid out-of-state permit or license to possess or carry a handgun is valid in this state for the 
carrying of a concealed handgun, if the following conditions are met:  

(1) The permit or license holder is twenty-one years of age or older; 
(2) The permit or license is in his or her immediate possession; 
(3) The permit or license holder is not a resident of the State of West Virginia; and, 
(4) The Attorney General has been notified by the Governor of the other state that the other 

state allows residents of West Virginia who are licensed in West Virginia to carry a concealed 
handgun to carry a concealed handgun in that state or the Attorney General has entered into 
a written reciprocity agreement with the appropriate official of the other state whereby the 
state agrees to honor West Virginia concealed handgun licenses in return for same treatment 
in this state. 

(b) A holder of a valid permit or license from another state who is authorized to carry a concealed 
handgun in this state pursuant to provisions of this section is subject to the same laws and 
restrictions with respect to carrying a concealed handgun as a resident of West Virginia who is so 
permitted and must carry the concealed handgun in compliance with the laws of this state. 

(c) A license or permit from another state is not valid in this state if the holder is or becomes prohibited 
by law from possessing a firearm. 

(d) The West Virginia Attorney General shall seek to obtain recognition of West Virginia concealed 
handgun licenses and enter into and execute reciprocity agreements on behalf of the State of West 
Virginia with states for the recognition of concealed handgun permits issued pursuant to this article. 

(e) The West Virginia State Police shall maintain a registry of states with which the State of West Virginia has 
entered into reciprocity agreements or which recognize West Virginia concealed handgun licenses on the 
criminal information network and make the registry available to law-enforcement officers for 
investigative purposes. 

(f) Every twelve months after the effective date of this section, the West Virginia Attorney General shall 
make written inquiry of the concealed handgun licensing or permitting authorities in each other state 
as to: 
(i) Whether a West Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun in their state based upon 

having a valid West Virginia concealed handgun permit; and 
(ii) Whether a West Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun in that state based upon 

having a valid West Virginia concealed handgun permit, pursuant to the laws of that state or 
by the execution of a valid reciprocity agreement between the states. 

(g) The West Virginia State Police shall make available to the public a list of states which have entered into 
reciprocity agreements with the State of West Virginia or that allow residents of West Virginia who are 
licensed in West Virginia to carry a concealed handgun to carry a concealed handgun in that state. 

§61-7-7. Persons prohibited from possessing firearms; classifications; right of nonprohibited persons over 
twenty-one years of age to carry concealed deadly weapons; offenses and penalties; reinstatement of rights 
to possess; offenses; penalties. 

(a)  Except as provided in this section, no person shall possess a firearm, as such is defined in section two of 
this article, who: 

(1) Has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one 
year; 

(2) Is habitually addicted to alcohol; 
(3) Is an unlawful user of or habitually addicted to any controlled substance; 
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(4) Has been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or who has been involuntarily committed to a 
mental institution pursuant to the provisions of chapter twenty-seven of this code or in similar 
law of another jurisdiction: Provided, That once an individual has been adjudicated as a mental 
defective or involuntarily committed to a mental institution, he or she shall be duly notified that 
they are to immediately surrender any firearms in their ownership or possession: Provided, 
however, That the mental hygiene commissioner or circuit judge shall first make a determination 
of the appropriate public or private individual or entity to act as conservator for the surrendered 
property; 

(5) Is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States; 
(6) Has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions; 
(7) Is subject to a domestic violence protective order that: 

(A) Was issued after a hearing of which such person received actual notice and at which 
such person had an opportunity to participate; 

(B) Restrains such person from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate partner of 
such person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct 
that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner 
or child; and 

(C) (i) Includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical 
safety of such intimate partner or child; or 
(ii) By its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use or threatened use of 
physical force against such intimate partner or child that would reasonably be 
expected to cause bodily injury; or 

(8) Has been convicted of a misdemeanor offense of assault or battery either under the provisions of 
section twenty-eight, article two of this chapter or the provisions of subsection (b) or (c), section 
nine of said article or a federal or state statute with the same essential elements in which the victim 
was a current or former spouse, current or former sexual or intimate partner, person with whom 
the defendant has a child in common, person with whom the defendant cohabits or has 
cohabited, a parent or guardian, the defendant’s child or ward or a member of the defendant’s 
household at the time of the offense or has been convicted in any court of any jurisdiction of a 
comparable misdemeanor crime of domestic violence. Any person who violates the provisions 
of this subsection shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined 
not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or confined in the county jail for not less than ninety 
days nor more than one year, or both. 

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, any person: 
(1) Who has been convicted in this state or any other jurisdiction of a felony crime of violence against the 

person of another or of a felony sexual offense; or 
(2) Who has been convicted in this state or any other jurisdiction of a felony controlled substance offense 

involving a Schedule I controlled substance other than marijuana, a Schedule II or a Schedule III controlled 
substance as such are defined in sections two hundred four, two hundred five and two hundred six, article 
two, chapter sixty-a of this code and who possesses a firearm as such is defined in section two of this article 
shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in a state correctional facility for 
not more than five years or fined not more than $5,000, or both. The provisions of subsection (f) of this 
section shall not apply to persons convicted of offenses referred to in this subsection or to persons 
convicted of a violation of this subsection. 

(c) Any person may carry a concealed deadly weapon without a license therefor who is: 
(1) At least twenty-one years of age; 
(2) A United States citizen or legal resident thereof; 
(3) Not prohibited from possessing a firearm under the provisions of this section; and 
(4) Not prohibited from possessing a firearm under the provisions of 18 U. S. C. §922(g) or (n). 
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(d) As a separate and additional offense to the offense provided for in subsection (a) of this section, and in addition to 
any other offenses outlined in this code, and except as provided by subsection (e) of this section, any person 
prohibited by subsection (a) of this section from possessing a firearm who carries a concealed firearm is guilty of a 
felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in a state correctional facility for not more than three years or 
fined not more than $5,000, or both. 

(e) As a separate and additional offense to the offense described in subsection (b) of this section, and in additional to any 
other offenses outlined in this code, any person prohibited by subsection (b) of this section from possessing a 
firearm who carries a concealed firearm is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in a state 
correctional facility for not more than ten years or fined not more than $10,000, or both. 

(f) Any person prohibited from possessing a firearm by the provisions of subsection (a) of this section may petition the 
circuit court of the county in which he or she resides to regain the ability to possess a firearm and if the court finds by 
clear and convincing evidence that the person is competent and capable of exercising the responsibility concomitant 
with the possession of a firearm, the court may enter an order allowing the person to possess a firearm if such posses-
sion would not violate any federal law: Provided, That a person prohibited from possessing a firearm by the provisions 
of subdivision (4), subsection (a) of this section may petition to regain the ability to possess a firearm in accordance 
with the provisions of section five, article seven-a of this chapter. 

(g) Any person who has been convicted of an offense which disqualifies him or her from possessing a firearm by virtue of 
a criminal conviction whose conviction was expunged or set aside or who subsequent thereto receives an 
unconditional pardon for said offense shall not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by the provisions of the 
section. 

 
§ 61-7-8. Possession of deadly weapons by minors; prohibitions. 

Notwithstanding any other provision of this article to the contrary, a person under the age of eighteen years who is not 
married or otherwise emancipated shall not possess or carry concealed or openly any deadly weapon: Provided, That a 
minor may possess a firearm upon premises owned by said minor or his family or on the premises of another with the 
permission of his or her parent or guardian and in the case of property other than his or her own or that of his family, 
with the permission of the owner or lessee of such property: Provided, however, That nothing in this section shall 
prohibit a minor from possessing a firearm while hunting in a lawful manner or while traveling from a place where he or 
she may lawfully possess a deadly weapon, to a hunting site, and returning to a place where he or she may lawfully 
possess such weapon. 

A violation of this section by a person under the age of eighteen years shall subject the child to the jurisdiction of 
the circuit court under the provisions of article five, chapter forty-nine of this code, and such minor may be 
proceeded against in the same manner as if he or she had committed an act which if committed by an adult would 
be a crime, and may be adjudicated delinquent. 

§ 61-7-11. Brandishing deadly weapons; threatening or causing breach of the peace; criminal penalties. 

It shall be unlawful for any person armed with a firearm or other deadly weapon, whether licensed to carry the same or 
not, to carry, brandish or use such weapon in a way or manner to cause, or threaten, a breach of the peace. Any person 
violating this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than fifty nor 
more than one thousand dollars, or shall be confined in the county jail not less than ninety days nor more than one year, 
or both. 
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§61-7-11a. Possessing deadly weapons on premises of educational facilities; reports by school principals; 
suspension of driver’s license; possessing deadly weapons on premises housing courts of law and family law 
courts. 

(a) The Legislature finds that the safety and welfare of the citizens of this state are inextricably dependent upon 
assurances of safety for children attending and persons employed by schools in this state and for persons employed 
by the judicial department of this state. It is for the purpose of providing assurances of safety that subsections (b), 
(g) and (h) of this section and paragraph (I), subdivision (2), subsection (b) of this section are enacted as a 
reasonable regulation of the manner in which citizens may exercise the rights accorded to them pursuant to section 
twenty-two, article three of the Constitution of the State of West Virginia. 

(b )  
(1) It is unlawful for a person to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon on a school bus as defined in 

section one, article one, chapter seventeen-a of this code or in or on a public primary or secondary 
education building, structure, facility or grounds including a vocational education building, structure, 
facility or grounds where secondary vocational education programs are conducted or at a school-
sponsored function, or in or on a private primary or secondary education building, structure or facility: 
Provided, That it shall not be unlawful to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon on or in a private 
primary or secondary education building, structure or facility when such institution has adopted written 
policies allowing for possession of firearms on or in the institution’s buildings, structures or facilities. 

(2) This subsection does not apply to: 
(A)  A law-enforcement officer employed by a federal, state, county or municipal law- enforcement 

agency; 
(B)  Any probation officer appointed pursuant to section five, article twelve, chapter sixty-two or 

chapter forty-nine of this code in the performance of his or her duties; 
(C) A retired law-enforcement officer who: 

(i) Is employed by a state, county or municipal law-enforcement agency; 
(ii) Is covered for liability purposes by his or her employer; 
(iii)   Is authorized by a county board of education and the school principal to serve as security 

for a school; 
(iv)   Meets all the requirements to carry a firearm as a qualified retired law-enforcement 

officer under the Law-Enforcement Officer Safety Act of 2004, as amended, pursuant 
to 18 U. S. C. §926C©; and 

(v) Meets all of the requirements for handling and using a firearm established by his or her 
employer and has qualified with his or her firearm to those requirements; 

(D)  A person specifically authorized by the board of education of the county or principal of the 
school where the property is located to conduct programs with valid educational purposes; A 
person who, as otherwise permitted by the provisions of this article, possesses an unloaded 
firearm or deadly weapon in a motor vehicle or leaves an unloaded firearm or deadly weapon 
in a locked motor vehicle; 

(E) Programs or raffles conducted with the approval of the county board of education or school 
which include the display of unloaded firearms; 

(F) The official mascot of West Virginia University, commonly known as the Mountaineer, acting in 
his or her official capacity; 

(G) The official mascot of Parkersburg South High School, commonly known as the Patriot, 
acting in his or her official capacity; or 

(H) Any person, twenty-one years old or older, who has a valid concealed handgun permit may 
possess a concealed handgun while in a motor vehicle in a parking lot, traffic circle or other 
areas of vehicular ingress or egress to a public school: Provided, That: 
(i) when he or she is occupying the vehicle the person stores the handgun out of view from 

persons outside the vehicle; or 
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(ii) when he or she is not occupying the vehicle the person stores the handgun out of 
view from persons outside the vehicle, the vehicle is locked, and the handgun is in a 
locked trunk, glove box or other interior compartment, or in a locked container 
securely fixed to the vehicle. 

(3) A person violating this subsection is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be 
imprisoned in a state correctional facility for a definite term of years of not less than two years 
nor more than ten years, or fined not more than $5,000, or both fined and imprisoned. 

(c) A school principal subject to the authority of the State Board of Education who discovers a violation of 
subsection (b) of this section shall report the violation as soon as possible to: 

(1)  The State Superintendent of Schools. The State Board of Education shall keep and maintain 
these reports and may prescribe rules establishing policy and procedures for making and 
delivering the reports as required by this subsection; and 

(2)    The appropriate local office of the State Police, county sheriff or municipal police agency. 
(d) In addition to the methods of disposition provided by article five, chapter forty-nine of this code, a court which 

adjudicates a person who is fourteen years of age or older as delinquent for a violation of subsection (b) of this 
section may order the Division of Motor Vehicles to suspend a driver’s license or instruction permit issued to the 
person for a period of time as the court considers appropriate, not to extend beyond the person’s nineteenth 
birthday. If the person has not been issued a driver’s license or instruction permit by this state, a court may order the 
Division of Motor Vehicles to deny the person’s application for a license or permit for a period of time as the court 
considers appropriate, not to extend beyond the person’s nineteenth birthday. A suspension ordered by the court 
pursuant to this subsection is effective upon the date of entry of the order. Where the court orders the suspension 
of a driver’s license or instruction permit pursuant to this subsection, the court shall confiscate any driver’s license 
or instruction permit in the adjudicated person’s possession and forward to the Division of Motor Vehicles. 

(e)        (1) If a person eighteen years of age or older is convicted of violating subsection (b) of this section and if the 
person does not act to appeal the conviction within the time periods described in subdivision (2) of this 
subsection, the per-son’s license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this state shall be revoked in 
accordance with the provisions of this section. 

(2) The clerk of the court in which the person is convicted as described in subdivision (1) of this subsection shall 
forward to the commissioner a transcript of the judgment of conviction. If the conviction is the judgment of a 
magistrate court, the magistrate court clerk shall forward the transcript when the person convicted has not 
requested an appeal within twenty days of the sentencing for the conviction. If the conviction is the judgment of 
a circuit court, the circuit clerk shall forward a transcript of the judgment of conviction when the person 
convicted has not filed a notice of intent to file a petition for appeal or writ of error within thirty days after the 
judgment was entered. 

(3) If, upon examination of the transcript of the judgment of conviction, the commissioner determines that the 
person was convicted as described in subdivision (1) of this subsection, the commissioner shall make and enter 
an order revoking the person’s license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this state for a period of one 
year or, in the event the person is a student enrolled in a secondary school, for a period of one year or until the 
person’s twentieth birthday, whichever is the greater period. The order shall contain the reasons for the 
revocation and the revocation period. The order of suspension shall advise the person that because of the 
receipt of the court’s transcript, a presumption exists that the person named in the order of suspension is the 
same person named in the transcript. The commissioner may grant an administrative hearing which substantially 
complies with the requirements of the provisions of section two, article five-a, chapter seventeen-c of this code 
upon a preliminary showing that a possibility exists that the person named in the notice of conviction is not the 
same person whose license is being suspended. 

The request for hearing shall be made within ten days after receipt of a copy of the order of suspension. 
The sole purpose of this hearing is for the person requesting the hearing to present evidence that he or 
she is not the person named in the notice. If the commissioner grants an administrative hearing, the 
commissioner shall stay the license suspension pending the commissioner’s order resulting from the 
hearing. 

(4) For the purposes of this subsection, a person is convicted when he or she enters a plea of guilty or is 
found guilty by a court or jury. 
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(f)         (1) It is unlawful for a parent, guardian or custodian of a person less than eighteen years of age who knows that 
the person is in violation of subsection (b) of this section or has reasonable cause to believe that the person’s 
violation of subsection (b) is imminent to fail to immediately report his or her knowledge or belief to the 
appropriate school or law-enforcement officials. 

(2) A person violating this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be 
fined not more than $1,000, or shall be confined in jail not more than one year, or both fined and 
confined. 

(g)       (1) It is unlawful for a person to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon on the premises of a court of 
law, including family courts. 

(2) This subsection does not apply to: 
(A) A law-enforcement officer acting in his or her official capacity; and 
(B) A person exempted from the provisions of this subsection by order of record entered by a court 

with jurisdiction over the premises or offices. 
(3) A person violating this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be 

fined not more than $1,000, or shall be confined in jail not more than one year, or both fined and 
confined. 

(h)       (1) It is unlawful for a person to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon on the premises of a court of 
law, including family courts, with the intent to commit a crime. 

(2) A person violating this subsection is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be imprisoned 
in a state correctional facility for a definite term of years of not less than two years nor more than ten 
years, or fined not more than $5,000, or both fined and imprisoned. 

(i) Nothing in this section may be construed to be in conflict with the provisions of federal law. 

§ 61-7-12. Wanton endangerment involving a firearm. 

Any person who wantonly performs any act with a firearm which creates a substantial risk of death or 
serious bodily injury to another shall be guilty of a felony, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in 
the 
penitentiary for a definite term of years of not less than one year nor more than five years, or, in the 
discretion of the court, confined in the county jail for not more than one year, or fined not less than two 
hundred fifty dollars nor more than two thousand five hundred dollars, or both. 

For purposes of this section, the term “firearm” shall have the same meaning ascribed to such term as set 
forth in section two of this article. 

§ 61-7-14. Right of certain persons to limit possession of firearms on premises. 

Notwithstanding the provisions of this article, any owner, lessee or other person charged with the care, custody and 
control of real property may prohibit the carrying openly or concealing of any firearm or deadly weapon on 
property under his or her domain: Provided, That for purposes of this section “person” means an individual or any 
entity which may acquire title to real property. 

Any person carrying or possessing a firearm or other deadly weapon on the property of another who refuses to 
temporarily relinquish possession of the firearm or other deadly weapon, upon being requested to do so, or to 
leave the premises, while in possession of the firearm or other deadly weapon, is guilty of a misdemeanor and, 
upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $1,000 or confined in jail not more than six months, or 
both: Provided, That the provisions of this section do not apply to a person as set forth in subdivisions (3) 
through (7), inclusive, subsection (a), section six of this article while the person is acting in an official capacity; 
and to a person as set forth in subdivisions (1) through (8), inclusive, subsection (b) of said section, while the 
person is acting in his or her official capacity: Provided, however, That under no circumstances, except as 
provided for by the provisions of paragraph (I), subdivision (2), subsection (b), section eleven-a of this article, 
may any person possess or carry or cause the possession or carrying of any firearm or other deadly weapon on 
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the premises of any primary or secondary educational facility in this state unless the person is a law-
enforcement officer or he or she has the express written permission of the county school superintendent. 

Selected Provisions of Federal Law 

Included for your reference below are select federal firearm laws, updated as of the publication of this handbook 
(July 2017). 
The listed federal statutes are not exhaustive, but rather highlight important restrictions and/or provisions 
that currently exist at the federal level. 

18 U.S.C. § 922. Unlawful Acts (Selected Excerpts) 

[Relating to the sale or disposition of firearms or ammunition] 

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to sell or otherwise dispose of any firearm or ammunition to any 
person knowing or having reasonable cause to believe that such person— 

(1) is under indictment for, or has been convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by 
imprisonment for a term exceeding one year; 

(2) is a fugitive from justice; 
(3) is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the 

Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802)); 

(4) has been adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to any mental institution; 
(5) who, being an alien— 

(A) is illegally or unlawfully in the United States; or (B) except as provided in subsection (y)(2), 
has been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa (as that term is defined 
in section 101(a)(26) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(26))); 

(6) who [2] has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions; 
(7) who, having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his citizenship; 
(8) is subject to a court order that restrains such person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an 

intimate partner of such person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other 
conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or 
child, except that this paragraph shall only apply to a court order that— 

(A) was issued after a hearing of which such person received actual notice, and at which such person had 
the opportunity to participate; and 

(C)   
(i) includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical safety of such 

intimate partner or child; or 

(ii) by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force against 
such intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily injury; or 
(9) has been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence. This subsection 

shall not apply with respect to the sale or disposition of a firearm or ammunition to a licensed 
importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer, or licensed collector who pursuant to subsection 
(b) of section 925 of this chapter is not precluded from dealing in firearms or ammunition, or to a 
person who has been granted relief from disabilities pursuant to subsection (c) of section 925 of 
this chapter. 

[Relating to the shipment or transportation of firearms or ammunition]  
(g) It shall be unlawful for any person – 
(1) who has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one 

year; 
(2) who is a fugitive from justice; 
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(3) who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the 
Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802)); 

(4) who has been adjudicated as a mental defective or who has been committed to a mental institution; 
(5) who, being an alien – 

(A) is illegally or unlawfully in the United States; or 

(B) except as provided in subsection (y)(2), has been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant 
visa (as that term is defined in section 101(a)(26) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. 
1101(a)(26)); 
(6) who has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions; 
(7) who, having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his citizenship; 
(8) who is subject to a court order that – 

(A) was issued after a hearing of which such person received actual notice, and at which 
such person had an opportunity to participate; 

(B) restrains such person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of such 
person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that 
would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child; 
and 

(C) (i) includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical 
safety of such inti mate partner or child; or 
(ii) by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical 
force against such intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause 
bodily injury; or 

(9) who has been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, to ship or 
transport in interstate or foreign commerce, or possess in or affecting commerce, any firearm or 
ammunition; or to receive any firearm or ammunition which has been shipped or transported in 
interstate or foreign commerce. 

18 U.S.C. § 926A. Interstate transportation of firearms 

Notwithstanding any other provision of any law or any rule or regulation of a State or any political subdivision 
thereof, any person who is not otherwise prohibited by this chapter from transporting, shipping, or receiving a 
firearm shall be entitled to transport a firearm for any lawful purpose from any place where he may lawfully 
possess and carry such firearm to any other place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm if, during 
such transportation the firearm is unloaded, and neither the firearm nor any ammunition being transported is 
readily accessible or is directly accessible from the passenger compartment of such transporting vehicle: 
Provided, That in the case of a vehicle without a compartment separate from the driver’s compartment the 
firearm or ammunition shall be contained in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console. 

18 U.S.C. § 926B. Carrying of concealed firearms by qualified law enforcement officers 
(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of the law of any State or any political subdivision thereof, an 

individual who is a qualified law enforcement officer and who is carrying the identification required 
by subsection (d) may carry a concealed firearm that has been shipped or transported in interstate or 
foreign commerce, subject to subsection  

(b) his section shall not be construed to supersede or limit the laws of any State that– 
(1) permit private persons or entities to prohibit or restrict the possession of concealed firearms on 

their property; or 
(2) prohibit or restrict the possession of firearms on any State or local government property, 

installation, building, base, or park. 
(c) As used in this section, the term “qualified law enforcement officer” means an employee of a 

governmental agency who – 
(1) is authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation, or 

prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for, any violation of law, and has statutory 
powers of arrest; 
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(2) is authorized by the agency to carry a firearm; 
(3) is not the subject of any disciplinary action by the agency which could result in suspension or 

loss of police powers; 
(4) meets standards, if any, established by the agency which require the employee to regularly 

qualify in the use of a firearm; 
(5) is not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance; 

and 
(6) is not prohibited by Federal law from receiving a firearm. 

(d) The identification required by this subsection is the photographic identification issued by the 
governmental agency for which the individual is employed as a law enforcement officer. 

(e) As used in this section, the term “firearm” – 
(1) except as provided in this subsection, has the same meaning as in section 921 of this title; 

(2) includes ammunition not expressly prohibited by Federal law or subject to the provisions of 
the National Firearms Act; and (3) does not include--  

(A) any machine gun (as defined in section 5845 of the National Firearms Act); 
(B) any firearm silencer (as defined in section 921 of this title); and 
(C) any destructive device (as defined in section 921 of this title). 

(f) For the purposes of this section, a law enforcement officer of the Amtrak Police Department, a law 
enforcement officer of the Federal Reserve, or a law enforcement or police officer of the executive branch 
of the Federal Government qualifies as an employee of a governmental agency who is authorized by law 
to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation, or prosecution of, or the incarceration of 
any person for, any violation of law, and has statutory powers of arrest. 

18 U.S.C. § 926C. Carrying of concealed firearms by qualified retired law enforcement officers 

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of the law of any State or any political subdivision thereof, an 
individual who is a qualified retired law enforcement officer and who is carrying the identification required 
by subsection (d) may carry a concealed firearm that has been shipped or transported in interstate or 
foreign commerce, subject to subsection (b). 

(b) This section shall not be construed to supersede or limit the laws of any State that – 
(1) permit private persons or entities to prohibit or restrict the possession of concealed firearms on 
their property; or 
(2) prohibit or restrict the possession of firearms on any State or local government property, 
installation, building, base, or park. 

(c) As used in this section, the term “qualified retired law enforcement officer” means an individual who – 
(1) separated from service in good standing from service with a public agency as a law enforcement 
officer; 
(2) before such separation, was authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, 
investigation, or prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for, any violation of law, and had 
statutory powers of arrest; (3)(A) before such separation, served as a law enforcement officer for an 
aggregate of 10 years or more; or (B) separated from service with such agency, after completing any 
applicable probationary period of such service, due to a service-connected disability, as determined by 
such agency; 
(4) during the most recent 12-month period, has met, at the expense of the individual, the standards 
for qualification in firearms training for active law enforcement officers, as determined by the former 
agency of the individual, the State in which the individual resides or, if the State has not established 
such standards, either a law enforcement agency within the State in which the individual resides or the 
standards used by a certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test 
for active duty officers within that State; 
(5)(A) has not been officially found by a qualified medical professional employed by the agency to be 
unqualified for reasons relating to mental health and as a result of this finding will not be issued the 
photographic identification as described in subsection (d)(1); or 
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(B) has not entered into an agreement with the agency from which the individual is separating from 
service in which that individual acknowledges he or she is not qualified under this section for reasons 
relating to mental health and for those reasons will not receive or accept the photographic identification 
as described in subsection (d)(1); 
(6) is not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance; 
and 
(7) is not prohibited by Federal law from receiving a firearm. 

(d) The identification required by this subsection is – 
(1) a photographic identification issued by the agency from which the individual separated from 
service as a law enforcement officer that indicates that the individual has, not less recently than one 
year before the date the individual is carrying the concealed firearm, been tested or otherwise found by 
the agency to meet the active duty standards for qualification in firearms training as established by the 
agency to carry a firearm of the same type as the concealed firearm; or 
(2)(A) a photographic identification issued by the agency from which the individual separated 
from service as a law enforcement officer; and 
(B) a certification issued by the State in which the individual resides or by a certified firearms 

instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within 
that State that indicates that the individual has, not less than 1 year before the date the 
individual is carrying the concealed firearm, been tested or otherwise found by the State or a 
certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active 
duty officers within that State to have met – 

(I) the active duty standards for qualification in firearms training, as established by the State, to 
carry a firearm of the same type as the concealed firearm; or  

(II) if the State has not established such standards, standards set by any law enforcement agency 
within that State to carry a firearm of the same type as the concealed firearm. 

(e) As used in this section – 
(1) the term “firearm” – 

(A) except as provided in this paragraph, has the same meaning as in section 921 of this title; 
(B) includes ammunition not expressly prohibited by Federal law or subject to the provisions 
of the National Firearms Act; and 
(C) does not include – 

(i) any machine gun (as defined in section 5845 of the National Firearms Act); 
(iii) any firearm silencer (as defined in section 921 of this title); and 
(iv) any destructive device (as defined in section 921 of this title); and 

(2) the term “service with a public agency as a law enforcement officer” includes service as a law 
enforcement officer of the Amtrak Police Department, service as a law enforcement officer of the 
Federal Reserve, or service as a law enforcement or police officer of the executive branch of the Federal 
Government. 



 

36 

 

Barbour County Sheriff 
Philip Ferguson 
26 N. Main St., Ste. 1 
Philippi, WV 26416 
304-457-2881 

Gilmer County Sheriff 
Larry Gerwig 
10 Howard St. 
Glenville, WV 26351 
304-462-7441 

Lewis County Sheriff 
Adam M. Gissy 
117 Court Ave. 
Weston, WV 26452 
304-269-8251 

Berkeley County Sheriff 
Curtis Keller 
510 S. Raleigh St. 
Martinsburg, WV 25401 
304-264-1982 

Grant County Sheriff 
Brian Ours 
5 Highland Ave. 
Petersburg, WV 26847 
304-257-1818 

Lincoln County Sheriff 
Gary “Butch” Linville 
P.O.Box 467 
Hamlin, WV 25523 
304-824-7999 ext. 227 

Boone County Sheriff 
Randall White 
206 Court St. 
Madison, WV 25130 
304-369-7342 

Greenbrier County Sheriff 
Bruce Sloan 
P.O. Box 347 
Lewisburg, WV 24901 
304-647-6634 

Logan County Sheriff 
S.M. Dingess Porter 
300 Stratton St., Rm. 209 
Logan, WV 25601 
304-792-8590 

Braxton County Sheriff 
Eddie Williams 
P.O. Box 546 
Sutton, WV 26601 
304-765-2838 

Hampshire County Sheriff 
John P. Alkire 
66 N. High St., Rm. 2 
Romney, WV 26757 
304-822-3894 

Marion County Sheriff 
James C. Riffle 
316 Monroe St. 
Fairmont, WV 26554 
304-367-5300 

Brooke County Sheriff 
Larry C. Palmer, Jr. 
300 Courthouse Sq. 
Wellsburg, WV 26070 
304-737-3660 

Hancock County Sheriff 
Ralph A. Fletcher 
P.O. Box 458 
New Cumberland, WV 26047 
304-564-3911 

Marshall County Sheriff 
Kevin Cecil 
601 Seventh St. 
Moundsville, WV 26041 
304-843-1400 

Cabell County Sheriff 
Charles “Chuck” Zerkle 
750 Fifth Ave., Rm. 101 
Huntington, WV 25701 
304-526-8663 

Hardy County Sheriff 
Bryan C. Ward 
206 Washington St. 
Moorefield, WV 26836 
304-530-0220 

Mason County Sheriff 
Greg Powers 
525 Main St. 
Point Pleasant, WV 25550 
304-675-3838 

Calhoun County Sheriff 
Jeff Starcher 
P.O. Box 340 
Grantsville, WV 26147 
304-354-6333 

Harrison County Sheriff 
Robert Matheny 
301 W. Main St. 
Clarksburg, WV 26301 
304-624-8550 

McDowell County Sheriff 
Martin West 
90 Wyoming St., Ste. 117 
Welch, WV 24801 
304-436-8523 

Clay County Sheriff 
Donny Triplett 
P.O. Box 429 
Clay, WV 25043 
304-587-4260 

Jackson County Sheriff 
Anthony Boggs 
P.O. Box 106 
Ripley, WV 25271 
304-373-2280 

Mercer County Sheriff 
Tommy T.A. Bailey 
1501 W. Main St., Ste. 31 
Princeton, WV 24740 
304-487-8364/304-487-8384 

Doddridge County Sheriff 
Michael Headley 
P.O. Box 219 
West Union, WV 26456 
304-873-1944 

Jefferson County Sheriff 
Peter Dougherty 
102 Industrial Blvd. 
Kearneysville, WV 25430 
304-728-3205 

Mineral County Sheriff 
Jeremy Taylor 
100 East St. 
Keyser, WV 26726 
304-788-0341 ext. 270 

Fayette County Sheriff 
Mike Fridley 
P.O. Box 509 
Fayetteville, WV 25840 
304-574-4216 

Kanawha County Sheriff 
Mike Rutherford 
301 Virginia St. E. 
Charleston, WV 25301 
304-357-0216 

Mingo County Sheriff 
James Smith 
P.O. Box 1270 
Williamson, WV 25661 
304-235-0300 
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Monongalia County Sheriff 
Perry Palmer 
116 Walnut St. 
Morgantown, WV 26505 
304-291-7260 

Raleigh County Sheriff 
Scott Van Meter 
215 Main St. 
Beckley, WV 25801 
304-255-9300 

Webster County Sheriff 
David Cutlip 
2 Court Square, Rm. G-3 
Webster Springs, WV 26288 
304-847-2006 

Monroe County Sheriff 
Sean Crosier 
P.O. Box 350 
Union, WV 24983 
304-772-3018 

Randolph County Sheriff 
Mark T. Brady 
32 Randolph Ave., Ste. 201 
Elkins, WV 26241 
304-636-2111 

Wetzel County Sheriff 
Mike Koontz 
P.O. Drawer D 
New Martinsville, WV 26155 
304-455-2430 

Morgan County Sheriff 
Kim “K.C.” Bohrer 
111 Fairfax St. 
Berkeley Springs, WV 25411 
304-258-1067 

Ritchie County Sheriff 
Terry Snodgrass 
109 North St. 
Harrisville, WV 26362 
304-643-2262 

Wirt County Sheriff 
Travis Corbitt 
P.O. Box 669 
Elizabeth, WV 26143 
304-275-4222 

Nicholas County Sheriff 
William F. Nunley 
700 Main St., Ste. 3 
Summersville, WV 26651 
304-872-7880 

Roane County Sheriff 
Todd Cole 
200 Main St. 
Spencer, WV 25276 
304-927-2540/304-927-3410 

Wood County Sheriff 
Steve Stephens 
401 Second St. 
Parkersburg, WV 26101 
304-424-1834 

Ohio County Sheriff 
Tom Howard 
51 16th St. 
Wheeling, WV 26003 
304-234-3792 

Summers County Sheriff 
Garry E. Wheeler 
123 Temple St. 
Hinton, WV 25951 
304-466-7111 

Wyoming County Sheriff 
C.S. “Sherrill” Parker 
P.O. Box 529 
Pineville, WV 24874 
304-732-8000 

Pendleton County Sheriff 
Donald L. Hedrick 
P.O. Box 687 
Franklin, WV 26807 
304-358-2214 

Taylor County Sheriff 
Terry A. Austin 
214 W. Main St. 
Grafton, WV 26354 
304-265-3428 

 

Pleasants County Sheriff 
D. Wayne Wilson II 
305 Barkwill St. 
St. Marys, WV 26170 
304-684-2285 

Tucker County Sheriff 
Brian K. Wilfong 
215 First St. 
Parsons, WV 26287 
304-478-2321 

 

Pocahontas County Sheriff 
Jeff Barlow 
900 Jail Ln. 
Marlinton, WV 24954 
304-799-4445 

Tyler County Sheriff 
Brian M Weigle 
P.O. Box 7 
Middlebourne, WV 26149 
304-758-4229 

 

Preston County Sheriff 
Daniel Loughrie 
103 W. Main St. 
Kingwood, WV 26537 
304-329-1611 

Upshur County Sheriff 
David Coffman 
38 W. Main St., Rm. 103 
Buckhannon, WV 26201 
304-472-1180 

 

Putnam County Sheriff 
Steve L. Deweese 
236 Courthouse Dr., Ste. 8 
Winfield, WV 25213 
304-586-0256 opt. 1 

Wayne County Sheriff 
Rick Thompson 
700 Hendricks St. 
Wayne, WV 25570 
304-272-6378 

 

 


