

Environmental Enforcement Office 614-466-2766 Fax 614-752-2441

30 E. Broad St., 25<sup>th</sup> Floor Columbus, OH 43215 www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov

October 3, 2014

## Via regular U.S. Mail and Electronic Mail Filed in Docket EPA-HQ-OAR-2013-0603

Regina A. McCarthy Administrator United States Environmental Protection Agency William Jefferson Clinton Building 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Mail Code 1101A Washington, DC 20460

RE: Proposed Rule - Carbon Pollution Standards for Modified and Reconstructed Stationary Sources: Electric Utility Generating Units EPA-HQ-OAR-2013-0603

Dear Administrator McCarthy:

The States of Ohio, Alabama, Alaska, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Kentucky respectfully request that the United States Environmental Protection Agency extend the deadline for submitting comments on the proposed rule to regulate carbon dioxide emissions from modified and reconstructed power plants.

On June 18, 2014, EPA proposed two independent, but interrelated, rules to regulate carbon dioxide emissions from power plants. See *Carbon Pollution Emission Guidelines for Existing Stationary Sources: Electric Utility Generating Units*, 79 FR 34829 (proposed June 18, 2014 ("Existing Source Proposed Rule") and *Carbon Pollution Standards for Modified and Reconstructed Stationary Sources: Electric Utility Generating Units*, 79 FR 34959 (proposed June 18, 2014) ("Modified and Reconstructed Source Proposed Rule"). In both proposed rules, EPA announced October 16, 2014 as the deadline for submitting comments.

Recently, EPA extended the deadline for submitting comments on the Existing Source Proposed Rule until December 1, 2014. *Carbon Pollution Emission Guidelines for Existing Stationary Sources: Electric Utility Generating Units*, 79 FR 57492 (Sept. 25, 2014). However, EPA did not extend the deadline for submitting comments on the Modified and Reconstructed Source Proposed Rule.

Due to the interconnected nature of the two proposed rules and the anticipated overlap in the comments submitted in response to the proposed rules, the States of Ohio, Alabama, Alaska, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Kentucky respectfully request that EPA

extend the deadline for submitting comments on the Modified and Reconstructed Proposed Rule to December 1, 2014.

Very respectfully,

MIKE DEWINE OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL 30 East Broad Street Columbus, OH 43215

Luther Strange Alabama Attorney General Office of the Alabama Attorney General 501 Washington Avenue P.O. Box 300152 Montgomery, AL 36130

Michael C. Geraghty Alaska Attorney General 1031 W. 4th Avenue, Suite 200 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-1994

Gregory F. Zoeller Indiana Attorney General 302 W. Washington Street, 5th Floor Indianapolis, IN 46204

Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General Memorial Hall, Second Floor 120 SW Tenth Avenue Topeka, KS 66612-1597

James D. "Buddy" Caldwell Louisiana Attorney General 1885 N. Third Street Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Timothy C. Fox Montana Attorney General 215 N. Sanders Helena, MT 59601 Jon Bruning State of Nebraska 2115 State Capitol Lincoln, NE 68509

Wayne Stenehjem North Dakota Attorney General 600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 125 Bismarck, ND 58505

E. Scott Pruitt Oklahoma Attorney General 313 N.E. 21st Street Oklahoma City, OK 73015

Marty J. Jackley Attorney General State of South Dakota 1302 E. Highway 14, Suite 1 Pierre, S.D. 57501

Alan Wilson South Carolina Attorney General P.O. Box 11549 Columbia, SC 29211

Patrick Morrisey West Virginia Attorney General State Capitol 1900 Kanawha Blvd. East Charleston, WV 25305 For the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

Jack Conway Attorney General of Kentucky 700 Capital Avenue, Suite 118 Frankfort, Kentucky, 40601

cc: Janet McCabe, Acting Assistant Administrator, Office of Air and Radiation