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Message from the Office of the
West Virginia Attorney General

The Office of  the Attorney General has prepared this booklet to assist 
West Virginians in learning about state concealed handgun laws and the 
other states that recognize your West Virginia concealed handgun license.

Please remember that firearm laws are not governed solely by West        
Virginia law. You must comply with any applicable federal, state, or local 
laws and regulations, not all of  which are contained in this handbook.  
When traveling to another state, you must be sure to comply with the     
applicable firearm laws of  that state.

Both optional concealed handgun licenses and mandatory provisional   
concealed handgun licenses referenced herein are issued by the sheriff ’s  
office in your county of  residence.  A list of  those offices is contained 
herein.

The information provided in this handbook is subject to changes in state 
law.  You can always find up-to-date information occurring after the     
publication date of  this handbook on our website (www.wvago.gov).
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CONSTITUTIONAL CARRY &               

CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSES

West Virginia recognizes the right of  persons who are 21 years of  age or older, not 
prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm, and United States citizens or 
legal residents thereof  to carry a concealed weapon within the state without first obtaining 
a concealed handgun license (“CHL”).  This is commonly known as “constitutional 
carry.”  Although West Virginia is a constitutional carry state, an optional CHL may still 
be obtained by those persons who are residents of  West Virginia and desire the benefit of  
obtaining such license.  Also, for qualified non-prohibited persons who are least 18 years 
of  age and less than 21 years of  age, state law allows for a provisional CHL as a lawful 
means to carry concealed handguns.  These licenses are more fully explained below.

IMPORTANT NOTE: West Virginia’s constitutional carry law applies only to persons 
physically in the State of  West Virginia.  It does NOT authorize you to carry a concealed 
weapon in another state without a license.  You MUST obey all weapons laws of  other 
states to which you travel, including laws regarding licensing and prohibited places.

OPTIONAL CHL

With constitutional carry, non-prohibited persons 21 years or older are not required to 
obtain a CHL in order to legally carry a concealed weapon in West Virginia.  However, 
CHLs may be obtained by those persons wishing to also obtain the benefits of  holding a 
CHL, which include, but are not limited to:  carrying a concealed firearm when traveling to 
other states that honor or recognize a valid West Virginia license and carrying a concealed 
handgun in limited circumstances on some primary and secondary school grounds. (See 
pages 6 and 7 of  this booklet for more details on the restrictions on school grounds.) 

To obtain a CHL, you must submit an application to your county sheriff ’s office, pay all 
applicable fees, and present proof  of  handgun safety training that must include live fire.  
The sheriff  must issue the CHL to any applicant who satisfies each of  these qualifications, 
so long as the applicant is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  
Following expiration of  the CHL, individuals must reapply by submitting an application 
with the sheriff ’s office.

A CHL is valid for a period generally of  5 years, but changes in the law made in early 
2019 affect the specific date of  expiration.  Any CHL in effect as of  March 4, 2019, shall, 
subject to revocation for cause, be valid until (a) the licensee’s birthday during the 5th year 
from the date of  issuance or (b) 5 years from the date of  issuance, whichever is later in 
time.  A renewal of  any CHL in effect as of  March 4, 2019, and any CHL newly issued 
after March 4, 2019, shall, subject to revocation for cause, be valid for a period of  5 years 
from the licensee’s most recent birthday.

West Virginia’s concealed carry laws have no impact on your right to openly carry an 
unconcealed weapon.  Instead, the concealed carry laws recognize that persons 21 years of  
age or older who may lawfully possess a firearm may carry a deadly weapon in a concealed 
manner without a license.  A “deadly weapon” is generally defined as “an instrument which 
is designed to be used to produce serious bodily injury or death or is readily adaptable to 
such use.”  W. Va. Code § 61-7-2(9).  It includes, but is not limited to, knives, switchblades, 
metallic knuckles, pistols, revolvers, and blackjacks.  W. Va. Code § 61-7-2.  Other items will 
be considered a “deadly weapon” for purposes of  this statute where the circumstances of  a 
particular case demonstrate that the weapon was “dangerous or deadly.”  See Syl. Pt. 5, State 
v. Choat, 178 W. Va. 607, 363 S.E.2d 493 (1987).	

PROVISIONAL CHL

Qualified West Virginia residents 18 to 21 years of  age who wish to carry a concealed 
handgun must, unless otherwise authorized by law, apply for and obtain a provisional CHL 
before doing so.1, 2

The provisional CHL is issued for the concealed carry of  a pistol or revolver only, and 
it does not allow or authorize the concealed carry of  any other type of  deadly weapon.  
To obtain a provisional CHL, you must submit a completed application to your county 
sheriff ’s office, pay all applicable fees, and present proof  of  handgun safety training that 
must include live fire.  If  you satisfy each of  the application qualifications, the sheriff  
of  your county must issue the provisional license.  Provisional licenses expire when the 
individual turns 21.

Unlike persons 21 years of  age or older, a person under the age of  21 who carries any deadly 
weapon without the lawful authorization to do so is guilty of  a misdemeanor that is 
punishable by incarceration for up to one year and a fine of  $100 to $1,000 for a first 
offense.  A second conviction is a felony punishable by incarceration for not less than one 
nor more than five years and a fine of  not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000. See 
W. Va. Code §§ 61-7-3, 61-7-6.

1. Persons between the ages of  18 and 21 in lawful possession of  a firearm are not prohibited 
from carrying an unconcealed firearm (“open carry”) without a provisional license as long as the 
person obeys all other applicable laws and restrictions.
2. It is important to note that federal law prohibits federally-licensed dealers from transferring a 
handgun or handgun ammunition to a person between the ages of  18 and 21 years.  For guidance 
on how to lawfully acquire a handgun, please refer to: https://www.atf.gov/questions-and-
answers/qa/may-individual-between-ages-18-and-21-years-age-acquire-handgun-unlicensed.
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APPLICATION FEES

In addition to completing an application, applicants for both optional and provisional CHLs 
must pay all required fees. The fee for an optional CHL application is $25 payable to the 
sheriff ’s office and an additional $25 at the time the license is issued. These CHL fees are not 
applicable to honorably discharged veterans of  the United States armed forces and honorably 
retired West Virginia State Police officers, deputy sheriffs, municipal police officers, and law 
enforcement officers of  the Division of  Natural Resources. For provisional CHLs, the fee is 
reduced to $15 payable to the sheriff ’s office and an additional $15 at the time the license is 
issued. A duplicate card, suitable for carrying in a wallet, will be provided to serve as proof  of  
licensure. Although a CHL is issued by the county sheriff, it is a statewide permit. 

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION

No license or registration is required for a non-prohibited person to own a handgun or 
other firearm, or to keep it in their home, place of  business or on other real property 
owned, leased, or otherwise legally controlled by such person.  Anyone who carries a 
handgun – whether with or without a CHL, or whether openly or concealed – remains 
subject to all applicable laws and restrictions, examples of  which are set forth in this 
booklet.  It is your responsibility to familiarize yourself  with areas where firearms are 
prohibited or restricted by law.

Federal law creates exemptions from state CHL laws for qualified active and retired law 
enforcement officers.  Copies of  those statutes regarding firearm laws can be found on 
our website (www.wvago.gov).

While West Virginia law recognizes the rights of  law-abiding citizens 21 years of  age or 
older to carry a concealed weapon without first obtaining a license, it also sets forth strict 
punishments for all persons illegally carrying or possessing firearms.  Any person who is 
prohibited from possessing a firearm and who carries a concealed firearm will be subject 
to a separate and additional felony offense. W. Va. Code § 61-7-7(d) and (e).  Further, and 
in addition to any and all other offenses provided for under the law, any person who uses 
or presents a firearm while engaged in the commission of  a felony is guilty of  a separate 
and distinct felony offense, which carries a sentence of  up to ten years. W. Va. Code 
§ 61-7-15a.

OBTAINING A CONCEALED 
HANDGUN LICENSE

An applicant for an optional CHL must be at least 21 years of  age. An applicant 
for a provisional CHL must be at least 18 years of  age and less than 21 years of  
age.  In addition to the application fees, applicants will be required to submit a 
complete application in writing, duly verified, which sets forth the following licensing 
requirements:

·	 The applicant’s full name, date of  birth, Social Security number, a description 
of  the applicant’s physical features, the applicant’s place of  birth, the applicant’s 
country of  citizenship and, if  the applicant is not a United States citizen, any 
alien or admission number issued by the United States Bureau of  Immigration 
and Customs Enforcement, and any basis, if  applicable, for an exception to the 
prohibitions of  18 U. S. C. 922(g)(5)(B);

·	 That, on the date the application is made, the applicant is a bona fide United 
States citizen or legal resident thereof  and resident of  this state and of  the 
county in which the application is made and has a valid driver’s license or other 
state-issued photo identification showing the residence;

·	 That the applicant is not addicted to alcohol, a controlled substance or a drug 
and is not an unlawful user thereof  as evidenced by either of  the following 
within the three years immediately prior to the application:
(A)	 Residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism or alcohol 

detoxification or drug treatment; or
(B)	 Two or more convictions for driving while under the influence or driving 

while impaired;
·	 That the applicant has not been convicted of  a felony unless the conviction has 

been expunged or set aside or the applicant’s civil rights have been restored or 
the applicant has been unconditionally pardoned for the offense;

·	 That the applicant has not been convicted of  a misdemeanor crime of  violence 
other than an offense set forth in subdivision (a)(7) of  either W. Va. Code 		
§ 61-7-4 or 61-7-4a in the five years immediately preceding the application;

·	 That the applicant has not been convicted of  a misdemeanor crime of  
domestic violence as defined in 18 U. S. C. 921(a)(33), or a misdemeanor 
offense of  assault or battery under either W. Va. Code § 61-2-28 or 61-2-9 (b) 
or (c) in which the victim was a current or former spouse, current or former 
sexual or intimate partner, person with whom the defendant cohabits or has 
cohabited, a parent or guardian, the defendant’s child or ward or a member 
of  the defendant’s household at the time of  the offense, or a misdemeanor 
offense with similar essential elements in a jurisdiction other than this state;

·	 That the applicant is not under indictment for a felony offense or is not 
currently serving a sentence of  confinement, parole, probation or other court-
ordered supervision imposed by a court of  any jurisdiction or is the subject of  
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an emergency or temporary domestic violence protective order or is the subject of  
a final domestic violence protective order entered by a court of  any jurisdiction;

·	 That the applicant has not been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or 
involuntarily committed to a mental institution.  If  the applicant has been 
adjudicated mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed, the applicant 
must provide a court order reflecting that the applicant is no longer under 
such disability and the applicant’s right to possess or receive a firearm has been 
restored;

·	 That the applicant is not prohibited under the provisions of  W. Va. Code 	
	 § 61-7-7 or federal law, including 18 U. S. C. 922(g) or (n), from receiving, 
possessing or transporting a firearm;

·	 That the applicant has qualified under the minimum requirements set forth in 
subsection (d) of  either W. Va. Code § 61-7-4 or 61-7-4a for handling and firing 
the weapon; and

·	 That the applicant authorizes the sheriff  of  the county, or his or her designee, to 
conduct an investigation relative to the information contained in the application.

LOCATIONS IN WEST VIRGINIA 
WHERE

FIREARMS ARE FORBIDDEN OR 
RESTRICTED

Except as noted, firearms, concealed or otherwise, are forbidden or restricted by law in the 
following locations in West Virginia:

1.	 Federal government properties or other places where firearms are prohibited by 
federal law. This includes areas of  restricted access in airports.

2.	 Any real property where firearms are prohibited by the owner, lessee, or other 
person charged with the care, custody, and control of  the property.

3
  However, 

the owner, lessee, or other person charged with the care, custody, and control 
of  the property cannot prohibit any customer, employee or invitee from having 
a lawfully-possessed firearm out of  view and locked inside or locked to a motor 
vehicle in a parking lot when the customer, employee, or invitee is lawfully allowed 
to be present in that area.  Furthermore, the owner, lessee, or other person 
charged with the care, custody, and control of  such property cannot inquire about 
the presence or absence of  a firearm locked inside or locked to a motor vehicle in 
a parking lot. See W. Va. Code § 61-7-14.

3.	 The State Capitol Complex. See W. Va. Code § 61-6-19(b).4 

4.	 Regional jails, detention facilities, or State Division of  Corrections facilities. See W. 
Va. Code § 61-5-8(c).

5.	 County courthouses or any facility housing a court, including family courts. See 
W. Va. Code § 61-7-11a.

6.	 On a school bus or any public primary or secondary education building, 
structure, facility or grounds including a vocational education building, 
structure, facility or grounds where secondary vocational education programs 
are conducted or at a school-sponsored function, or in or on a private primary 
or secondary education building, structure or facility unless such private 
institution has adopted written policies allowing for possession of  firearms. See 
W. Va. Code § 61-7-11a.5

7.	 Any building or area limited by municipal code.6

3. While it is not a crime to carry a firearm onto property where firearms are otherwise prohibited 
by the owner, lessee or other person charged with care, custody and control thereof, refusal to 
relinquish the weapon or refusal to leave the premises upon request while in possession of  a 
firearm or other deadly weapon is a misdemeanor punishable by up to $1,000 and/or up to 6 
months in jail.  There is no requirement in the law that such property be posted as a “no gun” 
area. W. Va. Code § 61-7-14 only applies to property where firearms are not otherwise prohibited 
by law.
4. A person who may lawfully possess a firearm may keep a firearm in his or her motor vehicle 
upon the State Capitol Complex, so long as the vehicle is locked and the weapon is out of  normal 
view.  W. Va. Code § 61-6-19(b).
5. This provision does not apply to: a person who, as otherwise permitted by the provisions 
of  W. Va. Code § 61-7-1, et seq., possesses an unloaded firearm in a motor vehicle or leaves an 
unloaded firearm in a locked motor vehicle; or a person, twenty-one years old or older, who has 
a valid CHL possessing a concealed handgun while in a motor vehicle in a parking lot, traffic 
circle or other area of  vehicular ingress or egress to a public school, provided that (i) when he or 
she is occupying the vehicle the person stores the handgun out of  view from persons outside the 
vehicle, or (ii) when he or she is not occupying the vehicle, the person stores the handgun out of  
view from persons outside the vehicle, the vehicle is locked, and the handgun is in a locked trunk, 
glove box or other interior compartment, or in a locked container securely fixed to the vehicle.  
Other individuals exempted from this restriction are identified in W. Va. Code § 61-7-11a(b)(2).
6. Before carrying a weapon in a West Virginia municipality, it is recommended that you inquire as 
to such laws with the appropriate city attorney’s office.
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CHL RECIPROCITY AND 
RECOGNITION

“Reciprocity” of  CHLs occurs when two states enter a written agreement to mutually 
permit their respective citizens to travel to the other state and lawfully carry a 
concealed handgun.  If  West Virginia has a written reciprocity agreement with another 
state, it means a West Virginia CHL will be honored as valid in that state, and that 
state’s CHLs will be honored as valid in West Virginia pursuant to the terms of  the 
written agreement.

“Recognition” of  West Virginia CHLs means that another state will recognize a 
West Virginia CHL as valid in that state without the necessity of  a written reciprocity 
agreement.  This recognition may or may not be mutual, meaning CHLs from some states 
may not be recognized in West Virginia despite that state’s recognition of  a West Virginia 
CHL.  For mutual recognition to occur, the West Virginia Attorney General must receive 
an official notification from the governor of  the other state that West Virginia CHLs are 
recognized in that state.  See W. Va. Code § 61-7-6a.7

Finally, there are states like West Virginia that allow anyone who can legally possess a 
firearm to carry a concealed firearm without a CHL subject to the restrictions defined 
in the respective state’s law, as well as local restrictions, regardless of  that person’s 
state of  residence.8  This is commonly referred to as “permitless concealed carry” or 
“constitutional carry.”  Currently, those states that have adopted this framework are 
Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, and Vermont. 
Some of  these states also recognize West Virginia CHLs, which may provide benefits 
to the licensee that are not available to persons carrying without a license.  Please 
check with the state’s proper authority for more information prior to any attempt to 
carry a concealed handgun without a license in those states.  

You can obtain up-to-date information on reciprocity and recognition of  your 
West Virginia CHL by visiting our website (www.wvago.gov) under the “Gun 
Reciprocity” link.

NOTE: When in another state, it is important to remember that all West Virginia 
citizens are subject to the laws of  that other state, including any restrictions related to 
locations where firearms are prohibited or limited.  Please check with law enforcement 
in the state or states in which you will be traveling, links for which are included on our 
website (www.wvago.gov).  It is your responsibility to know the laws of  the jurisdiction 
in which you are carrying a concealed deadly weapon.

7. At the time of  this writing, 20 of  the states that recognize a West Virginia CHL also 
recognize a provisional CHL.  However, please check our website (www.wvago.gov) for further 
updates.  This office is currently seeking a determination with each other state as to whether a 
provisional CHL will be honored or recognized in those states.
8. Some states, such as Idaho, North Dakota and Wyoming, have different forms of       
resident-only permitless concealed carry law which allows only residents of  the respective states 
to carry a concealed weapon without first obtaining a license. 

FIREARMS IN STATE PARKS AND 
OTHER STATE AREAS

In addition to certain firearms in hunting related situations, self-defensive firearms are 
permitted by law in all state parks, state forests, state wildlife management areas and state 
rail trails as set forth below:

1.	 A person may carry a handgun for self-defense who is not prohibited from 
possessing firearms under state or federal law;

2.	 A person may carry a rifle or shotgun for self-defense who is not prohibited from 
possessing firearms under state or federal law.  However, rifles or shotguns carried 
in state park, state forest, or state wildlife management area recreational facilities 
and on marked trails within state park or state forest borders must be carried in a 
case.

Some state parks or other state areas may be located on property owned by the U.S. 
Army Corps of  Engineers.  With very limited hunting exceptions, all firearms are 
prohibited on Corps of  Engineers property.  For more information as to whether a 
particular area is owned by the Corps of  Engineers, please visit their website (www.
recreation.gov).  For more information on carrying firearms in state parks, please 
contact the West Virginia Division of  Natural Resources or visit their website (www.
wvstateparks.com).

IMPORTANT NOTE:

When carrying a firearm, you must do so not only in compliance with the laws regarding 
restrictions of  where you can carry the firearm, but you must also comply with criminal 
laws governing the lawful means of  HOW to carry the firearm.  For example, it is 
unlawful for any person armed with a firearm or other deadly weapon, whether lawfully 
carried or not, to carry, brandish or use such a weapon in a way or manner to cause or 
threaten a breach of  the peace.  See W. Va. Code § 61-7-11. All criminal laws related 
to firearms are NOT contained in this booklet.  It is your responsibility to familiarize 
yourself  with the lawful means of  carrying a firearm.
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q:     Is a CHL required to carry a concealed handgun in West Virginia?
A:	 No.  CHLs are optional, so long as the person is at least 21 years of  age or older, is 

not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm, and is a United States citizen or legal 
resident thereof.  However, persons between 18 and 21 years of  age must obtain a 
provisional CHL in order to lawfully carry a concealed handgun without some other 
lawful authorization.  Additional exemptions from the state’s licensing requirements are 
set forth in W. Va. Code § 61-7-6, which is on page 13 of  this booklet.

Q:	 Is there any benefit to obtaining an optional CHL if  I am not required to do so?
A:	 Yes, a valid optional West Virginia CHL will allow you to lawfully carry a handgun 

in any state which honors or recognizes West Virginia CHLs.  A valid optional 
West Virginia CHL also qualifies as an alternative to the National Instant Criminal 
Background Check System (NICS) background check when purchasing a firearm.  
Finally, persons with a valid West Virginia CHL are permitted to possess a concealed 
firearm in certain municipal areas where a CHL is required and on certain school 
grounds.  See pages 6 and 7 for further restrictions on these areas.

Q:     Will my provisional CHL be recognized by other states?
A:	 As of  this writing, 20 states recognize a provisional CHL.  This office continues  

to seek a determination with other states as to whether a provisional CHL will be 
honored or recognized in those states.  For up-to-date information as to current 
recognition, please visit our website (www.wvago.gov).

Q:     How long is a CHL valid?
A:	 Optional CHLs are valid for 5 years from the date of  issuance, unless earlier 

revoked, and are valid throughout the state.  Provisional CHLs are valid throughout 
the state until the licensee turns 21 years of  age unless sooner revoked.

Q:      Can my CHL be revoked?
A:	 Yes.  Your license will be revoked if  you violate or otherwise become unable to meet 

any of  the licensing application requirements.  You must immediately surrender your 
license to the issuing sheriff  when you become ineligible for continued licensure.

Q:      What should I do if  my CHL is lost or destroyed?
A:	 You may obtain a duplicate or substitute license for a fee of  $5 by filing a notarized 

statement with the issuing sheriff  indicating that your license has been lost or 
destroyed.

Q:      How much does a CHL cost?
A:	 For an optional CHL for persons 21 years of  age or older, the cost is $25 and is paid 

to the sheriff  at the time you apply.  If  your application is approved, you must pay 
an additional $25 prior to issuance of  the license for the State Police background 

check. Honorably discharged veterans of  the United States armed forces and certain 
honorably retired law enforcement officers are exempt from these CHL fees. For 
provisional CHLs, those fees are reduced to $15 to the sheriff  and $15 to the State 
Police.

Q:     What are the training requirements to obtain a CHL?
A:	 To apply for an optional or provisional CHL, you must present evidence that you 

have successfully completed one of  the following training courses:
1)	 Any official NRA handgun safety or training course;
2)	 Any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public 

offered by an official law enforcement organization, community college, junior 
college, college or private or public institution or organization or handgun training 
school utilizing instructors certified by the institution;

3)	 Any handgun safety or training course or class conducted by a handgun 
instructor certified by the State or by the NRA; or

4)	 For optional CHLs only, any handgun training or safety course or class conducted 
by any branch of  the United States military, reserve or National Guard or proof  
of  other handgun qualification received while serving in any branch of  the United 
States military, reserve or National Guard.  For provisional CHLs, any proof  of  
current or former service in the United States armed forces, reserves or National 
Guard.  An applicant must present a photocopy of  a certificate of  course 
completion, an affidavit from the instructor, or some other document which 
verifies successful completion of  the required training course in order to obtain a 
CHL.  The document must include the instructor’s name, signature and NRA or 
state instructor identification number, if  applicable.

Q:     Is live fire of  a handgun required for completion of  my training?
A:	 Yes.  In order to satisfy the handgun safety and training course requirement, proof  of  

actual live firing of  ammunition by the applicant is required.

Q:     Do West Virginia CHLs qualify as an alternative to a NICS check under the   	
Brady Law, 18 U.S.C. Section 922(t)?

A:	 Optional CHLs issued on or after June 4, 2014, qualify as an alternative to a NICS 
Background Check.  Provisional CHLs will not qualify, and will be clearly marked that 
the provisional CHL is not NICS exempt.  See W. Va. Code § 61-7-4a(h).

Q:     What do I do when my optional CHL has expired?
A:	 If  you wish to renew your optional CHL, you may apply to the sheriff  in your county 

of  residence and pay the applicable fees.  Provided that all licensure requirements are 
met, the sheriff  will issue a new license.  The training course requirements are waived 
for renewal applicants who previously qualified.

Q:     Where can I apply for a CHL?
A:      You may apply at the sheriff ’s office in your county of  residence.

Q:	 I acquired a CHL in my county of  residence, but then I moved to another 
county in West Virginia.  Do I need to obtain a new permit from the sheriff  in 
my new county of  residence?
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A:	 W. Va. Code § 61-7-4(l) states whenever “any person after applying for and receiving 
a concealed weapon license moves from the address named in the application to 
another county within the state, the license remains valid for the remainder of  the 
five years unless the sheriff  of  the new county has determined that the person is no 
longer eligible for a concealed weapon license under this article, and the sheriff  shall 
issue a new license bearing the person’s new address and the original expiration date 
for a fee not to exceed $5: Provided, That the licensee, within twenty days thereafter, 
notifies the sheriff  in the new county of  residence in writing of  the old and new 
addresses.”

RELEVANT PROVISIONS 
OF STATE LAW 

W. Va. Constitution, Article III, Section 22
A person has the right to keep and bear arms for the defense of  self, family, home and 
state, and for lawful hunting and recreational use. 

W. Va. Code § 61-7-3. Carrying a deadly weapon without provisional license or 
other authorization by persons under twenty-one years of  age; penalties.

(a)	 Any person under twenty-one years of  age and not otherwise prohibited from 
possessing firearms under section seven of  this article who carries a concealed deadly 
weapon, without a state license or other lawful authorization established under the 
provisions of  this code, is guilty of  a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall 
be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 and may be imprisoned in jail for 
not more than twelve months for the first offense; but upon conviction of  a second or 
subsequent offense, he or she is guilty of  a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall 
be imprisoned in a state correctional facility not less than one nor more than five years 
and fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000.

(b)	 The prosecuting attorney in all cases shall ascertain whether or not the charge made 
by the grand jury is a first offense or is a second or subsequent offense and, if  it is a 
second or subsequent offense, it shall be so stated in the indictment returned, and the 
prosecuting attorney shall introduce the record evidence before the trial court of  such 
second or subsequent offense and may not be permitted to use discretion in introducing 
evidence to prove the same at the trial.

§ 61-7-4. License to carry deadly weapons; how obtained.

[West Virginia Code § 61-7-4 sets forth the requirements for obtaining a CHL.  To 
review the specific provisions of  § 61-7-4 in greater detail, please access the Office of  the 
Attorney General’s handbook on state firearm laws, which can be found at our website 
(www.wvago.gov) under the “Gun Reciprocity” link.]

§ 61-7-4a. Provisional license to carry deadly weapons; how obtained.

[West Virginia Code § 61-7-4a sets forth the requirements for obtaining a provisional CHL.  
To review the specific provisions of  § 61-7-4a in greater detail, please access the Office of  
the Attorney General’s handbook on state firearm laws, which can be found at our website 
(www.wvago.gov) under the “Gun Reciprocity” link.] 

§ 61-7-6. Exceptions as to prohibitions against carrying concealed handguns for 
persons at least eighteen years of  age and fewer than twenty-one years of  age; 
exemptions from licensing fees.
(a)	 The provisions in section three of  this article do not apply to any person at least 

eighteen years of  age and fewer than twenty-one years of  age who is:
(1)	 Carrying a deadly weapon upon his or her own premises;
(2)	 Carrying a firearm, unloaded, from the place of  purchase to his or her home, 

residence or place of  business or to a place of  repair and back to his or her 
home, residence or place of  business; or

(3)	 Possessing a firearm while hunting in a lawful manner or while traveling from his or 
her home, residence or place of  business to a hunting site and returning to his or her 
home, residence or place of  business;

(4)	 A member of  a properly organized target-shooting club authorized by law to obtain 
firearms by purchase or requisition from this state or from the United States for 
the purpose of  target practice from carrying any pistol, as defined in this article, 
unloaded, from his or her home, residence or place of  business to a place of  target 
practice and from any place of  target practice back to his or her home, residence or 
place of  business, for using any such weapon at a place of  target practice in training 
and improving his or her skill in the use of  the weapons;

(5)	 A law-enforcement officer or law-enforcement official or chief  executive as 
defined in section one, article twenty-nine, chapter thirty of  this code;

(6)	 An employee of  the West Virginia Division of  Corrections duly appointed 
pursuant to section eleven-c, article one, chapter twenty-five of  this code while 
the employee is on duty;

(7)	 A member of  the United States armed forces, reserve or National Guard;
(8)	 A resident of  another state who holds a valid permit or license to possess or carry 

a handgun issued by a state or a political subdivision subject to the provisions and 
limitations set forth in section six-a of  this article;

(9)	 A federal law-enforcement officer or federal police officer authorized to carry a 
weapon in the performance of  the officer’s duty; and

(10)	A parole officer appointed pursuant to section fourteen, article twelve, chapter 
sixty-two of  this code in the performance of  his or her duties.

(b)	 The following judicial officers and prosecutors and staff  are exempt from paying any 
application fees or licensure fees required under this article. However, they shall make 
application and satisfy all licensure and handgun safety and training requirements to 
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obtain a license as set forth in section four of  this article:
(1)	 Any justice of  the Supreme Court of  Appeals of  West Virginia;
(2)	 Any circuit judge;
(3)	 Any retired justice or retired circuit judge designated senior status by the Supreme 

Court of  Appeals of  West Virginia;
(4)	 Any family court judge;
(5)	 Any magistrate;
(6)	 Any prosecuting attorney;
(7)	 Any assistant prosecuting attorney; or
(8)	 Any duly appointed investigator employed by a prosecuting attorney.

§ 61-7-6a. Reciprocity and recognition; out-of-state concealed handgun permits.

(a)	 A valid out-of-state permit or license to possess or carry a handgun is valid in this state 
for the carrying of  a concealed handgun, if  the following conditions are met: 
(1)	 The permit or license holder is twenty-one years of  age or older;
(2)	 The permit or license is in his or her immediate possession;
(3)	 The permit or license holder is not a resident of  the State of  West Virginia; and,
(4)	 The Attorney General has been notified by the Governor of  the other state that 

the other state allows residents of  West Virginia who are licensed in West Virginia 
to carry a concealed handgun in that state or the Attorney General has entered 
into a written reciprocity agreement with the appropriate official of  the other state 
whereby the state agrees to honor West Virginia concealed handgun licenses in 
return for same treatment in this state.

(b)	 A holder of  a valid permit or license from another state who is authorized to carry a 
concealed handgun in this state pursuant to provisions of  this section is subject to the 
same laws and restrictions with respect to carrying a concealed handgun as a resident of  
West Virginia who is so permitted and must carry the concealed handgun in compliance 
with the laws of  this state.

(c)	 A license or permit from another state is not valid in this state if  the holder is or 
becomes prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.

(d)	 The West Virginia Attorney General shall seek to obtain recognition of  West Virginia 
concealed handgun licenses and enter into and execute reciprocity agreements on behalf  
of  the State of  West Virginia with states for the recognition of  concealed handgun 
permits issued pursuant to this article.

(e)	 The West Virginia State Police shall maintain a registry of  states with which the State of  
West Virginia has entered into reciprocity agreements or which recognize West Virginia 
concealed handgun licenses on the criminal information network and make the registry 
available to law-enforcement officers for investigative purposes.

(f)	 Every twelve months after the effective date of  this section, the West Virginia Attorney 
General shall make written inquiry of  the concealed handgun licensing or permitting 
authorities in each other state as to:
(i)	 Whether a West Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun in their state based 

upon having a valid West Virginia concealed handgun permit; and
(ii)	 Whether a West Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun in that state based 

upon having a valid West Virginia concealed handgun permit, pursuant to the laws 
of  that state or by the execution of  a valid reciprocity agreement between the 
states.

(g)	 The West Virginia State Police shall make available to the public a list of  states which have 
entered into reciprocity agreements with the State of  West Virginia or that allow residents 
of  West Virginia who are licensed in West Virginia to carry a concealed handgun to carry a 
concealed handgun in that state.

§ 61-7-7. Persons prohibited from possessing firearms; classifications; right of  
nonprohibited persons over twenty-one years of  age to carry concealed deadly 
weapons; offenses and penalties; reinstatement of  rights to possess; offenses; penal
ties.

(a)	 Except as provided in this section, no person shall possess a firearm, as such is defined in 
section two of  this article, who:
(1)	 Has been convicted in any court of  a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term 

exceeding one year;
(2)	 Is habitually addicted to alcohol;
(3)	 Is an unlawful user of  or habitually addicted to any controlled substance;
(4)	 Has been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or who has been involuntarily 

committed to a mental institution pursuant to the provisions of  chapter twenty-
seven of  this code or in similar law of  another jurisdiction: Provided, That once 
an individual has been adjudicated as a mental defective or involuntarily committed 
to a mental institution, he or she shall be duly notified that they are to immediately 
surrender any firearms in their ownership or possession: Provided, however, That 
the mental hygiene commissioner or circuit judge shall first make a determination 
of  the appropriate public or private individual or entity to act as conservator for the 
surrendered property;

(5)	 Is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States;
(6)	 Has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions;
(7)	 Is subject to a domestic violence protective order that:

(A)	 Was issued after a hearing of  which such person received actual notice and at 
which such person had an opportunity to participate;

(B)	 Restrains such person from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate 
partner of  such person or child of  such intimate partner or person, or 
engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable 
fear of  bodily injury to the partner or child; and

(C)	 (i) Includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the 
physical safety of  such intimate partner or child; or                                             	
(ii) By its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use or threatened use 
of  physical force against such intimate partner or child that would reasonably 
be expected to cause bodily injury; or				  
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(8)	 Has been convicted of  a misdemeanor offense of  assault or battery either under the 

provisions of  section twenty-eight, article two of  this chapter or the provisions of  
subsection (b) or (c), section nine of  said article or a federal or state statute with the 
same essential elements in which the victim was a current or former spouse, current 
or former sexual or intimate partner, person with whom the defendant has a child in 
common, person with whom the defendant cohabits or has cohabited, a parent or 
guardian, the defendant’s child or ward or a member of  the defendant’s household 
at the time of  the offense or has been convicted in any court of  any jurisdiction of  a 
comparable misdemeanor crime of  domestic violence. Any person who violates the 
provisions of  this subsection shall be guilty of  a misdemeanor and, upon conviction 
thereof, shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or confined in the 
county jail for not less than ninety days nor more than one year, or both.

(b)	 Notwithstanding the provisions of  subsection (a) of  this section, any person:
(1)	 Who has been convicted in this state or any other jurisdiction of  a felony crime 

of  violence against the person of  another or of  a felony sexual offense; or
(2)	 Who has been convicted in this state or any other jurisdiction of  a felony controlled 

substance offense involving a Schedule I controlled substance other than marijuana, 
a Schedule II or a Schedule III controlled substance as such are defined in sections 
two hundred four, two hundred five and two hundred six, article two, chapter sixty-a 
of  this code and who possesses a firearm as such is defined in section two of  this 
article shall be guilty of  a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in a 
state correctional facility for not more than five years or fined not more than $5,000, 
or both. The provisions of  subsection (f) of  this section shall not apply to persons 
convicted of  offenses referred to in this subsection or to persons convicted of  a 
violation of  this subsection.

(c)	 Any person may carry a concealed deadly weapon without a license therefor who is:
(1)	 At least twenty-one years of  age;
(2)	 A United States citizen or legal resident thereof;
(3)	 Not prohibited from possessing a firearm under the provisions of  this section; and
(4)	 Not prohibited from possessing a firearm under the provisions of  18 U. S. C. 

922(g) or (n).
(d)	 As a separate and additional offense to the offense provided for in subsection (a) of  

this section, and in addition to any other offenses outlined in this code, and except as 
provided by subsection (e) of  this section, any person prohibited by subsection (a) of  this 
section from possessing a firearm who carries a concealed firearm is guilty of  a felony 
and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in a state correctional facility for not 
more than three years or fined not more than $5,000, or both.

(e)	 As a separate and additional offense to the offense described in subsection (b) of  this 
section, and in addition to any other offenses outlined in this code, any person prohibited 
by subsection (b) of  this section from possessing a firearm who carries a concealed 
firearm is guilty of  a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in a state 

correctional facility for not more than ten years or fined not more than $10,000, or 
both.

(f)	 Any person prohibited from possessing a firearm by the provisions of  subsection (a) 
of  this section may petition the circuit court of  the county in which he or she resides 
to regain the ability to possess a firearm and if  the court finds by clear and convincing 
evidence that the person is competent and capable of  exercising the responsibility 
concomitant with the possession of  a firearm, the court may enter an order allowing 
the person to possess a firearm if  such possession would not violate any federal law: 
Provided, That a person prohibited from possessing a firearm by the provisions of  
subdivision (4), subsection (a) of  this section may petition to regain the ability to possess a 
firearm in accordance with the provisions of  section five, article seven-a of  this chapter.

(g)	 Any person who has been convicted of  an offense which disqualifies him or her from 
possessing a firearm by virtue of  a criminal conviction whose conviction was expunged 
or set aside or who subsequent thereto receives an unconditional pardon for said offense 
shall not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by the provisions of  the section.

§ 61-7-11a. Possessing deadly weapons on premises of  educational facilities; reports 
by school principals; suspension of  driver’s license; possessing deadly weapons on 
premises housing courts of  law and family law courts.

(a) 	 The Legislature finds that the safety and welfare of  the citizens of  this state are 
inextricably dependent upon assurances of  safety for children attending and 
persons employed by schools in this state and for persons employed by the judicial 
department of  this state. It is for the purpose of  providing assurances of  safety that 
§ 61-7-11a(b), § 61-7-11a(g), and § 61-7-11a(h), of  this code and § 61-7-11a(b)(2)(I) 
of  this code are enacted as a reasonable regulation of  the manner in which citizens 
may exercise the rights accorded to them pursuant to section 22, article III of  the 
Constitution of  the State of  West Virginia.

(b)  (1)   It is unlawful to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon:
            (A)   On a school bus as defined in § 17A-1-1 of  this code;
            (B) 	  In or on the grounds of  any primary or secondary educational facility of
                     any type: Provided, That it shall not be unlawful to possess a firearm or other
                    deadly weapon in or on the grounds of  any private primary or secondary
                    school, if  such institution has adopted a written policy allowing for 
                    possession of  firearms or other deadly weapons in the facility or on the
	   grounds thereof;
           (C)  At a school-sponsored function that is taking place in a specific area that is

owned, rented, or leased by the West Virginia Department of  Education, the
West Virginia Secondary Schools Activities Commission, a county school
board, or local public school for the actual period of  time the function is
occurring.

(2) 	 This subsection does not apply to:
(A) 	A law-enforcement officer employed by a federal, state, county, or 

municipal law-enforcement agency;
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(B) 	Any probation officer appointed pursuant to § 62-12-5 or chapter 49 of  
this code in the performance of  his or her duties;

(C) 	A retired law-enforcement officer who meets all the requirements to carry 
a firearm as a qualified retired law-enforcement officer under the Law-
Enforcement Officer Safety Act of  2004, as amended, pursuant to 		
18 U.S.C. § 926C(c), carries that firearm in a concealed manner, and has on 
their person official identification in accordance with that act;

(D) 	A person, other than a student of  a primary and secondary facility, 
specifically authorized by the board of  education of  the county or principal 
of  the school where the property is located to conduct programs with valid 
educational purposes;

(E) 	A person who, as otherwise permitted by the provisions of  this article, 
possesses an unloaded firearm or deadly weapon in a motor vehicle or 
leaves an unloaded firearm or deadly weapon in a locked motor vehicle;

(F) 	 Programs or raffles conducted with the approval of  the county board of  
education or school which include the display of  unloaded firearms;

(G) 	The official mascot of  West Virginia University, commonly known as the 
Mountaineer, acting in his or her official capacity; 

(H)	 The official mascot of  Parkersburg South High School, commonly known 
as the Patriot, acting in his or her official capacity; or

(I) 	 Any person, 21 years old or older, who has a valid concealed handgun 
permit may possess a concealed handgun while in a motor vehicle in a 
parking lot, traffic circle, or other areas of  vehicular ingress or egress to a 
public school: Provided, That:
(i) 	 When he or she is occupying the vehicle the person stores the 

handgun out of  view from persons outside the vehicle; or
(ii) 	 When he or she is not occupying the vehicle the person stores the 

handgun out of  view from persons outside the vehicle, the vehicle is 
locked, and the handgun is in a glove box or other interior compartment, 
or in a locked trunk, or in a locked container securely fixed to the 
vehicle. 

(3) 	 A person violating this subsection is guilty of  a felony and, upon conviction 
thereof, shall be imprisoned in a state correctional facility for a definite term of  
years of  not less than two years nor more than 10 years, or fined not more than 
$5,000, or both fined and imprisoned.

(c) 	 A school principal subject to the authority of  the State Board of  Education who 
discovers a violation of  § 61-7-11a(b) of  this code shall report the violation as soon 
as possible to:
(1) 	 The State Superintendent of  Schools. The State Board of  Education shall keep 

and maintain these reports and may prescribe rules establishing policy and 
procedures for making and delivering the reports as required by this subsection; 
and

(2) 	 The appropriate local office of  the State Police, county sheriff  or municipal 

police agency.
(d) 	 In addition to the methods of  disposition provided by § 49-5-1 et seq. of  this code, 

a court which adjudicates a person who is 14 years of  age or older as delinquent 
for a violation of  § 61-7-11a(b) of  this code may order the Division of  Motor 
Vehicles to suspend a driver’s license or instruction permit issued to the person 
for a period of  time as the court considers appropriate, not to extend beyond the 
person’s nineteenth birthday. If  the person has not been issued a driver’s license or 
instruction permit by this state, a court may order the Division of  Motor Vehicles 
to deny the person’s application for a license or permit for a period of  time as the 
court considers appropriate, not to extend beyond the person’s nineteenth birthday. 
A suspension ordered by the court pursuant to this subsection is effective upon 
the date of  entry of  the order. Where the court orders the suspension of  a driver’s 
license or instruction permit pursuant to this subsection, the court shall confiscate 
any driver’s license or instruction permit in the adjudicated person’s possession and 
forward to the Division of  Motor Vehicles.

(e)  (1) 	 If  a person 18 years of  age or older is convicted of  violating § 61-7-11a(b) 
of  this code and if  the person does not act to appeal the conviction within 
the time periods described in § 61-7-11a(e)(2) of  this code, the person’s 
license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this state shall be revoked in 
accordance with the provisions of  this section.

(2) 	 The clerk of  the court in which the person is convicted as described 
        in § 61-7-11a(e)(1) of  this code shall forward to the commissioner a 

transcript of  the judgment of  conviction. If  the conviction is the judgment 
of  a magistrate court, the magistrate court clerk shall forward the transcript 
when the person convicted has not requested an appeal within 20 days of  
the sentencing for the conviction. If  the conviction is the judgment of  a 
circuit court, the circuit clerk shall forward a transcript of  the judgment of  
conviction when the person convicted has not filed a notice of  intent to file 
a petition for appeal or writ of  error within 30 days after the judgment was 
entered.

(3) 	 If, upon examination of  the transcript of  the judgment of  conviction, the 
commissioner determines that the person was convicted as described in § 
61-7-11a(e)(1) of  this code, the commissioner shall make and enter an order 
revoking the person’s license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this 
state for a period of  one year or, in the event the person is a student enrolled 
in a secondary school, for a period of  one year or until the person’s twentieth 
birthday, whichever is the greater period. The order shall contain the reasons 
for the revocation and the revocation period. The order of  suspension 
shall advise the person that because of  the receipt of  the court’s transcript, 
a presumption exists that the person named in the order of  suspension is 
the same person named in the transcript. The commissioner may grant an 
administrative hearing which substantially complies with the requirements of  
the provisions of  § 17C-5A-2 of  this code upon a preliminary showing that a 



20 21
www.wvago.gov www.wvago.gov

possibility exists that the person named in the notice of  conviction is not the 
same person whose license is being suspended. The request for hearing shall 
be made within 10 days after receipt of  a copy of  the order of  suspension. 
The sole purpose of  this hearing is for the person requesting the hearing to 
present evidence that he or she is not the person named in the notice. If  the 
commissioner grants an administrative hearing, the commissioner shall stay 
the license suspension pending the commissioner’s order resulting from the 
hearing.

 (4) 	For the purposes of  this subsection, a person is convicted when he or she 
enters a plea of  guilty or is found guilty by a court or jury.

   (f)  (1) 	 It is unlawful for a parent, guardian, or custodian of  a person less than 18 
years of  age who knows that the person is in violation of  § 61-7-11a(b) of  
this code or has reasonable cause to believe that the person’s violation of

	 § 61-7-11a(b) of  this code is imminent to fail to immediately report his or her 
knowledge or belief  to the appropriate school or law-enforcement officials.

 (2)  A person violating this subsection is guilty of  a misdemeanor and, upon  
conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $1,000, or shall be confined 
in jail not more than one year, or both fined and confined.

    (g)  (1) 	 It is unlawful for a person to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon on the 
premises of  a court of  law, including family courts.

 (2) 	This subsection does not apply to:
(A)   A law-enforcement officer acting in his or her official capacity; and
(B)   A person exempted from the provisions of  this subsection by order of  

record entered by a court with jurisdiction over the premises or offices.
(3) 	 A person violating this subsection is guilty of  a misdemeanor and, upon   

conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $1,000, or shall be confined 
in jail not more than one year, or both fined and confined.

   (h)  (1) 	   It is unlawful for a person to possess a firearm or other deadly weapon on 
the premises of  a court of  law, including family courts, with the intent to 
commit a crime.

(2) 	 A person violating this subsection is guilty of  a felony and, upon conviction 
thereof, shall be imprisoned in a state correctional facility for a definite term 
of  years of  not less than two years nor more than 10 years, or fined not 
more than $5,000, or both fined and imprisoned.

    (i) 	 Nothing in this section may be construed to be in conflict with the 
provisions of  federal law. 

§ 61-7-14. Right of  certain persons to limit possession of  firearms on premises.

(a) As used in this section:
(1)   “Parking lot” means any property that is used for parking motor vehicles and 

is available to customers, employees, or invitees for temporary or long‐term 
parking or storage of  motor vehicles: Provided, That for purposes of  this 
section, parking lot does not include the private parking area at a business 

located at the primary residence of  the property owner.
  (2)	“Motor vehicle” means any privately-owned automobile, truck, minivan, sports 

utility vehicle, motor home, recreational vehicle, motorcycle, motor scooter, or 
any other vehicle operated on the roads of  this state and, which is required to 
be registered under state law: Provided, That for purposes of  this section, motor 
vehicle does not mean vehicles owned, rented, or leased by an employer and 
used by the employee in the course of  employment.

(3)	 “Employee” means any person, who is over 18 years of  age, not prohibited 
from possessing firearms by the provisions of  this code or federal law, and
(A) 	Works for salary, wages, or other remuneration;
(B) 	 Is an independent contractor; or
(C) 	Is a volunteer, intern, or other similar individual for an employer.

(4) 	 “Employer” means any business that is a sole proprietorship, partnership, 
corporation, limited liability company, professional association, cooperative, 
joint venture, trust, firm, institution, association, or public-sector entity that has 
employees.

(5) 	 “Invitee” means any business invitee, including a customer or visitor, who is 
lawfully on the premises of  a public or private employer.

(6) 	 “Locked inside or locked to” means 
(A) 	The vehicle is locked; or
(B) 	The firearm is in a locked trunk, glove box, or other interior compartment, 

or 
(C) 	The firearm is in a locked container securely fixed to the vehicle; or
(D)	 The firearm is secured and locked to the vehicle itself  by the use of  some 

form of  attachment and lock.
(b) 	 Notwithstanding the provisions of  this article, any owner, lessee or other person 

charged with the care, custody, and control of  real property may prohibit the 
carrying openly or concealing of  any firearm or deadly weapon on property under 
his or her domain: Provided, That for purposes of  this section “person” means an 
individual or any entity which may acquire title to real property: Provided, however, 
That for purposes of  this section “natural person” means an individual human 
being.

(c) 	 Any natural person carrying or possessing a firearm or other deadly weapon on 
the property of  another who refuses to temporarily relinquish possession of  the 
firearm or other deadly weapon, upon being requested to do so, or to leave the 
premises, while in possession of  the firearm or other deadly weapon, is guilty of  a 
misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $1,000 or 
confined in jail not more than six months, or both: Provided, That the provisions of  
this section do not apply to a natural person as set forth in § 61-7-6(a)(5) through § 
61-7-6(a)(7) and § 61-7-6(a)(9) through § 61-7-6(a)(10) of  this code while acting in 
his or her official capacity or to a natural person as set forth in § 61-7-6(b(1)

	 through § 61-7-6(b)(8) of  this code while acting in his or her official capacity: 
Provided, however, That under no circumstances, except as provided for by the 



22 23
www.wvago.gov www.wvago.gov

provisions of  § 61-7-11a(b)(2)(A) through (I) of  this code, may any natural person 
possess or carry or cause the possession or carrying of  any firearm or other deadly 
weapon on the premises of  any primary or secondary educational facility in this 
state unless the natural person is a law-enforcement officer or he or she has the 
express written permission of  the county school superintendent.

(d)	 Prohibited acts. -- Notwithstanding the provisions of  subsections (b) and (c) of  this 
section:
(1) 	 No owner, lessee, or other person charged with the care, custody, and control 

of  real property may prohibit any customer, employee, or invitee from 
possessing any legally owned firearm, when the firearm is: 
(A) 	Lawfully possessed;
(B) 	Out of  view; 
(C) 	Locked inside or locked to a motor vehicle in a parking lot; and 
(D) 	When the customer, employee, or invitee is lawfully allowed to be present 

in that area.
(2) 	 No owner, lessee, or other person charged with the care, custody, and control 

of  real property may violate the privacy rights of  a customer, employee, or 
invitee either:
(A) 	By verbal or written inquiry, regarding the presence or absence of  a firearm 

locked inside or locked to a motor vehicle in a parking lot; or 
(B) 	By conducting an actual search of  a motor vehicle in a parking lot to 

ascertain the presence of  a firearm within the vehicle: Provided, That a 
search of  a motor vehicle in a parking lot to ascertain the presence of  a 
firearm within that motor vehicle may only be conducted by on-duty, law- 
enforcement personnel, in accordance with statutory and constitutional 
protections.

(C) 	No owner, lessee, or other person charged with the care, custody, and 
control of  real property may take any action against a customer, employee, 
or invitee based upon verbal or written statements of  any party concerning 
possession of  a firearm stored inside a motor vehicle in a parking lot for 
lawful purposes, except upon statements made pertaining to unlawful 
purposes or threats of  unlawful actions involving a firearm made in 
violation of  § 61-6-24 of  this code. 

(3) 	 No employer may condition employment upon either:
(A) 	The fact that an employee or prospective employee holds or does not hold 

a license issued pursuant to § 61-7-4 or § 61-7-4a of  this code; or
(B) 	An agreement with an employee or a prospective employee prohibiting that 

natural person from keeping a legal firearm locked inside or locked to a 
motor vehicle in a parking lot when the firearm is kept for lawful purposes.

(4) 	 No owner, lessee, or other person charged with the care, custody, and control 
of  real property may prohibit or attempt to prevent any customer, employee, or 
invitee from entering the parking lot of  the person’s place of  business because 
the customer’s, employee’s, or invitee’s motor vehicle contains a legal firearm 

being carried for lawful purposes that is out of  view within the customer’s, 
employee’s, or invitee’s motor vehicle.

(e)	 Limitations on duty of  care; immunity from civil liability. --
(1) 	 When subject to the provisions of  subsection (d) of  this section, an employer, 

owner, lessee, or other person charged with the care, custody, and control 
of  real property has no duty of  care related to the acts prohibited under said 
subsection.

(2) 	 An employer, owner, lessee, or other person charged with the care, custody, and 
control of  real property is not liable in a civil action for money damages based 
upon any actions or inactions taken in compliance with subsection (d) of  this 
section. The immunity provided in this subdivision does not extend to civil 
actions based on actions or inactions of  employers, owners, lessees, or other 
persons charged with the care, custody, and control of  real property unrelated 
to subsection (d) of  this section.

(3) 	 Nothing contained in this section may be interpreted to expand any existing 
duty or create any additional duty on the part of  an employer, owner, lessee, or 
other person charged with the care, custody, and control of  real property.

(f)	 Enforcement. -- The Attorney General is authorized to enforce the provisions of  
subsection (d) of  this section and may bring an action seeking either:
(1) 	 Injunctive or other appropriate equitable relief  to protect the exercise or 

enjoyment of  the rights secured in subsection (d) of  any customer, employee, 
or invitee; 

(2) 	 Civil penalties of  no more than $5,000 for each violation of  subsection (d) and 
all costs and attorney’s fees associated with bringing the action; or 

(3) 	 Both the equitable relief  and civil penalties described in subdivisions (1) and (2) 
of  this section, including costs and attorney’s fees. This action must be brought 
in the name of  the state and instituted in the Circuit Court of  Kanawha County. 
The Attorney General may negotiate a settlement with any alleged violator in 
the course of  his or her enforcement of  subsection (d) of  this section.

(4) 	 Notwithstanding any other provision in this section to the contrary, the 
authority granted to the Attorney General in this subsection does not affect 
the right of  a customer, employee, or invitee aggrieved under the authority 
of  subsection (d) of  this section to bring an action for violation of  the rights 
protected under this section in his or her own name and instituted in the circuit 
court for the county where the alleged violator resides, has a principal place 
of  business, or where the alleged violation occurred. In any successful action 
brought by a customer, employee, or invitee aggrieved under the authority 
of  subsection (d) of  this section, the court may award injunctive or other 
appropriate equitable relief  and civil penalties as set forth in subdivisions 
one, two and three of  this subsection. In any action brought by a customer, 
employee, or invitee aggrieved under the authority of  subsection (d) of  this 
section, the court shall award all court costs and attorney’s fees to the prevailing 
party.
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West Virginia County Sheriffs’ Offices

Barbour County Sheriff
Philip Ferguson
26 N. Main St., Ste. 1
Philippi, WV 26416
304-457-2352

Berkeley County Sheriff
Curtis Keller
510 S. Raleigh St.
Martinsburg, WV 25401
304-267-7000

Boone County Sheriff
Randall White
206 Court St.
Madison, WV 25130
304-369-7390

Braxton County Sheriff
Eddie Williams
P.O. Box 546
Sutton, WV 26601
304-765-3308

Brooke County Sheriff
Larry C. Palmer, Jr.
300 Courthouse Sq.
Wellsburg, WV 26070
304-737-3660

Cabell County Sheriff
Charles “Chuck” Zerkle
750 Fifth Ave., Rm. 101
Huntington, WV 25701
304-526-8663

Calhoun County Sheriff
Jeff Starcher
P.O. Box 340
Grantsville, WV 26147
304-354-6333

Clay County Sheriff
Randy Holcomb, Interim
P.O. Box 429
Clay, WV 25043
304-587-4260

Doddridge County Sheriff
Michael Headley
P.O. Box 219
West Union, WV 26456
304-873-1944

Fayette County Sheriff
Mike Fridley
Box 509, 100 N Court St. Ste 5
Fayetteville, WV 25840
304-574-4259

Gilmer County Sheriff
Larry Gerwig
10 Howard St.
Glenville, WV 26351
304-462-7441

Grant County Sheriff
Brian Ours
5 Highland Ave.
Petersburg, WV 26847
304-257-1818

Greenbrier County Sheriff
Bruce Sloan
P.O. Box 347
Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-647-6678

Hampshire County Sheriff
John P. Alkire
66 N. High St., Rm. 203
Romney, WV 26757
304-822-3894

Hancock County Sheriff
Ralph A. Fletcher
P.O. Box 458
New Cumberland, WV 26047
304-564-3911

Hardy County Sheriff
Bryan C. Ward
206 Washington St.
Moorefield, WV 26836
304-530-0222

Harrison County Sheriff
Robert Matheny
301 W. Main St.
Clarksburg, WV 26301
304-624-8550

Jackson County Sheriff
Anthony Boggs
98 N. Maple St.
Ripley, WV 25271
304-373-2290

Jefferson County Sheriff
Peter Dougherty
102 Industrial Blvd.
Kearneysville, WV 25430
304-728-3205

Kanawha County Sheriff
Mike Rutherford
301 Virginia St. E.
Charleston, WV 25301
304-357-0216

Lewis County Sheriff
Adam M. Gissy
117 Court Ave.
Weston, WV 26452
304-269-8251

Lincoln County Sheriff
Gary “Butch” Linville
P.O. Box 467
Hamlin, WV 25523
304-824-7990 ext. 279

Logan County Sheriff
S.M. Dingess Porter
300 Stratton St., Rm. 209
Logan, WV 25601
304-792-8590

Marion County Sheriff
James C. Riffle
316 Monroe St.
Fairmont, WV 26554
304-367-5300

Marshall County Sheriff
Kevin Cecil
601 Seventh St.
Moundsville, WV 26041
304-843-1550

Mason County Sheriff
Greg Powers
525 Main St.
Point Pleasant, WV 25550
304-675-3838

McDowell County Sheriff
Martin West
350 Virginia Ave., Ste. 101
Welch, WV 24801
304-436-8541

Mercer County Sheriff
Tommy T.A. Bailey
1501 W. Main St., Ste. 31
Princeton, WV 24740
304-487-8364

Mineral County Sheriff
Jeremy Taylor
100 East St.
Keyser, WV 26726
304-788-0441

Mingo County Sheriff
James Smith
P.O. Box 1270
Williamson, WV 25661
304-235-0300

Monongalia County Sheriff
Perry Palmer
116 Walnut St.
Morgantown, WV 26505
304-291-7260

Monroe County Sheriff
Kenneth Hedrick
P.O. Box 350
Union, WV 24983
304-772-3018

Morgan County Sheriff
Kim “K.C.” Bohrer
226 Gayle Dr.
Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
304-258-1067

Nicholas County Sheriff
William F. Nunley
700 Main St., Ste. 3
Summersville, WV 26651
304-872-7880

Ohio County Sheriff
Tom Howard
51 16th St.
Wheeling, WV 26003
304-234-3718

Pendleton County Sheriff
Donald L. Hedrick
P.O. Box 687
Franklin, WV 26807
304-358-2214

Pleasants County Sheriff
D. Wayne Wilson II
305 Barkwill St.
St. Marys, WV 26170
304-684-2285

Pocahontas County Sheriff
Jeff Barlow
900 Jail Ln.
Marlinton, WV 24954
304-799-4445

Preston County Sheriff
Daniel Loughrie
103 W. Main St.
Kingwood, WV 26537
304-329-1611

Putnam County Sheriff
Steve L. Deweese
236 Courthouse Dr., Ste. 8
Winfield, WV 25213
304-586-0256 opt. 1

Raleigh County Sheriff
Scott Van Meter
215 Main St.
Beckley, WV 25801
304-255-9195

Randolph County Sheriff
Mark T. Brady
32 Randolph Ave., Ste. 201
Elkins, WV 26241
304-636-2100 opt. 3

Ritchie County Sheriff
Terry Snodgrass
109 North St.
Harrisville, WV 26362
304-643-2262

Roane County Sheriff
Todd Cole
200 Main St.
Spencer, WV 25276
304-927-2540

Summers County Sheriff
Garry E. Wheeler
123 Temple St.
Hinton, WV 25951
304-466-7111

Taylor County Sheriff
Terry A. Austin
214 W. Main St.
Grafton, WV 26354
304-265-3428

Tucker County Sheriff
Brian K. Wilfong
215 First St.
Parsons, WV 26287
304-478-2321

Tyler County Sheriff
Brian M. Weigle
P.O. Box 7
Middlebourne, WV 26149
304-758-4229

Upshur County Sheriff
David Coffman
38 W. Main St., Rm. 103
Buckhannon, WV 26201
304-472-1180 ext. 126

Wayne County Sheriff
Rick Thompson
P.O. Box 218
Wayne, WV 25570-0218
304-272-6378

Webster County Sheriff
David Cutlip
2 Court Square, Rm. G-3
Webster Springs, WV 26288
304-847-2006

Wetzel County Sheriff
Mike Koontz
P.O. Drawer D
New Martinsville, WV 26155
304-455-2430

Wirt County Sheriff
Travis Corbitt
P.O. Box 669
Elizabeth, WV 26143
304-275-4222

Wood County Sheriff
Steve Stephens
401 Second St., Ste. 11
Parkersburg, WV 26101
304-424-1834

Wyoming County Sheriff
Randy Brooks, Interim
P.O. Box 529
Pineville, WV 24874
304-732-8000  ext. 304
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Office of the Attorney General 
State Capitol Complex, Bldg 1, Rm E-26 

Charleston, WV 25305 
Phone: 304-558-2021


